Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2006, 01:59 PM
LFarah LFarah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 5
Default Firewire 800?

So first off here is my setup:

Powerbook 15" G4 1.67Ghz
1 GB RAM
Dual monitors, Samsung 19"
Tiger 10.4.3
160GB Ext LaCie HD / USB, FW 800 & FW400 Compatible
M-Audio Firewire 18/14
Pro Tools M-Powered 7.0 w/iLok
--------------------------------------------------

I used to run a Pro Tools LE setup using an MBox 1 and this PB worked flawlessly. So I decided to upgrade to M-Powered and buy myself a Firewire 18/14. I love this piece of hardware, however, when I use my LaCie on the FW800 port I get CPU errors every 10 seconds. Now I never have this LaCie issue when using other applications or peripherals with it (I also video edit: DV Cams, Final Cut Pro HD, etc), except Pro Tools. If I use my internal HD as the audio drive and exclude the LaCie everything works great...and furthermore, if I daisy chain the LaCie with the 18/14 and go completely FW400 everything works fine. But for some reason when the LaCie is on the 800 port, Pro Tools craps out...this is getting really frustrating because the LaCie drive I have has two 800 ports and only one 400 port, therefore once I plug it into the 18/14 I'm out of FW400 ports for other peripherals, unless I plug/unplug things.

So what's the deal Digi...why does the 18/14 conflict so much with items using the FW800 port?

Thanx in advance,
Louie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:16 AM
popscreen popscreen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 14
Default Re: Firewire 800?

I had the same problem with a Firewire Solo.

According to M-Audio's website, the Solo isn't compatible with FW 800 drives if your Mac only has one FW bus. After unplugging my Lacie FW 800 drive, the number of problems went down. If you want to use FW 800, you have to get a separate PCI firewire card to plug the drive into (I think) -- WHICH IS REALLY STUPID!!!
__________________
Todd Schnitzer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:16 AM
popscreen popscreen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 14
Default Re: Firewire 800?

I had the same problem with a Firewire Solo.

According to M-Audio's website, the Solo isn't compatible with FW 800 drives if your Mac only has one FW bus. After unplugging my Lacie FW 800 drive, the number of problems went down. If you want to use FW 800, you have to get a separate PCI firewire card to plug the drive into (I think) -- WHICH IS REALLY STUPID!!!
__________________
Todd Schnitzer
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-2006, 12:30 PM
onlyone-jc onlyone-jc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 123
Default Re: Firewire 800?

So, your Lacie drive runs perfectly fine on its own via FW800? I know that your drive needs to have the Oxford 912(?) chipset to run at FW800, or the Oxford 911(?) chipset to run at FW400. Check to see if your drive is compatable.

If it is compatable, then maybe it's some kind of data thru-put problem with the 18/14.

Edit:
How do you find your set-up? I'm considering a very similar set-up to yours, and am wondering how you find your Powerbook?
See: http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...fpart=1#937998

onlyone-jc
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2006, 07:37 AM
audioboffin audioboffin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 182
Default Re: Firewire 800?

Apparently the 2 Firewire ports share the same bus/chipset on the motherboard of some laptops, so perhaps hanging the hard drive off a PCMCIA FW 800 card will do the trick? The FW 800 port seems to hammer things pretty hard when it is in use... as in it is a resource hog.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-13-2006, 05:46 PM
Ideasite Ideasite is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: Firewire 800?

Firewire 800 is NEVER a resource hog. A G4 or G5's buses and internal speeds are many times faster than Firewire 800. Both firewire 800 and 400 are much faster than necessary for handling very high quality audio. The only thing that causes all of the problems you describe are coding errors in the audio drivers.

M-Audio has made serious programming errors in their drivers and they are what cause every problem being discussed on this topic. All firewire ports on a Mac can be simultaneously be used for both audio and video capture and save at the same time, without any problems whatsoever until any M-audio driver enters the equation.

They really need to address their software. These are not bugs, they are major foundational and systemic problems that have been allowed by the company management, to continue to fester for too long.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-21-2006, 04:50 PM
druvenile druvenile is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: Firewire 800?

Has this issue been resolved yet? I have the same problem.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-22-2006, 12:46 PM
Mista GR Mista GR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 30
Default Re: Firewire 800?

Yooo! Same problem here with FireWire Solo and Macally FW400/800 drive. I used every 800/400 combination - no result, but in my case I get Kernel Panic screens. And, as in your case, FW800 works fine anywhere but in PT. And I still think it's not a PT issue, but M-Audio drivers. M-Audio tech guy even said it's better to chain the drive into FW Solo's port so the drive would be After the sound card. I tried PCMCIA FW400 adapter, just to have a separate bus - no luck. So right now I work with my Macally drive being connected via USB2 and wait for fresh m-audio.com drivers

Setup:
PowerBook G4 1.33 GHz 15"
1.5 GB RAM
PT M-Powered 7.0cs3
FireWire Solo with latest driver
OS X 10.4.3
Macally PHR-100ACB with 200GB Seagate drive in
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-11-2006, 09:11 AM
demodigi demodigi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: France
Posts: 291
Default Re: Firewire 800?

Hi,

I have the same issue here with a FW800 drive, G5 2x2GHz (PCI last DP model) and a Audiophile FW. After 10 sec of playback, I have digital noise, dropouts and then the Audiophile doesn't produce sound anymore (must restart the computer).

I don't have the issue with USB Transit card and PT MP.

I tried the same FW800 drive but connected with its FW400 ports on the second FW400 port of the G5 and it worked with a 24 track + RMX playback session. No noise and no drop.

So it's really an issue between FW800 and M-Audio FW products.

As I said in another post, I made some FW tests with the same disk and it seems that the G5 - maybe only the PCI model and not the PCI-X - FW bus is share between both FW400 and FW800 because when I'm just copying files from SATA to FW800 performance aren't the same whether I have other FW400 peripherals plugged :

SATA->FW800 file copy : 50Mb/s without any other FW400 plugged
SATA->FW800 file copy : 30Mb/s with another FW400 drive plugged into G5 FW400 port (not daisy chained, mounted but not used)

But I stil want to add an external drive for session as I always set my PT computer with 3 drives when working on G4 (1 HD for system, 1 for sessions and 1 for samples). External SATA will be another solution but less portable if working with other computer (my FW800 drives can do FW400/USB2) and I have better speed results with FW800 than with internal SATA ...

Did anyone try to add a PCI/FW800 card (or PCcard/FW800 for Pwb) ?

Did anyone try to add a PCI/SATA card + External SATA drive ?

Thanks,

Demo
PS : I might be able to do those tests later (when I catch those peripherals) but feeback would helpful though
__________________
Macbook Pro (Core2duo 2,4GHz RAM4GB SSD)
MacMini (Core i7 Quad@2,3GHz RAM16GB SSD)
PT 10.3.10 + PT12.4 / VEP5.3.1 / MacOSX.9.5 (MBP)
PT12.4 / VEP5.3.1 / MacOSX.11.1 (MBP)
PT 10.3.10 / PT11.3.2 / PT12.4 / VEP5.3.1 / MacOSX.8.5 (MM "Production" on SSD)
PT 12.4 / VEP5.3.1 / MacOSX.11.1 (MM "test" on HDD)
RME UFX (USB2 with MM and Firewire with MBP)
+ Vienna Ensemble Pro Server on PC Q6600/8Gb/Win7-Pro64-SP1
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-16-2006, 07:05 AM
demodigi demodigi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: France
Posts: 291
Default Re: Firewire 800?

Hi,

I've tested FW800 thru a additionnal PCI card on G5 (PCI version, not PCI-X) and it works well. No bugs with the Audiophile FW.
The disk usage is just a little bit higher (in playback) than SATA but all is flawless here.
For recording 32 tracks : no problem.

Best,

Demo
__________________
Macbook Pro (Core2duo 2,4GHz RAM4GB SSD)
MacMini (Core i7 Quad@2,3GHz RAM16GB SSD)
PT 10.3.10 + PT12.4 / VEP5.3.1 / MacOSX.9.5 (MBP)
PT12.4 / VEP5.3.1 / MacOSX.11.1 (MBP)
PT 10.3.10 / PT11.3.2 / PT12.4 / VEP5.3.1 / MacOSX.8.5 (MM "Production" on SSD)
PT 12.4 / VEP5.3.1 / MacOSX.11.1 (MM "test" on HDD)
RME UFX (USB2 with MM and Firewire with MBP)
+ Vienna Ensemble Pro Server on PC Q6600/8Gb/Win7-Pro64-SP1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions on USB/Firewire speeds on computer W/ No firewire port rockguitarist1255 Tips & Tricks 14 04-02-2013 06:35 PM
Digi 002 Firewire 400speed not accepted by new Mac Pro Firewire 800speed ports AncientMan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-15-2010 09:31 PM
Impossible to find SIIG FireWire 2-Port ExpressCard FireWire adapter Bloody Maker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-22-2010 09:58 AM
Issue? Laptop, Firewire 410, SIIG Firewire Express Card batchmister1 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 08-07-2009 10:37 AM
More Firewire Formatting/Performance Woes - Anybody got Atto working with Firewire? Audiobotica33 Storage Subsystems 1 12-11-2001 07:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com