Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #211  
Old 03-04-2008, 08:11 AM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 5,094
Default Re: WHEN IS LEOPARD SUPPORT COMING?!?!

Quote:
Well lwilliam, at least apple will come out with an update that works properly for those people that run logic, than digidesign will for protools.

Hey bottom line, whatever enables you to make music is the tool of use.


...and you know this how? Your extensive experience with both companies? There are bugs in Logic since version 5 that haven't been fixed yet. Since Leopard was in beta when LP8 came out, you'd think it would work better than any other app, but it doesn't. How many people have switched from Logic to PT, DP or even Cubase because Apple has been totally unresponsive to the PROFESSIONAL user community?

My 9 years of experience with Protools and Digi says that when they do finally put it out and officially support it, it will work just fine.

Why don't you stop trolling and go have fun with Garageband Pro, er Logic Studio. Just don't expect anyone from Apple to actually respond to any complaints. It hasn't happened in 4-5 years of Apple owning Logic, and it's not likely to...
__________________
Larry

PTLE8/002r;OS 10.6.4 2 x 2.26Ghz quadcore,6GB RAM, Waves Platinum, many other plugins...
  #212  
Old 03-04-2008, 08:15 AM
nedorama nedorama is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 569
Default Re: WHEN IS LEOPARD SUPPORT COMING?!?!

Getting information from Sam Ash and/or Guitar Center is clearly not reliable at all - I'd rather call up my great aunt and ask her when 7.4 will be Leopard compatible.

It will be ready when it's ready, and not before. You can check every day/hour, but mostly you'll just get amusing reading from all the posts. However, you do have several options.

1. You can leave Pro Tools and go to another software (you won't be missed by Digi, but no whining when there's less customer support from Apple and/or others). Garageband is free, Logic Express is under $200. Enjoy.

2. Upgrade now at your own peril, although the DUC is littered with cases of success and sorrow. As I've posted before, I'm not a pro musician, don't earn my living from music (I'd starve) but needed Leopard to remotely administer my parent's Mac as their resident IT guru. My G5 and 002R are working, although the MIDI timing issue is apparent (don't think that's leopard-related). Before I upgraded, I did at least read to see if similar setups as mine were having success.

3. You wait until the update comes out

4. You wait 1-2 weeks after the update comes out and everyone posts on the DUC if it works or not (usually my preferred route).

For those with new hardware that won't run Tiger, you've got 1 less option from above.

I'm curious - of the posters in this forum, how many pro musicians that depend on music for a living out there bought upgraded to a new machine that wasn't qualified to run Pro Tools? Most studios I know are laggers on updating/upgrading, because if it works, don't mess with it - downtime means no $$.
__________________
Regards,
Ned
Monkey Boy Studios
2013 15" MacBook Pro, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.14.4; 512GB SSD System drive, Glyph GT050Q 1.5TB & 2TB FW800 drives
Summit Audio 2BA-221, TLA-50 -->Eleven Rack, Pro Tools 2019.5
Plugins: McDSP, PSP, SoundToys, Izotope, Bomb Factory, AIR PTIEP, AAS, Arturia Collection, IK Amplitube 3, SampleTank 3, BlueCat Audio, Massey DRT, Cyclops, VEP5 Pro, Sonoma WireWorks Drumcore 4
RTAS Plugins usable again with VEP5: B4
Given Up Hope: URS, NI Pro-53 (lost VST installer)
  #213  
Old 03-04-2008, 08:24 AM
pasanta pasanta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 581
Default Re: WHEN IS LEOPARD SUPPORT COMING?!?!

Quote:
why doesn't a Ford have all those cool features that the Mercedes has? They just don't - it's meant to meet a price point or fit a particular need or some other reason that the company decides upon.
Yeh. But even Ford has looked at customer requests, marketplace competition and advances in technology and added ADC.......er, I mean GPS.......to several models.
  #214  
Old 03-04-2008, 12:29 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,549
Default Re: WHEN IS LEOPARD SUPPORT COMING?!?!

I think all that can be said has been said here, so we're locking this thread.

We'll update you in a new thread as info becomes available.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard Support for Pro Tools — Coming Soon Avid Technical Alerts 0 08-28-2009 02:53 PM
when is a leopard compatible version coming out??? Mitai 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-07-2008 02:55 PM
Multi Core / Processor support coming to PT? kv331 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-14-2005 12:26 PM
It's Official:Mix Support coming to an End!! MARVINBASS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 56 05-01-2004 11:06 AM
Dual processor support coming soon???? crs117 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 11-16-2002 12:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com