Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-25-2017, 02:57 PM
danyg danyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 93
Default Re: soothe - dynamic resonance suppressor

using it every day with PT12 vanilla. such a quick modern and creative tool
__________________
Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb ram - SSD 500 Gb - HD1 2T - HD2 2T - OS 10.10. - Mac Book Pro retina- OS 10.10. - SSL Alphalink convertor - Pro Tools 12 native - SSL Matrix console - Logic Pro X
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-04-2018, 03:28 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 2,952
Default Re: soothe - dynamic resonance suppressor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kristo Kotkas View Post
The only downside for me is that the latency is big[/URL]
I get over 8000 samples of latency.
I’m still demoing and debating if i should get it or not.
It’s a quick and great sounding tool but the latency is a workflow killer when tracking VI’s.

Wish it had a zero latency mode.
Zero latency mode should be mandatory for all plugins.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-04-2018, 10:28 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 997
Default Re: soothe - dynamic resonance suppressor

not a workflow killer unless you put it on the master fader or the signal path of the VI's..

I personally can't get good results with it after i impulse bought it on the BF sale last year..

I tried it every single day and tweaked every parameter possible.. I got a better result with a simple dynamic EQ every time.. I find it unintuitive especially designing the EQ band and overpriced.

But i'm obviously in the minority.
__________________
System 1: iMac i7 3.4ghz quad core, OSX 10.12.6, 32GBRam, 2TB Internal Apple HDD 7200 rpm, 256GB internal Apple SSD, TBolt 7200rpm G-Drive, Pro Tools 2018.3,, Cubase 9.5.2, UAD Apollo8 TBolt Quad x2, UAD satellite Octo TBolt x2, TBolt 512GB Lacie SSD, ATI 6970M
System 2: Macbook Pro Retina 2.8ghz i7 quad core, OSX 10.12.6, 16GB Apple Ram, 1TB Apple SSD, 1TB Thunderbolt SSD, Logic Pro 10.3.3, Cubase 9.5.2, Pro Tools 2018.4, Apollo Twin Duo, Nvidia 750M/Intel Iris Pro
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-04-2018, 06:44 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,066
Default soothe - dynamic resonance suppressor

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdee View Post
I get over 8000 samples of latency.

Wish it had a zero latency mode.
Zero latency mode should be mandatory for all plugins.

I could be mistaken, but I don’t think it’s possible to create a plugin of this kind without it inducing latency. It must have a lot of look ahead stuff going on.

Perhaps try using it on mixdown only and not when composing to avoid the huge latency?

Or you could commit the file to an alt playlist and then make the plug inactive.

It’s a fantastic plugin and well worth the money IMO. It totally transformed a disastrous drum recording I was sent. Would have been a PITA trying to remove all the resonances with an EQ.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-07-2018, 10:04 AM
WKG WKG is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,132
Default Re: soothe - dynamic resonance suppressor

Love what Soothe does. Mix tool only for me though.
__________________
I7-4930K, X79-Deluxe, 2133 32 GB,
GT640, 512GB 860 Pro, 1TB Evo, WDB 2TB X2,
Win 10 Pro, PT HD 12 2018.4 REAPER 5.93
RME UFX, Daking, ISA

ASUS N71Jq i7 940xm 8GB DDR3
PTHD 12.1 REAPER - Win 10 HP
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-07-2018, 10:57 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 2,952
Default Re: soothe - dynamic resonance suppressor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
I could be mistaken, but I don’t think it’s possible to create a plugin of this kind without it inducing latency. It must have a lot of look ahead stuff going on.
Fabfilter has a DeEsser that works with zero latency. Isn't Soothe a similare kind of plugin but that works over a much larger bandwith?
Anyway I contacted support and they told me they have alot of request for zero latency and that they are looking into this.

They also said that for every halving the latency there would be a doubling of the CPU hit. So zero latency in it's current state would mean about 20x the CPU resources. I guess we are talking 18 cores or above to be able to run one instance.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Perhaps try using it on mixdown only and not when composing to avoid the huge latency?
Absolutely. That's how I'm using it now.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-04-2018, 07:22 PM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,088
Default Re: soothe - dynamic resonance suppressor

I wasn't able to get any musical results using it (rock drums/vocals). Clearly not for me. YMMV.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-05-2018, 08:05 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 997
Default Re: soothe - dynamic resonance suppressor

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexLakis View Post
I wasn't able to get any musical results using it (rock drums/vocals). Clearly not for me. YMMV.
^this^

most overrated plugin ever, as far as i am concerned. Worst impulse purchase of 2017 for me.
__________________
System 1: iMac i7 3.4ghz quad core, OSX 10.12.6, 32GBRam, 2TB Internal Apple HDD 7200 rpm, 256GB internal Apple SSD, TBolt 7200rpm G-Drive, Pro Tools 2018.3,, Cubase 9.5.2, UAD Apollo8 TBolt Quad x2, UAD satellite Octo TBolt x2, TBolt 512GB Lacie SSD, ATI 6970M
System 2: Macbook Pro Retina 2.8ghz i7 quad core, OSX 10.12.6, 16GB Apple Ram, 1TB Apple SSD, 1TB Thunderbolt SSD, Logic Pro 10.3.3, Cubase 9.5.2, Pro Tools 2018.4, Apollo Twin Duo, Nvidia 750M/Intel Iris Pro
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-05-2018, 08:59 AM
WKG WKG is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,132
Default Re: soothe - dynamic resonance suppressor

Soothe is intended to target problematic resonances, I have found that it does that better than anything else I've tried so far. If you fortunately don't have problem resonant frequencies it is unlikely it will do much of anything useful.

One thing it's not is a color/shaping equal.
__________________
I7-4930K, X79-Deluxe, 2133 32 GB,
GT640, 512GB 860 Pro, 1TB Evo, WDB 2TB X2,
Win 10 Pro, PT HD 12 2018.4 REAPER 5.93
RME UFX, Daking, ISA

ASUS N71Jq i7 940xm 8GB DDR3
PTHD 12.1 REAPER - Win 10 HP
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-05-2018, 09:16 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,181
Default Re: soothe - dynamic resonance suppressor

I haven't tried it yet, I think it follows the same principle found in the Waves multiband compressor and limiter, taken to its maximum. If that's the case it must be an amazing tool for those who use it. I should give it a try although I don't think is a good idea to try things I can't afford.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools 2018
amagrasmusic.com

Last edited by amagras; 04-05-2018 at 09:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waves NS1 Noise Suppressor superhunter2 Buy & Sell 1 04-28-2016 11:13 AM
Waves Noise Suppressor now available Studio Dweller Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 21 11-12-2009 11:37 AM
192 voltage suppressor...help pls engineering? Jack Ruston UK Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-12-2005 05:01 AM
What's SO dynamic about dynamic voice allocation??? jimlongo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-14-2001 02:52 PM
Resonance Filter TDM JLEpperson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-28-2000 06:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com