Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Duet & Pro Tools | Quartet

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-18-2017, 03:11 PM
elevateconsulting elevateconsulting is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2
Default NS-10 noise and hum

I have been trying to isolate a hum in my NS-10s. I have my balanced monitor outputs running from my Apogee quartet going to a cheap QSC power amplifier, the outputs of the power amp are going out unbalanced to my NS-10s.
When I turn on my amp i get a low hum and what appears to be some noise from USB. I went to the local electronics shop and bought a consumer grade Ground Loop Isolator. I placed this unit between the Apogee outputs and my power amp as suggested and it did remove the USB noise however the low hum still exists.
When the Apogee is outputs are disconnected from the Power Amp the hum is still there so that makes me believe that the hum is coming from within the power amp itself.
What i did was take the unit and put it between the Power Amp outputs and the NS-10 speakers. That completely removed the hum noise however it appears my output volume is being attenuated as well, as I can't get nearly the output volume coming out the power amp as if I was running straight to the NS-10s without the Ground Loop Isolator in between.
From what I can guess the noise from the Amp is coming from an issue within the Amp itself or because of a poor grounding issue coming from my house power.
Can anyone tell me why the Ground Loop Isolator would be attenuating my volume from my power amp and if they have any suggestions for a different fix?
Thanks guys
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-18-2017, 07:10 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,990
Default Re: NS-10 noise and hum

Some things to consider:
1-A "cheap" QSC amp...what model is it and does it have balanced inputs?
2-"a consumer grade Ground Loop Isolator". Probably designed around -10 in/out level while the interface and amp are probably built to use +4(and who knows exactly what this "isolator" is actually doing)
3-is the power amp plugged into the same power circuit as the computer and interface? And, is the amp mounted in a rack with metal rack rail and maybe other gear that is fed from another power outlet?
4-assuming a ground loop, with balanced inputs on the amp, disconnecting the shield wire at the amp end might be a solution.
5-I doubt the "isolator" was designed to go between the power amp and speakers(any ground loop is happening between the amp and the interface)
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-18-2017, 08:59 PM
elevateconsulting elevateconsulting is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2
Default Re: NS-10 noise and hum

1. ) Actually a QTX brand QA400 model, yes it does have balanced 1/4 and XLR inputs.
2.) Yes, probably the reason for the overall volume loss?
3.) Yes, I have all my gear coming from the same power circuit. I don't have any other outboard gear where my amp is racked. I also tried with the amp mounted in my rack and then removing the screws and leaving it "decoupled" and had no noticeable change in hum volume
4.) so disconnect the shield on the amp end on the balanced 1/4 cables from the Apogee to the amp?
5.) Yes, I think you are right. From what you described in point 2 the "isolator" is probably attenuating the hum at the expense of overall volume.

Thanks for your thoughts Dave, they are mucch appreciated!
I will give disconnecting the shield wire at the amp end a go and see how I get on.

Last edited by elevateconsulting; 09-18-2017 at 09:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-18-2017, 09:38 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,617
Default Re: NS-10 noise and hum

If you get a hum from your speakers when there is no audio source connected to the amp, then your amp is faulty.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.2.

Pro Tools HD 12.8.1, Mbox3, MOTU PCI-424 w/ 2408mkII & 1224 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2, Focusrite Scarlett 18I8 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-19-2017, 08:42 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,990
Default Re: NS-10 noise and hum

1. ) Actually a QTX brand QA400 model, yes it does have balanced 1/4 and XLR inputs.
2.) Yes, probably the reason for the overall volume loss?
3.) Yes, I have all my gear coming from the same power circuit. I don't have any other outboard gear where my amp is racked. I also tried with the amp mounted in my rack and then removing the screws and leaving it "decoupled" and had no noticeable change in hum volume
4.) so disconnect the shield on the amp end on the balanced 1/4 cables from the Apogee to the amp?Yes(fingers crossed)
5.) Yes, I think you are right. From what you described in point 2 the "isolator" is probably attenuating the hum at the expense of overall volume.

I also agree with Jimmy. A humming amp with no signal is probably faulty
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
White Noise, distortion, pops, loud noise in Pro tools 9 and mbox mini Bigpit Pro Tools Software (Win) 1 09-09-2013 09:26 AM
Audio Recording Noise Test on a new laptop.How do I reduce fan/system noise? PeterGreen Pro Tools 10 Discussion 24 01-23-2013 07:38 AM
Attn: Drumkit from Hell experts: noise noise noise Smelt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 07-30-2003 06:31 AM
Noise floor (Signal to Noise Ratio)...Please explain this term Roy Howell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 10-05-2001 12:54 AM
Fast panning produces noise like a noisy pan pot! Is this "Zipper noise?" Jules Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-02-2000 04:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com