Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2019, 03:24 AM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,933
Default Mojave Pro Tools 2019.05 SSD Trim Enable (Y or N?)

Hi Guys

Just finally getting started testing Pro Tools 2019 on my 2010 Mac Pro with HDX Card. I have a combination of OWC SSD Drives and Samsung SSD Drives.

I have already installed everything (took about 10 hours or downloading and installing), but I forgot to enable trim. . .

I presume that I should enable trim for the Samsung drives, as I have in past MAC OS versions?

The reason i am asking, is I am hearing that a number of people do not enable trim with Samsung or other none-Mac or none-OWC drives. I did have a problem once with a MacBook Pro due to not having trim enabled, so I always have since. Any difference with the Mojave and APFS? What is best?

System Description:
Mac Pro (Mid-2010)
12 Core 3.46 GHz 24GB RAM
Mojave (10.14.5)
Video: NVIDIA GeForce GX 680 4GB
Monitors: 34" Samsung SE790C (HDMI), 20" Dell 2005FPW (DVI @90 deg rotation)
Drives:
- System: OWC Mercury 3G SSD
- Sessions: Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB
- Samples: Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
- Sonnet Tempo SSD Card (PCIe 2xSSD), System and Sample SSDs
PCIe USB3/eSata Card (2x2)
PT Ultimate HDX 2019.5
Interfaces: Lynx Aurora16 (x 2) + Digidesign 192 i/o (x 2)

Last edited by Howardk; 06-26-2019 at 03:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-26-2019, 03:45 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,164
Default Re: Mojave Pro Tools 2019.05 SSD Trim Enable (Y or N?)

You always want to have trim enabled for any ssd.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-26-2019, 06:55 AM
Ray Lyon Ray Lyon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Waynesville, NC
Posts: 724
Default Re: Mojave Pro Tools 2019.05 SSD Trim Enable (Y or N?)

How do you enable trim on SSD?
__________________
Ray Lyon on Facebook
www.raylyon.com

• Mac Pro 5,1 flashed 2009 model 4,1
• 12-core 2.93ghz "Westmere", 64 GB RAM
• OS 10.12.6 Sierra, PT 2019.5
• One plug-in too many, but I really like FabFilter Pro-Q 3
• Avid HDX, Revive Audio modded Avid 192 I/O
• Avid MIDI I/O, Avid Command|8
• 256GB SSD, (2) 2TB ext. drive
• NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 2048 MB
• Samsung 34" SE790C display (3440x1440), Acer 23" A231H Display
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-26-2019, 08:46 AM
lancemcv lancemcv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 482
Default Re: Mojave Pro Tools 2019.05 SSD Trim Enable (Y or N?)

https://www.cnet.com/how-to/installi...-trim-mistake/

From digging around on this forum I found a few comments on whether you should or shouldn't enable trim.
* If you are using APFS and an NVME SDD then Trim will always be enabled
* If you are using APFS and an SSD then enabling Trim will cause a slow boot
* If you are using HFS+ on an NVME SSD or SSD then Trim should be enabled by the user either by the Clover method or from a terminal "sudo trimforce enable" (my prefered method).
I'm no expert on this though, but @vulgo is a very experienced user, so I respect his opinion. If in doubt, start a new post.

The Issue with Trim and APFS on 3rd party SSDs seems to be caused by Trimming taking place as the computer is booting so the more data you had on your SSD the longer your boot would take. It's better to do the routine everyone knows by now to go back to HFS+ and enable trim, or the not recommended option, stay on APFS and disable trim.
__________________
OS X 10.12.1 PT 12.6.1 HD
HD Native pcie / Omni
Mac Pro 2009 upgraded to 5,1 12 core 3.33ghz, flashed Geforce 980ti, Samsung Samsung SM951 M.2 PCIe SSD (AHCI model) pcie boot drive OWC PCIE Mercury Assessor system clone drive, usb 3 card
Pro Tools Native and Omni PT12
Midas M32r console.
Director and Engineer for Front and Center on PBS /MTV
Director and Engineer for Speakeasy on PBS
Engineer for MTV Live new artist series
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-26-2019, 10:30 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,164
Default Re: Mojave Pro Tools 2019.05 SSD Trim Enable (Y or N?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Lyon View Post
How do you enable trim on SSD?
It would have taken less time to Google the answer than it did to write your post. See this article: https://www.howtogeek.com/222077/how...s-on-mac-os-x/

You really should make Google your friend.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-26-2019, 03:13 PM
Panacci Panacci is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 195
Default Re: Mojave Pro Tools 2019.05 SSD Trim Enable (Y or N?)

I use a program called Trim Enabler for my Mac.
__________________
2009 8 Core Mac 5.1, (32 gigs Ram), MacBookPro , 828MKIII Hybrid , 8Pre, OSX High Sierra/Sierra, DP8/9, MachV3, PT12 Vanilla (latest) , Peak 7, Logic 9 ,WaveLab 9, DSP-Quattro ,many plugins , mics and synths. http://www.panaccimusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-26-2019, 06:09 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,164
Default Re: Mojave Pro Tools 2019.05 SSD Trim Enable (Y or N?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Panacci View Post
I use a program called Trim Enabler for my Mac.
That program hasn't been needed in years. Why pay for something you can do in Terminal for free?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-26-2019, 11:05 PM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,933
Default Re: Mojave Pro Tools 2019.05 SSD Trim Enable (Y or N?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lancemcv View Post
https://www.cnet.com/how-to/installi...-trim-mistake/

From digging around on this forum I found a few comments on whether you should or shouldn't enable trim.
* If you are using APFS and an NVME SDD then Trim will always be enabled
* If you are using APFS and an SSD then enabling Trim will cause a slow boot
* If you are using HFS+ on an NVME SSD or SSD then Trim should be enabled by the user either by the Clover method or from a terminal "sudo trimforce enable" (my prefered method).
I'm no expert on this though, but @vulgo is a very experienced user, so I respect his opinion. If in doubt, start a new post.

The Issue with Trim and APFS on 3rd party SSDs seems to be caused by Trimming taking place as the computer is booting so the more data you had on your SSD the longer your boot would take. It's better to do the routine everyone knows by now to go back to HFS+ and enable trim, or the not recommended option, stay on APFS and disable trim.
I have a combination of different SSD drives. . . my data drives are Samsung SSDs with HFS, so Trim required and System drives are APFS and OWC SSD, which do not need Trim enabled. Mojave seems to force APFS on installation... maybe I missed an option.
__________________
See my Public Profile for System Configuration Information
(Click on member name)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-27-2019, 03:57 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,164
Default Re: Mojave Pro Tools 2019.05 SSD Trim Enable (Y or N?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Howardk View Post
I have a combination of different SSD drives. . . my data drives are Samsung SSDs with HFS, so Trim required and System drives are APFS and OWC SSD, which do not need Trim enabled. Mojave seems to force APFS on installation... maybe I missed an option.
Doesn't much matter what a specific ssd needs/wants in the way of trim - if you read the article i linked to you'll see that once trim is enabled it's enabled for all existing drives in the computer.

I have to wonder who makes the ssd's OWC uses/sells as their house brand. Paging Darryll Ramm.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-27-2019, 11:43 PM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,933
Default Re: Mojave Pro Tools 2019.05 SSD Trim Enable (Y or N?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Doesn't much matter what a specific ssd needs/wants in the way of trim - if you read the article i linked to you'll see that once trim is enabled it's enabled for all existing drives in the computer.
Hi

Yes, I realize Trim is enabled for all SSDs with the "sudo trimforce enable" command. . . I have had all my Macs this way for many years. I am thinking that since the Samsung drives are HFS+ data drives that I best have trim enabled. . .so that being so, it doesn't really matter that the OWC System SSDs don't need trim enabled, nor does changing from APFS to HFS+ for the system drives really help anything in my setup.

I enabled trim a couple days back, and so far all seems fine in that regard.

Thanks. . .
__________________
See my Public Profile for System Configuration Information
(Click on member name)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GUI issues - 2019.5 and Mojave BrandonUnis Pro Tools 2019 12 06-21-2019 08:42 PM
Mojave Thinks PT 2019.5 is a 32-bit App moogboy100 Pro Tools 2019 3 05-28-2019 09:44 AM
PT 2019 Mojave macPro 5,1 off the wall Pro Tools 2019 20 05-13-2019 06:00 PM
Pro Tools 2019.5 & Mojave crashes every time briaboy Pro Tools 2019 13 05-10-2019 09:40 AM
new SSD for PT 2019 and Mojave question. Anibal Pro Tools 2018 0 05-09-2019 09:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com