Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Old 07-10-2019, 07:57 AM

Default Need software drum sequencer advice

Newbie here. So I am a drummer and not a huge fan of drum machines or sequencers. However you can’t really deny their usefulness. I have been enjoying working with Boom which is the free one with Pro Tools. The sounds are sort of cheap sounding to my ears and I would much rather be able to add drum sounds that I like or even my own kit sounds. The main thing I really like about Boom is how easy it is to create sequences from scratch and how simple it is to add to my mix.
Would anyone have suggestions for a better plug in than book with the ability to add better drum sounds. I also own edrummer from toontracks thinking I was buying a sequencer but I think it is just stock beats that you can mix together and use. I want to make my own grooves.
Thanks for the help.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mac Book Pro
Processor 2.3 Ghz Intel Core i7
16 Gb 1600 MHz DDR3 Memory
Mac OS High Sierra V 10.13.6

Pro Tools: Version 2018.10.0
Old 07-10-2019, 11:53 AM

Default Re: Need software drum sequencer advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
I also own edrummer from toontracks thinking I was buying a sequencer but I think it is just stock beats that you can mix together and use. I want to make my own grooves.
Hi. I never really used Boom, so I'm not shure if you can make it use your own samples. But Toontrax EZdrummer (if that's what you meant) has lots of nice sounds and you don't have to use its beats. Just insert it on a instrument track and trigger the sounds using a midi keyboard.
Old 07-10-2019, 12:42 PM