Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 04-17-2007, 01:54 AM
Delso Delso is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dorset, England
Posts: 89
Default Re: \"hanging\" applications when mbox 2 plugged in

I hate to sound smug, because I'm a complete computer clutz (especially with Macs), but I've just put the following rig together:

iBook G4 - >1Ghz; 1.256 Gb RAM; 80gb HD 5400rpm
Mac OSX.4 ( not the latest upgrade)
PTLE 7.3
Mbox 2 + Factory Bundle + Ignition Pack Pro (dealer error!)

As I say, I'm not comfortable with all the tech stuff, so I religiously followed the Basics and Getting Started handbooks - disabled everything like Spotlight, Dashboard, whatever. I don't use the iBook for anything other than PTLE and I only ever connect it to the Internet for music-related downloads and upgrades, e.g. from 7 to 7.3.

I have had no performance problems, such as those described here. I know I'm tempting fate and something terrible will happen today, but...so far, so good.

I am going to get a Firewire drive and an adaptor for a dual-monitor display setup, so I'm sure to be back here, screaming for help, very soon!
__________________
PTLE 7.4, Mbox 2 Factory
iMac G5 iSight,OS X 5.6
WD My Book 250Gb Firewire drive
Roland RD300s electric piano
Toontracks dfh EZ drummer
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-17-2007, 03:29 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,540
Default Re: \"hanging\" applications when mbox 2 plugged in

We've spoken with some Apple engineers about this and they have some other reports of similar issues with other devices and will be looking into the cause. They don't have any specific info on the cause, but did tell us that a few people resolved the issue by using a powered USB hub. Obviously this isn't really a good option for Mbox users, as hubs can be rather finicky with audio devices.

We'll keep you posted with any new info we have regarding this.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-22-2007, 02:47 PM
Torneko Torneko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: \"hanging\" applications when mbox 2 plugged in

is there any method to solve this hanging problem without reboot?


i think Apple would not release any update for this problem...
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-05-2007, 06:43 PM
eb_music eb_music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: \"hanging\" applications when mbox 2 plugged in

Quote:
We've spoken with some Apple engineers about this and they have some other reports of similar issues with other devices and will be looking into the cause. They don't have any specific info on the cause, but did tell us that a few people resolved the issue by using a powered USB hub. Obviously this isn't really a good option for Mbox users, as hubs can be rather finicky with audio devices.

We'll keep you posted with any new info we have regarding this.
you find a solution yet??
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-06-2007, 01:55 AM
Jamos Jamos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 10
Default Re: \"hanging\" applications when mbox 2 plugged in

I've experienced this same problem...
I also experience dropouts in audio, static, and other noises randomly. I'll leave iTunes playing music, and it will be fine for a while and then the above problems occur...seemingly at random times.

The biggest problem I'm having is when I first plug in the Mbox Mini, it will often freeze my whole system. If I unplug the Mini from the computer, *usually* the system will unfreeze and function normally...but not always.

It has been getting much more frequent lately to the point that I started searching here for answers.

/james

Powerbook 1.67
Mbox2 Mini
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-06-2007, 10:03 AM
jlcnyc jlcnyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hell's kitchen
Posts: 687
Default Re: \"hanging\" applications when mbox 2 plugged in

still happening to me also

patiently (but anxiously) waiting for a fix - I hate having to crash my nice new Mac Pro! (at least once or twice a week)
__________________
www.jeffreyleecampbell.com
Mac Pro 2.8 GHz Quad
16GB RAM
Apogee Rosetta 200/ UA LA-610
Genelec 8030A/7050b
McDSP, Waves, Sony, URS, Spectrasonics, BFD, Altiverb
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-07-2007, 02:22 PM
bitboyroy bitboyroy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: \"hanging\" applications when mbox 2 plugged in

got this May 29 from digidesign (tech support, euro)

Regarding this issue our engineering team have developed a fix for the issue and will hopefully be included in a future release of Pro Tools. Unfortunately, I do not have any information of if or when a version will be released that included this fix.


So, there you have it. he he. Would be nice with an update really really soon. All of you with the same issue. Please send emails to the tech support so they put some prio on this issue.

I guess they prioritize the "pro-range" products, not the "LE"/mbox ones....
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-22-2007, 01:05 PM
Jfunkk99 Jfunkk99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: \"hanging\" applications when mbox 2 plugged in

Was this issue ever resolved? I'm having this problem with my MacBook and an Mbox mini. I have the latest version of protools/drivers etc.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-23-2007, 07:18 AM
odinsride odinsride is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: \"hanging\" applications when mbox 2 plugged in

I also have this problem with my Mbox 2 and Macbook Pro 2.4ghz

It's very irritating to have to hard boot my machine every time apps start to hang. I am fed up with the Mbox 2 - would getting the firewire version solve the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10-23-2007, 07:46 AM
bitboyroy bitboyroy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: \"hanging\" applications when mbox 2 plugged in

still same here. MacPro, latest Firmware patchet, latest digidriver, latest os x.

same random freezes........ I guess it's time to abandon the mbox (digidesign) suite.

really weird thought that they are completely uninterested in fixing this. I mean, It's a serious bug
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox 2 Not Recognized (only when plugged in after...) deathpoet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-02-2011 09:18 AM
Mbox 2 driver re-install randomly whenever MBox plugged in Herkimer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-25-2008 08:22 AM
001 and MBox plugged in at the same time? K.B. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 01-26-2006 10:01 AM
MBox plugged in 24/7? SeasonOfPain 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-06-2004 10:47 PM
Mac MBox plugged into a PC MGalway 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 08-25-2002 12:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com