Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2019, 07:38 AM
radcliff radcliff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ireland
Posts: 8
Default Xpand Content Not Found OSX

Hey,

So Im having big issues with PTF and not a great intro to the world of PT both on Windows10 and mac OS. I would like to focus on the macOS as that is my main system for other DAWs.

Quote:
Error:

THE FACTORY CONTENT WAS NOT FOUND:

/Applications/AIR Music Technology/Xpand!2

PLEASE LOCATE THE CONTENT FILE "Xpand2.big"
What I Tried:
1) The file "Xpand2.big" actually exists at the located path, but greyed out if you choose browse to file from the Error window pane.
2) I tried manually reinstalling the Xpand2
3) I uninstalled everything PTF and reinstalled but still the same issue.


Order of Install:

Pro_Tools_First_2019_5_Mac_105869
Avid_Complete_Plug-In_Bundle_18_10_Mac_105823_
Mini_Grand_2018_1_1_Mac_102990
Vacuum-18.1-Mac


System details:
macOS High Sierra v10.13.6
i5 2.3Ghz
16Gb ram

The system is very clean and all other DAWs and other apps work great with no complaints outside running our of steam on heavy track mixes.


Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2019, 08:43 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,164
Default Re: Xpand Content Not Found OSX

When a file is grayed out in MacOS, it means it is not accessible, which would explain why Xpand would not see it.

I'm not sure why this would happen since the installer takes care of placing the files.
Things you can try are making sure you are an admin on the logged in account when installing. Deleting the file manually then try installing again.

If the file is not corrupt, there are ways of making the file active from the terminal window. It's probably best to search for a Mac article to help you with that though.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2019, 05:28 AM
radcliff radcliff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ireland
Posts: 8
Default Re: Xpand Content Not Found OSX

Quote:
Originally Posted by junkgear View Post
When a file is grayed out in MacOS, it means it is not accessible, which would explain why Xpand would not see it.

I'm not sure why this would happen since the installer takes care of placing the files.
Things you can try are making sure you are an admin on the logged in account when installing. Deleting the file manually then try installing again.

If the file is not corrupt, there are ways of making the file active from the terminal window. It's probably best to search for a Mac article to help you with that though.
Im looking at permission for this and also the file path..


Code:
#This is is a sanitised portion of the Pro Tools mac os log output.

12:24 Pro Tools First Warning: Unix Error

12:26 MacOs Error -67014

# 12:30 Dashboard GUI shows to user

12:30   HALC_ShellObject.cpp:212:HasProperty:  HALC_ShellObject::HasProperty: initial inner method call failed, Error: 560947818 (!obj)

12:32 Mac Os Error -67050

#Activity Monitor shows pro Tools First using 80% of CPU

I have now removed all Avid Software and going to give it another try again today!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2019, 08:07 AM
radcliff radcliff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ireland
Posts: 8
Default Re: Xpand Content Not Found OSX

After Reinstall of PTF and reinstall of Xpand!2 still have the same issue so went into the logs again and at the end of the Pro Tools Log;


com.apple.securityd
Code:
16:01 Pro Tools First: failed to fetch /Library/Application Support/Avid/Audio/Plug-Ins/Xpand!2.aaxplugin/Contents/_CodeSignature/CodeEntitlements error=-10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-2019, 12:12 PM
radcliff radcliff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ireland
Posts: 8
Default Re: Xpand Content Not Found OSX

So I think I worked it out this might help others if run into same issue. Its actually ridiculous!

Issue:
THE FACTORY CONTENT WAS NOT FOUND:
/Applications/AIR Music Technology/Xpand!2
PLEASE LOCATE THE CONTENT FILE "Xpand2.big"


Cause:
macOS drives are mostly formatted with Mac OS Extended (Case-sensitive, Journaled).

So Pro Tools First app is looking for the file Xpand2.big

But the Installer has the file and installed XPand2.big

So logically it is not @ /Applications/AIR Music Technology/Xpand!2


Solution:

rename the file …. Xpand2.big => works!

In the world of unix/linux/macos "p" is not "P"

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xpand 2 -THE FACTORY CONTENT WAS NOT FOUND JayRay Virtual Instruments 2 04-25-2013 11:45 AM
Factory Content Was Not Found gervaisservice 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-04-2012 02:25 PM
Strike - Content not found xq3js Virtual Instruments 18 09-29-2009 12:50 PM
Xpand 2 'Factory Content Not Found' RussUK Virtual Instruments 0 01-03-2009 01:58 AM
"Content Not Found" after PT upgrade gdugan Virtual Instruments 0 07-10-2008 02:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com