Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2012, 05:43 PM
davehep davehep is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Default Dry Signal only

Hi guys - please be kind, I'm a noob to Pro Tools and to this forum and pulling my hair out with frustration!

So I have Pro Tools 10 set up on my Mac OS X system and it was working just fine when I was using an Edirol FIREWIRE FA 101 interface. Through that interface I could record tracks using external effects (Line 6 etc.)

I decided to 'upgrade' and invested in an Eleven Rack.

The Eleven Rack as a stand-alone is a cracking bit of kit. Worked straight from the box without a hitch.

My problems start, however when I try to use it in conjunction with Pro Tools.

Pro Tools seems to have found the Eleven Rack as it appears as a peripheral in the Hardware Setup screen.

It also shows as the default device in the Playback Engine setup screen.

Similarly, there it is again in the I/O setup screen.

Try as I might, however, I cannot seem to get the darned thing to show up as an I/O option when I create a new audio track. The only I/O options I have under 'interface' are In 1-2 (Stereo). Maybe that is the 11R, but I just need to rename it from the I/O setup screen....?

Anyway, the real problem is that the minute I launch ProTools (having been using the 11R in stand-alone mode through headphones) I lose the sound (which I expect to until I create and arm a track).

But, when I do create and arm a track I only get a dry signal coming back through the headphones and on playback only a dry signal has been recorded. All of those lovely amp simulations and effects have been lost!

So, dear friends, please point me in the right direction - what am I doing wrong?

I'm fairly sure that the problem is not with the 11R as it works fine till I launch Pro Tools....

Help - please!!

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2012, 06:32 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Dry Signal only

you'll probable get further asking this down in the Guitar section
they know the ins and outs outs of the 11r more so than in this section

http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=33
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2012, 12:54 AM
davehep davehep is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Default Re: Dry Signal only

Thanks Craig - should I be deleting this post then? Will the forum police get hacked off with me for posting the same message twice?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No audio signal or midi signal after pro tools 8.04 upgrade allgenres 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-01-2010 08:58 AM
aux track signal but no midi signal? elv1s1sal1ve 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-06-2005 07:18 PM
No Midi signal, no audio signal, buzzing monitors! 1tonstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-26-2004 07:01 AM
Using one signal to lower the volume of a second signal for distance learning? Bastiaan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-23-2003 12:54 AM
synced with pro tools- see signal, but can't hear signal- HELP!!!! hitwriter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-30-2002 10:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com