Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-08-2007, 09:15 PM
eb_music eb_music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Default \"hanging\" applications when mbox 2 plugged in

Macbook pro, 15", bought after sept. 2006
1GB ram
10.4.9 OSX (combo update)
MBOX2, Protools 7.1.3
Tannoy Reveals (active studio monitors)

This is my first post. Hopefully i've provided enough information and am abiding by forum rules/practices. I am somewhat new to the MAC and PRO TOOLS world.

PROBLEM: I typically like to use my studio monitors to listen to music (i.e. mbox 2 plugged into left usb port and studio monitors plugged into "mono out" ports). System preferences are set to use the digidesign mbox 2 for sound output. Occasionally an active program that happens to be open, will hang (i.e. get a spinning wheel just for that particular application) and force quiting does nothing (typical programs that i've seen crash: itunes, windows messenger, photobooth, firefox). I can still navigate through the OS but it usually starts a chain reaction of other programs crashing. Can only restart the computer by holding down the power button.

This can typically happen 2-3 times a day. Tend to notice it more when i leave the computer idle for a while. (P.S. I do have the display set to shut down after 20 minutes to save my monitor. I've read that i should set it to never shut down). I don't think i've had protools itself crash (but it may have. Just can't remember. This problem has been happening for a while). As you could imagine, its a little annoying when you have a session running. You go downstairs to eat, come back and programs start crashing.


WHAT I'VE TRIED (in no particular order):

General trouble shooting guide in the DUC
Apple Hardware test - everything checked out
Was able to run activity monitor during the "hanging" and plenty of memory (500mb)
Reset PRAM
deleted all recommended "startup" files in the library folder (as recommended by applecare)
deleted "cache" folder in library folder (as recommended by applecare)
uninstalled Protools (clean) and reinstalled protools.
Repaired permissions
Talked to Applecare for an hour.

I ran my computer with no peripherals attached for a week and did not experience any "hanging" applications. I then plugged in my MBOX2 into the left USB port and within the day it "hung" itunes and windows messenger.

I have not tried the MBOX 2 firmware update. From my impression it is not needed if i'm not experiencing white noise issues.

would really like to get this damn thing resolved. Been pressing my power button so much to restart that its indented into my comp.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2007, 07:25 AM
Delta Dreams Delta Dreams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 54
Default Re: \"hanging\" applications when mbox 2 plugged in

Have you tried disabling Spotlight Indexing? I stability problems with ProTools hanging (spinning wheel). Turning off spotlight indexing definitely helped.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2007, 08:00 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,538
Default Re: \"hanging\" applications when mbox 2 plugged in

When you say you've tried all the General Troubleshooting, did anything change when you created a new admin account?

What items are in the folder located at MacHD>Library>Audio>Plug-ins>HAL?

Do you have anything inside your Startup Items folder located at MacHD>Library>Startup Items?

What about Login items on your current account?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-2007, 09:48 AM
jlcnyc jlcnyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hell's kitchen
Posts: 687
Default Re: \"hanging\" applications when mbox 2 plugged in

I've experienced the same problem with my new Mac Pro. After tons of searching....the consensus seems to be that the problem is usb related (so you are on the right track) I never tried unplugging my Mbox2..... because ProTools is the primary reason that I have a mac anyway!
One person suggested not using the usb ports on the keyboard or the monitor. I had my (wireless) mouse plugged in to the usb port on my keyboard. I moved it to a hub and my freezes have been greatly reduced. I still get the occasional crash (once a week-ish - usually Firefox, iTunes, iChat, QuickTime, etc.)
It drives me crazy that I'm unable to force quit the application..... even in the activity monitor.
I hate to improperly shut down my mac. I also wonder if maybe the "crashing" of the computer may potentially corrupt the frozen app. For example, I re-installed FireFox... and things seems better for a while.....but the problem still occurs sometimes.

After re-starting, I always boot from my install disk and run the disk utility/disk repair.

I've posted here and at the apple discussion - and I've found no definitive solution
I was hoping that 10.4.9 might be better .... but I guess not huh?

Calling all Mac gurus!!!!!
__________________
www.jeffreyleecampbell.com
Mac Pro 2.8 GHz Quad
16GB RAM
Apogee Rosetta 200/ UA LA-610
Genelec 8030A/7050b
McDSP, Waves, Sony, URS, Spectrasonics, BFD, Altiverb
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2007, 09:59 AM
jlcnyc jlcnyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hell's kitchen
Posts: 687
Default Re: \"hanging\" applications when mbox 2 plugged in

Quote:

What items are in the folder located at MacHD>Library>Audio>Plug-ins>HAL?
digidesign coreaudio. plugin
iSightAudio.plugin

Quote:
Do you have anything inside your Startup Items folder located at MacHD>Library>Startup Items?
3 folders
Digidesign Mbox2
Digidesign loader
PaceSupport

Quote:

What about Login items on your current account?
iTunes Helper

Do all of these items look kosher?

_________________________________

The problem has been so sporadic that i haven't tried a new admin account...should I give that a try?
__________________
www.jeffreyleecampbell.com
Mac Pro 2.8 GHz Quad
16GB RAM
Apogee Rosetta 200/ UA LA-610
Genelec 8030A/7050b
McDSP, Waves, Sony, URS, Spectrasonics, BFD, Altiverb
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-09-2007, 04:10 PM
jlcnyc jlcnyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hell's kitchen
Posts: 687
Default Re: \"hanging\" applications when mbox 2 plugged in

bump
__________________
www.jeffreyleecampbell.com
Mac Pro 2.8 GHz Quad
16GB RAM
Apogee Rosetta 200/ UA LA-610
Genelec 8030A/7050b
McDSP, Waves, Sony, URS, Spectrasonics, BFD, Altiverb
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-09-2007, 07:06 PM
eb_music eb_music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: \"hanging\" applications when mbox 2 plugged in

Quote:
When you say you've tried all the General Troubleshooting, did anything change when you created a new admin account?

What items are in the folder located at MacHD>Library>Audio>Plug-ins>HAL?

Do you have anything inside your Startup Items folder located at MacHD>Library>Startup Items?

What about Login items on your current account?
I haven't tried creating a new admin account. I'll give that shot. Keeping in mind i'll have to run the computer for a while.

In my existing user account under MacHD>Library>Startup Items i have the following:

Digidesign CoreAudio.plugin
DVCPROHDAudio.plugin
iSightAudio.plugin

Under MacHD>Library>Startup Items i have 4 folders:

Digidesign Mbox 2
DigidesignLoader
PACESupport
Qmaster

I have nothing currently in my login items.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-09-2007, 07:09 PM
eb_music eb_music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: \"hanging\" applications when mbox 2 plugged in

Quote:
Have you tried disabling Spotlight Indexing? I stability problems with ProTools hanging (spinning wheel). Turning off spotlight indexing definitely helped.
I had my protools session folders disabled from spotlight. But not the entire drive. I'll try disabling the entire drive.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-10-2007, 01:21 AM
eb_music eb_music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: \"hanging\" applications when mbox 2 plugged in

Quote:
Quote:
Have you tried disabling Spotlight Indexing? I stability problems with ProTools hanging (spinning wheel). Turning off spotlight indexing definitely helped.
I had my protools session folders disabled from spotlight. But not the entire drive. I'll try disabling the entire drive.
ok so i'm not entirely sure how to disable spotlight indexing. I just did what was suggested in the protools manual: drag the entire drive into the "privacy" window in system preferences.

This didn't work. I still eventually got a hanging program (this time skype). I had 180mb of memory left according to activity monitor.

I will try using a new user account now.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-10-2007, 08:34 AM
Torneko Torneko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default Same Problem!!!!

Macbook Core 2 Duo 2.0GHz, 1G Ram with Mbox2
Tiger 1.4.9
Pro Tools 7.3.1 cs2


Look at my video.
It only happened when mbox2 connected with macbook..
never happened while mbox2 disconnected..


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lOZEDTGyKac

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PBLoeuc5saY
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox 2 Not Recognized (only when plugged in after...) deathpoet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-02-2011 09:18 AM
Mbox 2 driver re-install randomly whenever MBox plugged in Herkimer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-25-2008 08:22 AM
001 and MBox plugged in at the same time? K.B. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 01-26-2006 10:01 AM
MBox plugged in 24/7? SeasonOfPain 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-06-2004 10:47 PM
Mac MBox plugged into a PC MGalway 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 08-25-2002 12:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com