Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-23-2010, 02:51 PM
justindbutler justindbutler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA USA
Posts: 15
Default Problem Installing -- "Insert Disk containing Data2.Cab"

o when I go to install Protools 8.0 it asks for this file (Data2.Cab). I downloaded PT8 from the avid/digidesign website keep in mind so I don't have a disk. However, I do see that Data2.cab file in the unzipped folder for PT8... except when I go to unzip everything it throws up an error message in regards to that file. It ends up not getting decompressed.

Do you guys think this could just be a bad download? I had to start it and stop it like maybe three different times. I've used the windows unzip default program as well as Winzip. I can't get either one to unzip Data2.Cab correctly. Data2.cab is also the largest file by quite a bit.



Thoughts? Suggestions? The digidesign people have not gotten back to me on the ticket I submitted.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-23-2010, 06:55 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,382
Default Re: Problem Installing -- "Insert Disk containing Data2.Cab"

You shouldn't unzip that file - just unzip the main download and leave everything else alone. You should be able to run the installer then.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2020.5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2010, 07:31 PM
melodic777 melodic777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: Problem Installing -- "Insert Disk containing Data2.Cab"

I don't understand what you're saying. I extract the entire folder that appears on my desktop, and as the original poster stated, this is the only one that will not unzip. So, what is your solution? I don't understand.
Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-27-2010, 08:06 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,382
Default Re: Problem Installing -- "Insert Disk containing Data2.Cab"

Quote:
Originally Posted by melodic777 View Post
I don't understand what you're saying. I extract the entire folder that appears on my desktop, and as the original poster stated, this is the only one that will not unzip. So, what is your solution? I don't understand.
Thank you
You only need to unzip the main file that you download. There will be other zipped files to appear such as data1 and data2 but just leave those alone and run the setup file.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2020.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem opening/installing "10.3.8.dmg" in Mountain Lion tony20970 macOS 1 02-15-2014 09:50 AM
Problem Installing -- "Insert Disk containing Data2.Cab" justindbutler 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-23-2010 12:07 PM
"Insert disk..." message Viktor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-10-2003 12:58 AM
hard disk problem - help! "B Tree keys out of order" Joseph Anderson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-16-2002 06:27 AM
compressor on the "insert" or "in-Line"? Dead River Studio Tips & Tricks 6 06-08-2002 04:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com