Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2009, 03:47 PM
www www is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 27
Question Is there anyway to raise just the surround level?

Hello,

Anyone know of a method for raising just the volume, in dB, of the surrounds in an existing Pro Tools 5.1 session? By this I mean just an increase of the level of the LS and the RS in the 5.1 Master output of a Pro Tools 8.0.1. session, so the bounced mix will have more gain in the surrounds.

Otherwise I will just have to adjust the individual surround panners f/s on the audio tracks and auxs so as to send more gain in the direction of the surrounds. While this may sound acceptable (moving from "70" to "50") it does not meet the request of "Bring the surrounds up six or nine dB".

Am I missing something in the routing architecture that allows this? Any thoughts?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2009, 03:52 PM
S.w.A.t S.w.A.t is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 11
Default Re: Is there anyway to raise just the surround level?

you could split the 5.1 mix in to mono tracks and then juss put the volume up for the LS and the RS....and then drag it back in to a 5.1 audio track...
__________________
SUAT AYAS

Audio Engineer

www.melodika.com.tr
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2009, 04:11 PM
www www is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 27
Default Re: Is there anyway to raise just the surround level?

Sounds like a good idea!

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2009, 05:30 PM
TCDet TCDet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Detroit
Posts: 903
Default Re: Is there anyway to raise just the surround level?

Yes. Add a multi-mono "trim" to your surround master, then un-link and fine tune your outputs.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-23-2009, 05:43 AM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Metropolis
Posts: 2,370
Default Re: Is there anyway to raise just the surround level?

You can also do this on the master output with sub paths. In the IO setup, make a stereo sub path of the surround outputs, then put a master fader on it. No extra dsp, no additional delay, up to 12db of gain.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-23-2009, 06:43 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,482
Default Re: Is there anyway to raise just the surround level?

I´ve had nothing but trouble when automating un-linked multi-mono plugs. I tried this with the long delay plug to delay my surround signals on 5.0 atmos-tracks when desired but had nothing but trouble and unreliable automation playback doing this.

Maybe it was operator-error but I stopped doing this and rather sub-bus thw signal to do this in a less hidden manner.

Is this working for you guys well? I mean automating single channels in unlinked multi-mono-plugs?

Thanks,

frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.12 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-23-2009, 08:19 AM
TCDet TCDet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Detroit
Posts: 903
Default Re: Is there anyway to raise just the surround level?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Postman View Post
You can also do this on the master output with sub paths. In the IO setup, make a stereo sub path of the surround outputs, then put a master fader on it. No extra dsp, no additional delay, up to 12db of gain.
Thanks Postman!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-26-2009, 02:44 PM
Danny Caccavo Danny Caccavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,279
Default Re: Is there anyway to raise just the surround level?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Postman View Post
You can also do this on the master output with sub paths. In the IO setup, make a stereo sub path of the surround outputs, then put a master fader on it. No extra dsp, no additional delay, up to 12db of gain.
Just make sure that if you need to put a plug-in on one of those mono master tracks you put the same plug-in (or equiv delay) on the rest of the mono master tracks, or Delay Comp won't work. Yes, a master track uses no DSP, which means it's not a mixer point, which means no delay can automatically be applied to it. It WILL "transmit" delay information - it just can't receive it.

dc
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-30-2009, 01:54 PM
Tstein Tstein is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rocky Mountains
Posts: 93
Default Re: Is there anyway to raise just the surround level?

Frank,

Yes, PT 7 & 8 You can automated unlinked channels of a plug in. Though I think that some plugs seem to do this better than others.

Last edited by Tstein; 09-30-2009 at 01:56 PM. Reason: Left out some details
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raise Your Level HD Giveaway gearjunkie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 23 12-11-2009 10:15 AM
Level bug on surround bus? 7.3.1cs2 rhumphries Post - Surround - Video 3 07-23-2007 02:21 PM
Surround Volume Level Controllers... mazuroo Post - Surround - Video 3 08-30-2002 09:32 AM
Raise your hand if you like to edit at the sample level :) maphew 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 21 06-24-2002 07:30 PM
Mono surround monitoring level in a 5.1 room tomcat Tips & Tricks 1 12-09-2001 12:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com