Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-31-2003, 01:03 PM
cwhite771 cwhite771 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 708
Default Re: First midi note Hit always missing.

Quote:
Originally posted by DooDooDoo:
Any recommandations for good input quantize set up to start with. Or maybe it's not a quantize issue (I'm not too bad with my fingers).
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Which version of PT are you using? I had a similar problem when I used to use 5.1.3. Never figured out why it did that. To get around it, I'd just put an extra note at the beginning before my track started.

I haven't actually had a chance to do any MIDI in 6.1 yet.
__________________
2013 MacPro 3.5GHz 6-core/16GB RAM/OS10.9.2 - PT10.3.8/PT11.1.2 - RME UFX - Apogee Rosetta 200 - and a bunch of other stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-31-2003, 02:20 PM
saeblee saeblee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nashville
Posts: 206
Default Re: First midi note Hit always missing.

You will miss the first midi note if you start recording at the exact part where you want midi note to come in. I always stay in slip mode and start record BEFORE the midi notes start. Even if you use a pre roll to give you a couple measures to come in, you'll still miss the midi note if the record starts at that exact measure. I hope this makes sense, but I have experienced this problem before and this solution fixed it.

Good luck Doo DOo Doo!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-31-2003, 02:24 PM
saeblee saeblee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nashville
Posts: 206
Default Re: First midi note Hit always missing.

Sorry, I forgot to mention the most important part. Make sure you record midi in Bars/Beats mode when quantizing. If you're in Minutes/Seconds and then quantize, you'll miss the first note on the one. I guess since the quantize feature is based on bars and beats, using minutes or samples modes can mess you up.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-31-2003, 09:20 PM
keyboardgod keyboardgod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 14
Default Re: First midi note Hit always missing.

Are you missing the note when you record or when it plays back?Can you see the note and it won't play?If so I think this because the track is sending a program change to the synth at the beginning of playback.You could turn of receive progam change at the synth end or tack a bit of extra region on the front of the track to give the synth enough time to respond.
Or maybe there's some "chase program changes"command in protools preferences that you could turn off.Don't know about that one but it rings a bell so.......
Have fun
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2003, 12:20 AM
DooDooDoo DooDooDoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 64
Default First midi note Hit always missing.

Any recommandations for good input quantize set up to start with. Or maybe it's not a quantize issue (I'm not too bad with my fingers).
__________________
HD2, 192, Mac pci express
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi 101 really missing? Set high note/low note on track's input robinsonsdca macOS 4 11-10-2011 01:23 PM
Pro Tools + 61-note MIDI Keyboard = missing low notes! k0000 MIDI 12 03-04-2011 09:29 PM
PT8 - Missing first midi note? InRainbows 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-25-2008 11:42 AM
Midi recording early (and missing the first note) tripstation MIDI 0 09-11-2008 04:14 PM
Missing 1st Midi note ? roaddog215 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-16-2000 05:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com