Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2015, 06:18 PM
Tim McCullcoh Tim McCullcoh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 73
Default Waves 9 installation on Venue

Waves makes it sound so simple: download the Waves 9 for Venue self-extracting executable, extract to the root of a USB drive and the console will see the plugs for installation.

Yeah, right. So far it doesn't do that. It creates a folder called TDM Plug Ins that has several layers of subfolders that cannot be navigated from the Options/Plugins tab.

Has anyone recently installed Waves v9?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2015, 10:05 AM
RyanJ's Avatar
RyanJ RyanJ is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 221
Default Re: Waves 9 installation on Venue

Is your USB key FAT32 Formatted?

and a file hierarchy like this?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2015-03-05 at 8.49.23 AM.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	31.3 KB
ID:	3679  
__________________
Ryan John
Principal Product Manager | Avid Live Sound

ryan.john@avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-05-2015, 01:07 PM
Tim McCullcoh Tim McCullcoh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 73
Default Re: Waves 9 installation on Venue

Hi Ryan-

Yes, and yes. Waves has reached out and the plugs are installed. I believe it was corruption during extraction as starting over with the same USB drive and using the same USB port on console worked. I'd done it twice already and never had the "Waves 9" show up in the available plug in list, this time it did. Thanks for checking.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-30-2017, 06:06 PM
justinphilip justinphilip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Default Re: Waves 9 installation on Venue

I have a related issue.
I bought the SSL bundle from Waves today.
Downloaded the venue installer. It created a TDM folder on the usb drive. I was able to install it on the SC48.
However, it lists every dang plugin in the list in the Plugins Tab.
I thought it would only install the SSL bundle...not the ones I don't have licenses for.

And it sucks I have to keep the USB drive connected to use these plugins. Grr.

Any thoughts? Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-30-2017, 11:06 PM
nikhilmulay nikhilmulay is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: mumbai
Posts: 166
Default Re: Waves 9 installation on Venue

The venue installer has all of their plugins so would install everything. There is no way to choose. Irritating, but it's how waves choose to do it.
It's a very straightforward install though.

And a little tip.. You only need to have the drive in to load your show and initialize the plugins. After that you can pull out the drive and carry on with the gig.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-01-2017, 01:02 PM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 573
Default Re: Waves 9 installation on Venue

Quote:
Originally Posted by justinphilip View Post
I have a related issue.
I bought the SSL bundle from Waves today.
Downloaded the venue installer. It created a TDM folder on the usb drive. I was able to install it on the SC48.
However, it lists every dang plugin in the list in the Plugins Tab.
I thought it would only install the SSL bundle...not the ones I don't have licenses for.

And it sucks I have to keep the USB drive connected to use these plugins. Grr.

Any thoughts? Thanks!!
I haven't done this for a while but I think you can go and exit-to-desktop, then navigate to the actual folder your installed Waves pulgins are in and move the ones you don't use to some other folder, name it "unused_waves_plugins" if you like and you should not be bothered with the plugins you don't have licenses for anymore.
__________________
VENUE FAQ & download links, useful
AVID VENUE ILok driver download
VENUE Plugin DSP usage

My AVID:
  • Room A > HD4Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix / Artist Control
  • Room B > HD3Accel PCI-CustoMac / 192D / PTHD10 / 2 x Artist Mix
  • Big Live > VENUE Profile 48/24 + 2nd Snake card, IOx, FWx, HDx, PQ Rack, 8 x PQ Controllers
  • Small Live > S3L-32 + Mac Mini - two systems - combined one 64/32 FOH / Mon setup
  • On stage > Pro Tools on laptop with variety of M-Audio boxes
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-12-2017, 07:17 AM
justinphilip justinphilip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Default Re: Waves 9 installation on Venue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kristo Kotkas View Post
I haven't done this for a while but I think you can go and exit-to-desktop, then navigate to the actual folder your installed Waves pulgins are in and move the ones you don't use to some other folder, name it "unused_waves_plugins" if you like and you should not be bothered with the plugins you don't have licenses for anymore.
Yes!

That's exactly what Waves support told me.

Our Waves-for-Venue installer does install all available v9 plug-ins - However, it is possible to exclude unused plug-ins from the list, by taking the following steps:

1. Exit to Windows (by placing the console in CONFIG mode, then hold Ctrl and click the Shutdown button).
2. Access Start Menu > My Computer > C: > Program Files > Waves > Plug-ins.
3. Move any plug-in .Bundle file that is not in-use to the 'Unused Plug-ins' folder.
4. Go back to C:\Program Files\Waves and launch the file Clear Plug-in Menu.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waves Venue AAX DSP Josh Voyles VENUE Live Sound Systems 46 04-27-2016 08:12 PM
AVID VENUE S3L 64-input installation BradLyons VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 08-29-2014 07:40 AM
Waves V9 and Venue KrisHeinold VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 08-09-2013 08:55 AM
Venue 3.0 installation problem brinnbacka VENUE Live Sound Systems 9 11-04-2012 09:08 PM
Waves on venue!!! ThomasPMusic VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 01-13-2009 03:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com