Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-19-2004, 02:00 PM
ajs ajs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 74
Default Jagged waveform drawing

Why is it that when I am editing audio recorded at a low level and have vertically zoomed in, the waveform looks jagged (very low resolution) like this:

Picture of Zoomed Out View

but if I zoom in HORIZONTALLY (in this example I am zooming in just ONE level), the waveform is drawn in full high resolution detail:

Picture of Horizontally Zoomed In One Level

Am I missing a preference or other setting, or this just normal behavior? It really makes editing difficult.

------
PT6.7cs1, OSX10.3.4, Dual 2GHz G5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2004, 02:06 PM
Ducky Ducky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 929
Default Re: Jagged waveform drawing

The waveform can be refreshed in one of the menus.

This is pretty normal when you zoom out from a verticle zoom.
Verticle zoom is often used when you get in really close.

Double click the zoomer will fix this too and rezoom into the area you are working in.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-19-2004, 04:28 PM
ajs ajs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 74
Default Re: Jagged waveform drawing

Quote:
The waveform can be refreshed in one of the menus.
Do you mean "recalculated", as in the Audio Region List drop down menu? If so, I have tried that and it doesn't make a difference. Or is there a "refresh" function somewhere else?

Quote:
This is pretty normal when you zoom out from a verticle zoom.
Verticle zoom is often used when you get in really close.

Double click the zoomer will fix this too and rezoom into the area you are working in.
Yes, double clicking the zoomer resets the vertical zoom level to default, but still whenever I zoom in a few levels vertically, the waveform has that jagged appearance, unless I am also horizontally zoomed in fairly close. I realize that the screen resolution limits what can be shown but it seems that it switches into low-res waveform displays when it is zoomed out too much horizontally. Perhaps it is there to speed up screen redraws, but it would be nice to have the option to maintain higher resolution as you zoom out. Other programs don't exhibit this behavior.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem drawing waveform Mack Truck Pro Tools 10 2 07-23-2012 06:41 AM
Waveform drawing Boe Larsen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-18-2012 08:53 AM
Waveform drawing fix for 7.4???? Kmajorkminor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-01-2008 11:16 AM
Waveform Drawing Issue??? Enkonis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-17-2008 04:13 PM
Waveform Drawing Question CFS Tips & Tricks 17 10-04-2001 02:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com