Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2009, 12:50 PM
nutrinoland nutrinoland is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10
Default mpowered compatible computer help...

hi guys....
ok...i'm very confused....i have spent the last 3 hours trying to get one simple piece of info.....and i just cant get it in a straight forward manner anywhere that i have searched....
i am planning to buy a small protools m powered setup....
a delta 4*4 interface and protools m powered.
i am planning to buy it and see if it works with my existing computer..if not i will need to get a few parts upgraded....

anyway...all i want to know is the names of a few processors,motherboards and ram that are compatible...preferably intel..
i have seen a few names on this forum but i am not able to understand clearly...

here are a few that are available here..
Intel® Core 2 Quad E8200 2.33 GHz Processor CPU 2.33GHZ
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.00 GHz Processor 3.00GHz CPU
Intel Core 2 Duo E7300 2.66 GHz Processor 2.66GHz CPU
Intel Core 2 Duo E4500 2.20 GHz Processor 2.20GHz CPU
Intel Dual-Core 2.2 GHz E2200 Genuine Box Processor
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 3.16 GHz Processor 3.16GHz CPU
Intel Core 2 Quad Extreme QX9650

and some motherboards

MSI P45 Daimond (DDR3) Motherboard for INTEL CPU
MSI P45 Platinum Motherboard for INTEL CPU
MSI X38 DAIMOND Motherboard for INTEL CPU
Intel® Desktop MotherBoard DG35EC
Intel® Desktop MotherBoard DG43NB
MSI X38 PLATINUM Motherboard for INTEL CPU
MSI P7NGM Motherboard for INTEL CPU GeForce9300 Chipset
Intel 946GZ Chipset Motherboard with Bill & 3YW
ASUS P5Q PRO Motherboard Intel P45 Chip DDR2-1200MHz
ASUS P5N-E SLI Motherboard for Intel Chip - Box Packed
ASUS P5GC-MX Motherboard for Intel Chip - Box Packed
ASUS P5Q PRO Motherboard Intel P45 Chip DDR2-1200MHz



so...will any of these work??
please help...i need some names,brands,model numbers etc....
really need to find out...
thanks guys...


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-13-2009, 02:49 AM
nutrinoland nutrinoland is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: mpowered compatible computer help...

anybody...?
help pls...
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2009, 01:38 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,631
Default Re: mpowered compatible computer help...

Definitely go with an Asus board and a quad core. If you poke around the LE on Windows section of the DUC, there is a lot of info there and all of it will translate to M-Powered. You just need to make sure you have the appropriate slot for the Delta card. I would lean towards the Q9550 or 9450 but you may want to check out the i7 systems with either the Asus P6T or Gigabyte motherboards using the X58 chipset as they are showing a huge performance increase for not a lot more money.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2009, 12:06 PM
nutrinoland nutrinoland is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: mpowered compatible computer help...

hi...thanks for the reply..
i will look for more info on the LE with windows section...
i am not very familiar with the various chips and motherboards that have been mentioned...its all a bit confusing....i need to find a few specefic models that i can go to look for at the computer stores....
anyway..thanks again...i will look....maybe i should try to get in touch with the digidesign authorised dealers here and ask them what to buy....
:)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-14-2009, 01:44 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,631
Default Re: mpowered compatible computer help...

Don't count on computer stores to be much help as they usually have no idea about the pickyness of pro tools. If you want to buy a system all built, shoot an email to threerivers or find them on ebay(they don't have a website yet) as those guys have built several system that DUC users have had positive comments about.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-14-2009, 03:11 PM
impolding impolding is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: mpowered compatible computer help...

Hope this help: http://www.sweetwater.com/creation_station/chart.php
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-14-2009, 10:52 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,874
Default Re: mpowered compatible computer help...

The system in my signature is virtually problem free.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-24-2009, 10:50 AM
nutrinoland nutrinoland is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: mpowered compatible computer help...

thanks guys...for me to order stuff off the net would be really expensive.
i will have to look up some specs around here, and then go hunt around at some local stores..or contact digidesign dealers here in my city....maybe they can guide me or direct me to the right store....
anyway...thanks guys...i appreciate the help...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-25-2009, 10:53 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,874
Default Re: mpowered compatible computer help...

Yea always trust your local retailer that never fails, they only have your best interest at heart. And their knowledge in this area is incomparible… not.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-16-2009, 10:20 PM
nutrinoland nutrinoland is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: mpowered compatible computer help...

Hi..its been a while...
so with your help, i have finally decided to go with -

Intel i7 920 2.66 Ghz processor
Gigabyte X58 GA-X58 UD3R for i7 mother board\
6 Gb ram DDR 3 Corsair or transcend
Basic Graphics card nvidia 256 mb

what do you guys think??
Is there anything i have missed out?

i have all the other required parts...monitor ,keyboard etc...
Should i be looking at a good cooling system? maybe liquid cooling or some really good silent fan ?

is this ram decent enough?? any reccomendations ?? which brand...will it make a difference?

I want to run PT8 m powered on this system with an M audio Delta 4x4 interface.


Thanks for the help guys....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mpowered 7.4 and compatible issue akaidai Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 9 08-03-2011 11:48 AM
pro fools mpowered 7.1 crashes every computer I try eatlife Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 05-27-2011 08:58 PM
running LE and MPowered on same computer? tromostheory Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 04-24-2010 09:26 AM
Please lmk if this computer is compatible pwrplay14 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 04-24-2009 07:56 AM
LE and MPowered on same computer Siegfried Meier 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-01-2006 12:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com