Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Click for info about Avid @ NAB 2017

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-24-2017, 01:56 PM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 337
Default Re: Surround receiver with preamp outputs for monitors?

How many channels of surround sound do you need? I might be selling my Marantz AV8003 soon.
__________________
MacPro 2.4 12-core, OSX 10.10.5 & 10.12
Pro Tools HD 12, HDX2 & MTRX
HP Z230 Hackintosh, HD Native & Omni
S6 M10 16-5 w/ producer desk
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-24-2017, 03:48 PM
V5V's Avatar
V5V V5V is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 463
Default Re: Surround receiver with preamp outputs for monitors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucienpalmer View Post
How many channels of surround sound do you need? I might be selling my Marantz AV8003 soon.
5.1
__________________
Lorin Schultz
V5V Digital Media
Vancouver, BC Canada
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old Yesterday, 02:57 PM
V5V's Avatar
V5V V5V is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 463
Default Re: Surround receiver with preamp outputs for monitors?

I picked up a used Denon DN-A7100 on Craigslist. When I get time to try using it as an audio monitor interface for Pro Tools | HD I'll report back about how it works out.
__________________
Lorin Schultz
V5V Digital Media
Vancouver, BC Canada
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old Yesterday, 08:07 PM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 337
Default Re: Surround receiver with preamp outputs for monitors?

Quote:
Originally Posted by V5V View Post
5.1
The Marantz works great for that. It's capable of 7.1, but I'm connecting to a 5.1 system 5.1. I currently have an Apple TV, Mac Miini and DVD player running into the Marantz. It has balanced line outputs that connect to my Xmon so Pro tools and the Marantz can use the same 5.1 powered speakers at the same time.

I'm moving into my new studio next month and I'll have to upgrade to the Atmos Marantz. I'll be selling my 5.1/7.1 model.

PM me if you are interested.
__________________
MacPro 2.4 12-core, OSX 10.10.5 & 10.12
Pro Tools HD 12, HDX2 & MTRX
HP Z230 Hackintosh, HD Native & Omni
S6 M10 16-5 w/ producer desk
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADAT Outputs to AV Receiver......Possible? The Dougfather Post - Surround - Video 3 10-15-2010 06:00 PM
Low budget preamp/monitors Luke K General Discussion 6 12-09-2009 07:16 AM
Surround outputs switched round Ruthven Post - Surround - Video 5 05-21-2008 06:22 PM
OT:Multi-Channel output into Surround Receiver Allen Hallada 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-05-2004 01:47 AM
MONITORS or a PREAMP, hmmm... MEM-NYC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 02-12-2004 05:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com