Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-03-2016, 05:42 AM
brinn brinn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 1
Default Pro Tools 10.3.10 Updated not supported by El Captain OS

Pro Tools 10.3.10 Updated not supported by El Captain OS

Hi, updated to El Captain as my Mc keeps crashing when updating the in update version of All the lions.

El Captain is a lot more stable but I need o update Pro Tools, in suggestions as to which version I can use without having to buy another update as I have updated all the way to 10 already?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-03-2016, 08:14 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,982
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3.10 Updated not supported by El Captain OS

If you are needing to upgrade to El Crapitan to get a stable system something is likely badly messed up on your computer. Hopefully you did a full clean install of El Crapitan not an insitu upgrade. Did you try first doing a full clean install/recovery of the OS your system was already running?

You need to purchase a Pro Tools 12 upgrade or reinstall a prior OS X version. You have to think about this stuff before making changes.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-2016, 10:02 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,046
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3.10 Updated not supported by El Captain OS

Why are we seemingly spammed by new joiners to the forum?
"Join Date June 2016".....
Maybe a mediatory read and test page to sift through the non-reading public.

Look Down... Help us help you.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APSF but Working Audio on HFS+
Pro Tools U-2019.5 MacOS 10.14.5
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire 7950 MacEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
Surround-music-design-creation.
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.
Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-05-2016, 01:27 AM
philip_purcell philip_purcell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 87
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3.10 Updated not supported by El Captain OS

10.3 is theoretically not supported by El Capitan, and can't be installed in the normal way due to an os version anomaly. However, I am successfully running 10.3 under El Capitan - simply got it on to my El Capitan system by doing a Time Machine restore of my old Mountain Lion system into my new El Capitan machine. Protools 10 came across and works with some very minor bugs.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-2016, 04:22 AM
houser houser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 657
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3.10 Updated not supported by El Captain OS

Quote:
Originally Posted by philip_purcell View Post
I am successfully running 10.3 under El Capitan - simply got it on to my El Capitan system by doing a Time Machine restore of my old Mountain Lion system into my new El Capitan machine. Protools 10 came across and works with some very minor bugs.
Philip, if you have a sec?
That's PT vanilla and not PT HD? Right?
Are you using the Core audio driver?
thanx
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-05-2016, 05:49 AM
philip_purcell philip_purcell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 87
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3.10 Updated not supported by El Captain OS

PT vanilla with Complete Production Toolkit. Not sure about core audio driver - would have to check but sounds familiar. It's been a while since I installed it. The only bug I can find is insert menus don't display until you run the cursor over them.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-05-2016, 06:08 AM
houser houser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 657
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3.10 Updated not supported by El Captain OS

Quote:
Originally Posted by philip_purcell View Post
PT vanilla with Complete Production Toolkit. Not sure about core audio driver - would have to check but sounds familiar. It's been a while since I installed it. The only bug I can find is insert menus don't display until you run the cursor over them.
Thanx Philip, appreciate it. I assume you are then not using avid hardware?
As for the menus. We all see the same bug on PT HD with Yosemite too.
That's workaroundable for a while at least Some have reported they work if you use a lesser desktop resolution in come cases.
As for HD, I don't think there is a working Core audio driver for the old Blue I/O hardware. That's the dead end as it stands for HD users wanting to go to El Capitan.
Not vital at all for me, but it does offer some good things.
Ah well. thanx again
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-05-2016, 06:15 AM
philip_purcell philip_purcell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 87
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3.10 Updated not supported by El Captain OS

I'm just using an M-Box. CPTK gives essentially HD functionality, but they discontinued it with 11/12. That's why I am keen to stay with 10. I would have to buy 12 HD to get the same features.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-05-2016, 10:42 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,075
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3.10 Updated not supported by El Captain OS

Quote:
Originally Posted by philip_purcell View Post
I'm just using an M-Box. CPTK gives essentially HD functionality, but they discontinued it with 11/12. That's why I am keen to stay with 10. I would have to buy 12 HD to get the same features.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
It's either but PT12 or downgrade if possible your OSX install. Should have really paid attention to compatibility documents and the many people here who post about trying to run PT10 on ElCrapitan or even Yosemite and are having issues. You have no one to blame but yourself and won't get pity from people here.

Sorry but them's the breaks, kid.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-05-2016, 04:13 PM
philip_purcell philip_purcell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 87
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3.10 Updated not supported by El Captain OS

I think you misunderstood my comment musicman691. I was just making the point that, despite what AVID say, PT10 is compatible with Yosemite/El Capitan. As I don't want to spend the big $ to get HD for my home setup, PT10 with CPTK running under El Capitan is a great solution. There are no serious compatibility issues that I have found. I am talking post-production. I've no idea if this works for music production.

The other important point is that PT12 vanilla is useless for post, since it lacks a lot of the really powerful automation and editing functions. PT10 with CPTK has all of those, so is more useful to me than PT12 vanilla.

Last edited by philip_purcell; 06-05-2016 at 04:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10HD 192io & OS X El Captain Soundtrack2life Pro Tools 10 0 01-08-2016 12:45 PM
[OT] Captain Pants... lemix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 45 12-03-2004 07:33 AM
Hey Captain Pants, you're in.... Cliffy_Boy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 28 08-10-2004 12:35 PM
O/T. Captain Rants...Come one Come all! Captain_Pants 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 35 02-05-2003 06:21 AM
need more power captain tinker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 04-24-2002 10:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com