Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-03-2019, 11:30 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,249
Default Apple Keynote going

They announced that Avid supports the new Mac Pro and mentioned the new box supports a HDX6 -- wow
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-03-2019, 12:03 PM
audiobob's Avatar
audiobob audiobob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 914
Default Re: Apple Keynote going

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
They announced that Avid supports the new Mac Pro and mentioned the new box supports a HDX6 -- wow
And starts at $6,000. Looks like I made the right move to a Pro Tools PC. Lots of power on that new machine but man, that's steep. So once the cheese graters and trashcans are done with, there goes the $2,500 price point to enter the Apple Pro arena. Entry Mac Pro's been that price for at least 20 years (that I can remember). The exclusive Apple club continues its move up the price scale.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-2019, 12:09 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,249
Default Re: Apple Keynote going

Yea, it's expensive.. then again, 20 years is a long time and 2500*1,04^20=5478 so it just means they have re-invented the 20yr old price point (assuming 4% inflation per year)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-03-2019, 12:14 PM
audiobob's Avatar
audiobob audiobob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 914
Default Re: Apple Keynote going

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Yea, it's expensive.. then again, 20 years is a long time and 2500*1,04^20=5478 so it just means they have re-invented the 20yr old price point (assuming 4% inflation per year)
I suppose. Just thought "modular" meant something you could start at a lower price point then "modulate" up to a lot higher. But it looks like they started at higher and you move up from there.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-03-2019, 12:15 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,249
Default Re: Apple Keynote going

True. But hey, all of us want to be streaming three 8K videos right?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-03-2019, 12:18 PM
audiobob's Avatar
audiobob audiobob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 914
Default Re: Apple Keynote going

HA. Hey, if those machines still have buffer and video engine errors, heads will explode!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-03-2019, 12:20 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,249
Default Re: Apple Keynote going

Too bad they didn't reveal the storage system of that box.. was so important to mention up to 1.5TB memory they forgot to tell us what kind of SSD they have built in there. (or maybe that's still under development, after all they are only available sometime "fall")
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-03-2019, 12:25 PM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,088
Default Re: Apple Keynote going

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
They announced that Avid supports the new Mac Pro and mentioned the new box supports a HDX6 -- wow
The bigger thing for me... could this possibly mean that Avid will actually support Catalina on release?!
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-03-2019, 12:50 PM
macmusic9 macmusic9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Branson, MO.
Posts: 48
Default New Mac Pro

Well they just gave us a look at it and it'll be here in the fall. Seems it's back for pro user upgradability and ease, super expandable. Now to call my real estate agent and list my house so i can max one out along with a couple of the new displays.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-03-2019, 12:57 PM
macmusic9 macmusic9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Branson, MO.
Posts: 48
Default Re: New Mac Pro

Scratch that phone call, my old mac pro with HD3 and PT 8 still does everything my studio needs for now and probably the next few years.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com