Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2009, 08:48 AM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,386
Default Trim Tool Oddness in 8.03

Hey guys,

I had asked this the massive 8.03 thread, but it appears it was buried with the PPC vs Intel discussions.

Anyone know why the trimmer in 8.03 turns into a curser when I'm editing? It's kind of annoying. Never used to do that, is this a new feature of sorts?

Thanks!
Sig
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-19-2009, 03:44 PM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,386
Default Re: Trim Tool Oddness in 8.03

Haha I must be the only one seeing this then....

For what it's worth, it happens on my Mac Pro with 8.03 HD as well as my Mpowered 8.03 rig on a Macbook Pro. When trimming or using the fade/crossfade tool. Just doesn't feel right at all.

Thanks guys,
Sig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-19-2009, 03:47 PM
audiogeekzine audiogeekzine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: Trim Tool Oddness in 8.03

strange

screenshot?

Happens with the smart tool as well?
__________________
@theaudiogeek
| www.EPICSounds.ca | www.AudioGeekZine.com | www.HomeRecordingShow.com |
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-19-2009, 03:52 PM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,386
Default Re: Trim Tool Oddness in 8.03

Can't because the curser disappears from the screen when doing a screenshot - but it's real simple to check if anyone has 8.03. Trim or fade/crossfade a region. In previous versions, the tool shape remained while doing the edit, and now it just turns into an arrow/curser shape, like the standard in OSX. Feels quite awkward and makes editing odd. Very hard to describe.

Sig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-19-2009, 04:46 PM
GS-DK GS-DK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 516
Default Re: Trim Tool Oddness in 8.03

Same here - 10.6.2......

No problem - maybe even better!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-19-2009, 04:55 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,198
Default Re: Trim Tool Oddness in 8.03

Yes, it becomes a cursor, and the waveform is still intact using a yellow highlight showing you the waveform before and after where you will cut (if you cut in)

I like it!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-19-2009, 05:53 PM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,386
Default Re: Trim Tool Oddness in 8.03

Ugh, you guys like this? Hmmmm....feels rather awkward to me, but I guess I'll have to get used to it. I don't mind the waveform behaviour, it would just have been nice to keep the tool shape instead of the cursor.

*sigh*
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-21-2009, 01:50 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,538
Default Re: Trim Tool Oddness in 8.03

I think we've identified this as a bug and will get it logged for a fix...
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-21-2009, 08:43 PM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,386
Default Re: Trim Tool Oddness in 8.03

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-25-2010, 03:15 PM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,386
Default Re: Trim Tool Oddness in 8.03

I noticed this wasn't in the 8.0.3 CS1 release - any reason for not fixing something so simple?

Thanks,
Sig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TCE Trim Tool Ginridge macOS 2 09-28-2012 08:15 AM
Problems with Grabber Tool & Trim Tool S133 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-05-2008 10:19 PM
trim tool on 7.4.2 ? dendee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-18-2008 09:40 PM
Need help with use of Trim Tool Ross H 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-14-2008 10:07 AM
TC/E Trim Tool Mike62858 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 08-12-2007 05:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com