Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2009, 08:06 AM
applecore3401 applecore3401 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 17
Default Will Digi 002 upgrade fix all my problems....

I am having issues with my performance. I am running about 15 tracks with plugins on them and I am getting error messages like hardware buffer under-run. I am running the usb mbox and computer details are below. I have the hardware setting to 2048 so I feel i shouldn't be having problems. I am trying to figure out what I need to change in my setup to get more power in pro tools to run more plugins so I can mix. I am looking at either getting a better computer or the Digi 002. I want to know if upgrading to Digi 002 which has firewire is going to improve my pro tools system performance. Or do I have to upgrade computers? I know this is poorly written but bare with me because I am trying to get this problem fixed.

System Details
Macbook Black 2.4 GHz
Intel Core 2 Duo, 3 GB ram
Mbox 2

Last edited by applecore3401; 02-23-2009 at 08:07 AM. Reason: Add system details
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2009, 08:25 AM
docbop docbop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 403
Default Re: Will Digi 002 upgrade fix all my problems....

MBox and 002 are just interfaces your computer is doing the processing that's generating those errors.
__________________
Steve B.
----------------------------------------------------------------
If you think you can or if you think you can't, you're right.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2009, 08:57 AM
Resonant Alien Resonant Alien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 60
Default Re: Will Digi 002 upgrade fix all my problems....

Your hardware buffer size may actually be set too high. Try a lower setting and see if you still have a problem
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-23-2009, 09:12 AM
applecore3401 applecore3401 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 17
Default Re: Will Digi 002 upgrade fix all my problems....

So if I buy the digi 002 the only thing it would bring to the table would be the additional outputs?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-23-2009, 09:13 AM
applecore3401 applecore3401 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 17
Default Re: Will Digi 002 upgrade fix all my problems....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Resonant Alien View Post
Your hardware buffer size may actually be set too high. Try a lower setting and see if you still have a problem
How can it be set to high? I thought setting it the highest gives you the best performance?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-23-2009, 09:27 AM
audiocase audiocase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Posts: 205
Default Re: Will Digi 002 upgrade fix all my problems....

Quote:
Originally Posted by applecore3401 View Post
How can it be set to high? I thought setting it the highest gives you the best performance?

Sorry to hear you 're experiencing this ,but the setting can go both ways really. 1024 is the maximum in my case, so I suggest not to set it higher.

Consider the M-audio profire 610 ( much better latency) route before leaping to an 002 though.


BTW, did you make a clean install of v8?
__________________
Be ready to capture the magic... even in your sleep.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-23-2009, 09:49 AM
Sunzate Sunzate is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 345
Default Re: Will Digi 002 upgrade fix all my problems....

Quote:
Originally Posted by docbop View Post
MBox and 002 are just interfaces your computer is doing the processing that's generating those errors.
This isn't completely true, as far as I know.

I got rid of my (original) mbox and haven't looked back. It was a few years ago, but I had endless buffer problems, and the situation drastically improved when i switched to the firewire 002R.

Read the specs carefully: All except one of the mboxes (mbox pro) use USB 1.1, which is a slow, old interface. A quick google search reveals that the maximum speed of USB 1.1 is around 1.5 MB/s, while firewire approaches 50 MB/s. That's 30 times faster. More on the benefits of firewire (wikipedia),
Besides throughput, other differences are that it uses simpler bus networking, provides more power over the chain, more reliable data transfer, and uses less CPU resources.[23]
It's a vicious circle with an mbox. You get buffer errors because when you turn the buffer down to reduce latency, and you get buffer errors when you turn it up to improve performance.

Fail!

My opinion: If you are serious about recording, get firewire, or at least USB 2.0.

Hope this helps.
Adam
__________________
Adam White, composer.producer.engineer
www.studiocat.ca
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-23-2009, 11:02 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,623
Default Re: Will Digi 002 upgrade fix all my problems....

The first question I would have is - what are the error numbers in the messages you're getting?

Also - what type of drive are you using for record/playback?

Have you tried any of the troubleshooting steps in the General Troubleshooting thread?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-23-2009, 11:04 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,922
Default Re: Will Digi 002 upgrade fix all my problems....

Quote:
Originally Posted by applecore3401 View Post
So if I buy the digi 002 the only thing it would bring to the table would be the additional outputs?
... and firewire... and lower buffer settings with less latency.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-23-2009, 12:17 PM
Sunzate Sunzate is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 345
Default Re: Will Digi 002 upgrade fix all my problems....

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
The first question I would have is - what are the error numbers in the messages you're getting?

Also - what type of drive are you using for record/playback?

Have you tried any of the troubleshooting steps in the General Troubleshooting thread?

He's right - do these things first, but...
__________________
Adam White, composer.producer.engineer
www.studiocat.ca
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi 003 Midi Mode firmware upgrade causing problems DanielWiklander 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-12-2012 03:24 PM
Upgrade Path from Digi 002 Rack to Digi 003+ bilco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-26-2008 03:28 PM
Digi Drive upgrade problems Tim Cooley Storage Subsystems 3 10-27-2007 07:28 AM
cpu upgrade problems acroyear 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-19-2002 05:04 AM
PC Probe problems. Any overheatingg problems with Digi 001 Ajay 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-03-2002 05:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com