Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2017, 07:37 PM
SludgePanda SludgePanda is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 4
Default Switching from Mac to PC and upgrading PT

I've been running PT7 on my IMac for the past 10 years or so and my computer has finally quit on me. I'm looking into having a PC built and I'm trying to figure out the best way to tackle this transition. I realize that I'll probably have to upgrade from PT7 since I doubt it's compatible with anything current, but I have a DIGI003 that I'd like to continue using. I see that the 003 is compatible up to PT12.7.1, so I'll get that or an older version. Has anyone gone though a transition similar to this? I'm also looking for recommendations on what components to look for or avoid with my build. Last time I went though this it was a total nightmare with compatibility, so any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2017, 01:26 AM
chrismeraz chrismeraz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 202
Default Re: Switching from Mac to PC and upgrading PT

Build your own. Choose a form factor (rack mount for example) and buy a case. Get a fanless power supply, 500W is fine. Choose an Intel processor. Then pick a motherboard that matches and at least 16GB RAM. Grab two or three SSD’s and a copy of Windows 7 or 10 and there ya go. Oh, get a motherboard that supports Thunderbolt.


Envoyé de mon iPhone en utilisant Tapatalk
__________________
Pro Tools 12.7
Apollo Firewire
Windows 7 x64
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2017, 10:59 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,603
Default Re: Switching from Mac to PC and upgrading PT

Have a look at the i7 Thread in the Windows forum, ask questions, put up a list of your parts, get opinions, advice, suggestions. I did that four years ago and my PC is till going great and will for several more years. Also, once built, be sure to use a backup imaging program like Macrium Reflect (there's a free version) and do all the Avid optimizations and more.

And be sure to get Trasher, and if you don't want to build it yourself, want a computer built for Pro Tools from the ground up and fully supported, try guitardom's company.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-07-2017, 11:35 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,441
Default Re: Switching from Mac to PC and upgrading PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
Have a look at the i7 Thread in the Windows forum, ask questions, put up a list of your parts, get opinions, advice, suggestions. I did that four years ago and my PC is till going great and will for several more years. Also, once built, be sure to use a backup imaging program like Macrium Reflect (there's a free version) and do all the Avid optimizations and more.

And be sure to get Trasher, and if you don't want to build it yourself, want a computer built for Pro Tools from the ground up and fully supported, try guitardom's company.
+1. That i7 build thread is what I studied when I built my "ancient" i7 rig (which is still a stable workhorse). I'm sure I'll upgrade everything ... one of these days !!!
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 64 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-930 / 12GB / 3 int WD Black / PT 9.0.3 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 64 / HP ProBook 4730s + SIIG FW / i7-2630 / 8GB / ext USB2 drive / PT 9.0.3 / Focusrite Pro 40
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-10-2017, 08:45 AM
SludgePanda SludgePanda is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 4
Default Re: Switching from Mac to PC and upgrading PT

Great! Thanks! I'll get on this stuff and hopefully get something built without too much pain. Thanks for the input.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching Audio Interfaces in PT, for recording a multipac mixer then switching back? TNM Pro Tools 12 Discussion 23 08-28-2017 05:14 AM
Upgrading from pt9 to pt11 and upgrading macbook pro daylomusic Pro Tools 11 Discussion 0 12-20-2013 03:35 PM
Upgrading interface without upgrading software? michaelkevin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-16-2008 09:37 PM
Switching Macs while upgrading - A Checklist Vogger 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-11-2008 07:24 PM
Will upgrading OSX necessitate upgrading ProTools? OBwan50 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-27-2006 02:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com