Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 06-26-2018, 05:31 AM
PatriotsBiker PatriotsBiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 828
Default Re: -9093 stops are killing me!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Will let you know after I implement Weed's advice
My recovery from a Windows Update is nearly complete. I only get the CPU spikes on the initial boot up now. Restarts are fine. Even cold boot ups done within a short period of time are working as if being restarted instead of shut-down with addition of the power supply getting turned off. It's as if over-night gremlins are moving internal object identifiers around.

There is one oddity when inspecting Services for consistencies between bad starts and good starts as defined by CPU spikes in PT. Look at Windows Services and Services from inside Task Manager. On Task manager, there is one service called OneSync and OneSync_XXXXX. The "XXXXX" are different every time. Identifier of some sort. These OneSync services have "Sync Host" and "Sync Host_XXXXX" as a descriptions. In Windows Services via Control Panel and Administrative Tools shows the services as being named "Sync Host_XXXXX" instead of being named OneSync in Task Manager. HOWEVER, at least twice when the system was throwing a lot of CPU spikes at me after a cold start, that service name in the traditional Services window was "OneSync_XXXXX" instead of "Sync Host_XXXXX". Never that way when all is working fine. And has not been that way at least once when I did get spiking. I'm watching this now for any possible patterns and inconsistencies between system starting with and without CPU spikes in PT. It would be interesting to hear if anyone else has this oddity when their system is getting to initial CPU spikes when hitting the session menu screen.

I guess I could get sysinternals, assuming it is still available, and compare the system starts. Actually, now that I write this, it seems like the logical thing to do. No guessing. It's right there. And, of course, that makes me wonder - again - if I do need to check hyperthreading and set accordingly. Is it logical that multiple branches of start-up routine going at once are becoming aligned improperly at start-up? (which is one reason why I asked you if you were stable yet...)

Or it could be different shut-down routines from restart to total cold boots including power supply switching.

Twice in the past week, starting up cold has also left me with no audio during playback. Simply restarting PT fixed both times. My Apollo is acting wonky again. All the clicks that happen without anything being changed on my part. I need to do a re-install again.

Anyhow, it seemed like we were having some of the same things. If any of what I am seeing rings a bell or not, please let me know. I'm not trying to jump your thread, but rather trying to colaborate if there is any basis to do so.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-01-2018, 03:28 PM
drh1's Avatar
drh1 drh1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 58
Default Re: -9093 stops are killing me!!!!!

A few months ago I had various problems when Windows did a major feature update. Turns out it arbitrarily changed some power management settings, and display settings amongst other things. It took me a while to get it all sorted out, and I ended up redoing the Pro Tools recommended settings. As I have Windows 10 Pro, I have now changed the parameters so that I won't get the next feature update for a year (although I still get the daily virus definition updates).
__________________
http://douglashood.zenfolio.com/

MSI X99A SLI Plus LGA2011, i7 5930 3.5 GHZ 6 core 12 threads, Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4 2400MHZ, NVIDIA Quadro K2200, LG 16x Blu-ray writer, Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB SSD for OS, Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe M.2 1 TB SSD for samples, four WD Caviar Black 1TB SATA 3 6Gb/s 7,200 RPM drives (audio, samples, video x 2), EVGA Supernova 750W G2 PSU, Corsair Cooling Hydro H100I V2, W 10 Pro, 4 TB WD USB3 external backup, PT2018.4, IK Sampletank 4 Max, AIR IEP, Wavelab Pro 9.5, RME Fireface UFX w USB2 connection.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-02-2018, 02:03 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,635
Default Re: -9093 stops are killing me!!!!!

So, I got down to some nitty gritty testing today and I am reasonably certain the culprit is Sound Radix Mute-o-matic. I disabled all plugins in a row and it recorded for 14 minutes until I stopped it. Re-enabled the row a dozen tracks at a time and all ran great(recorded for at least 10 minutes with no error) until that plugin was made active. Please post if you also have this plugin in use.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-03-2018, 09:37 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,084
Default Re: -9093 stops are killing me!!!!!

Here's something else I found:

https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/...dows-10-a.html
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-03-2018, 07:42 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,635
Default Re: -9093 stops are killing me!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
So, I got down to some nitty gritty testing today and I am reasonably certain the culprit is Sound Radix Mute-o-matic. I disabled all plugins in a row and it recorded for 14 minutes until I stopped it. Re-enabled the row a dozen tracks at a time and all ran great(recorded for at least 10 minutes with no error) until that plugin was made active. Please post if you also have this plugin in use.
Well....so much for that idea. Tried killing my 3rd screen....nope. Internet is unplugged.....still too many -9093 stops today (with the cpu meter sitting around 10-11%). No Mute-o-matic in the sessions. Committed the click and thought that was it, but no. Thankful for an understanding client. Not a happy camper.............
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-03-2018, 09:45 PM
Bob L's Avatar
Bob L Bob L is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 509
Default Re: -9093 stops are killing me!!!!!

You said that you were going to try disabling hyper threading. What was its state during your bad day?

I'm a long-time refugee from Windows () and I understand that this may not be absolutely transferrable experience, but I'm one of the believers in disabling HT on my MP.

I do not claim that this is a foolproof fix. It helps. Me, at least.

In any case, I hope you find a solution. Falling over in front of the customers blows.
__________________
Bob
"Without a song,
The day would never end..."
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-04-2018, 05:15 AM
PatriotsBiker PatriotsBiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 828
Default Re: -9093 stops are killing me!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Well....so much for that idea. Tried killing my 3rd screen....nope. Internet is unplugged.....still too many -9093 stops today (with the cpu meter sitting around 10-11%). No Mute-o-matic in the sessions. Committed the click and thought that was it, but no. Thankful for an understanding client. Not a happy camper.............
This is precisely my experience on any "fix" I've stumbled upon. Works for 1-2 days. Sometimes, under the purpose of testing, shutting down completely and then starting fresh will kill the "fix" MOST of the time. No denying that something positive is happening for me after a Windows "restart" following a test fix. Sometimes it's just a matter of running the CCleaner a bunch of times. Sometimes it isn't.

That put me on the trail to find out what settings, apps, services and utilities change as a result of various Windows shut-down, restart and start-up procedures. An additional thought occurred to me that any sort of session identifiers could be misaligned at certain points. I ran into very little success other than for a few glorious days, all's I had to do was start my machine and PT, open a session, watch it spike, turn off PT, do a restart on my PC (not shut-down) and start PT again and all was well.

I may have some of the specifics wrong or mischaracterized, but this is the jist of it from what I understand. Windows does do some different things on start-up and shut-downs depending on power management states and other things. Mine are all per optimization guide, fwiw. A Windows session's settings and states are stored during shut-down under certain scenarios. When startup happens these settings are used and Windows quickly comes to life. Alas, I ran into a dead end. This is, however, the kind of odd thing that causes weird, random unexplainable happenings in windows. Some sessionID or pointer becomes wrong and all of a sudden a resource that the application thinks is there is no longer there now causes brief hangups (or spikes). Maybe some other utility is using the same resource(DLL, other) that PT wants forcing PT to wait in line for it's turn due to use this utility. Perhaps this is similar, on a high level, to why we get more spikes when wireless is on, for example.

Perhaps the Timeline thing that The Weed posted yesterday has some relevance? I've not had a chance to look at it yet. It makes sense, though. If some utility is using information from a previous day and PT thinks it's something different, this could be an issue.

Just some thoughts. In the end, though, why would it also affect Mac users if it was a Windows issue?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-04-2018, 03:10 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,635
Default Re: -9093 stops are killing me!!!!!

The only thing I know for sure is that I am confused and pissed. Hyperthreading is disabled and that as good as it has gotten, which is NOT good. To me, a single system error in front of a client is unacceptable and once in every single song/session is inexcusable. I would gladly pay somebody $500 to come and fix this issue for real. Meanwhile, I guess I keep trying anything/everything......................:ma d:

BTW, I have 3 system drives and all act similar, but the other 2 are worse. Guess its time to try recovering from an older drive image...
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-05-2018, 08:27 AM
PatriotsBiker PatriotsBiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 828
Default Re: -9093 stops are killing me!!!!!

I wonder....so, we remove plugs from the active folder. They can be all by brand and could be individual. Some of these companies are more deeply rooted into our systems. NI, IKM, Softube, PIA, UAD, Toontrack and most certainly Waves all now have installer apps. Some use Pace for security and management, and some have their own thing.

Point is, is that some of these companies have their security apps up and running in the background, even if through a 3rd party like Pace or Gobbler. Perhaps just having a specific plug out of the active plugins folder is not enough anymore? Especially, perhaps, in the case of Waves where some have moved just a few of them out that have bad reputations. (eg - the Abbey Road plate reverb plug)

Food for thought.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07-05-2018, 12:14 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,635
Default Re: -9093 stops are killing me!!!!!

FWIW, after running SpyBot, AVG and Malewarebytes(and all coming back clean). I uninstalled them(don't need that stuff running in the background) and found zero improvement. So, I restored the system from a March 2018 drive image, and so far(knocking on every piece of wood I can find) have not had a single 9093 today.....Drive Imaging.....do it...love it....embrace it
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI Thru stops working after sequence playback stops kelcarpenter MIDI 20 03-16-2016 11:43 AM
11R killing PT thegreyfox Eleven Rack 3 04-24-2012 09:34 PM
This is KILLING me! audiogeekzine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 23 12-22-2008 04:10 PM
-9093 error's killing me!!! coryc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 10-04-2003 03:24 PM
-9093 Error, CPU stops rec., says buffer problem? storm-01 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-16-2003 09:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com