Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-13-2017, 04:12 PM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 907
Default Oxford Dynamics and ICON mapping

Hi,

Any ICON out there use the Sonnox Oxford Dynamics plugin? Have you noticed that the control mapping to the dedicated Dynamics control section of the ICON are kinda screwed up? In version 2.09 you can’t adjust the limiter from the dedicated dynamics controllers when using Oxford Dynamics Full plugin, but you can when using a reduced feature version like Oxford Compressor/Limiter. In the new version 3 you can't get to the limiter controls with the dedicated Dynamics controllers at all. Most functions seem to work ok if you spill plugin parameters to faders.

Also, even if I select Access follows Ext Controller (any) the plugin will not switch modes accessing from the dedicated dynamics control section but it will if you spill the control parameters onto faders.

Anyone else have these issues?
__________________
Will Russell
Grammy winning engineer
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.12.5, PT12.7.1, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.12.5, PT12.7.1, MBox3
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.12.5, PT12.7.1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2017, 12:32 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,037
Default Re: Oxford Dynamics and ICON mapping

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Russell View Post
In the new version 3 you can't get to the limiter controls with the dedicated Dynamics controllers at all.
Yup, same here on D-Control. On the full version I can get at the Compressor settings (on 1 page), Expander/Gate is across two pages and I can get at most but not all settings, SC EQ appears on the EQ section and the Limiter appears nowhere.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-19-2017, 04:56 PM
PTPerson PTPerson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Down Under
Posts: 511
Default Re: Oxford Dynamics and ICON mapping

I've been in touch with Sonnox about this plug in.

It's silly that the HOLD/GAIN encoder is being used for Gain when it's already available on the OUTPUT encoder.

They should change it to HOLD.

They mentioned they were going to try to do this in V3 but I don't think it's been done.

Sillyness! Sometimes I don't understand humans.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-28-2017, 09:13 AM
TheFilterLab TheFilterLab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Minneapolis, USA
Posts: 4
Default Re: Oxford Dynamics and ICON mapping

I have the same problem with this plugin which is really unfortunate because it’s one of my main compressors. I'm also on a D-command using PT8 and PT 12.6

The best work around I’ve come up with is to map my most used parameters outside of the compressor to the channel rotary encoders. and setup the plug in default setting so that most parameters are set the way I want them.

For example on default I set the compressor and the SC-EQ to IN. I set the time constants in the limiter to roughly where I would want them (hopefully I won’t need to adjust them). I also roughly set the SC eq points and have the shelves enabled. My first page of the rotary encoders has the warmth in and the amount. and the litter in and the threshold. on the next 2 pages I have the SC EQ controls. After that I have the limiter controls. I don’t use the gate or expander. I much prefer the digi expander. It honestly seems like the gate and expander are broken in the newer version of this plugin.

It’s still not ideal but for the most part I can do what I want with it without having to look at the plugin window. It did take some getting used to how I mapped things
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-28-2017, 01:18 PM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 907
Default Re: Oxford Dynamics and ICON mapping

We shouldn't have to do a work around. Sonnox should fix it.
__________________
Will Russell
Grammy winning engineer
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.12.5, PT12.7.1, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.12.5, PT12.7.1, MBox3
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.12.5, PT12.7.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oxford Dynamics problem in PT11 noiseboyuk AAX Plug-ins 1 12-02-2014 09:06 AM
Oxford dynamics is AAX, DSP too! digidesigner AAX Plug-ins 22 04-20-2013 01:02 PM
Sony Oxford Dynamics Mapping sburrows ICON & C|24 2 03-05-2007 12:03 AM
So, wazzup with Sony Oxford dynamics Mark Haliday Tips & Tricks 3 01-20-2003 01:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com