Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2017, 05:16 AM
Ed@bersey.com Ed@bersey.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Shaftesbury, UK
Posts: 9
Default PT 12.8.2 Virtual Instrument latency

Hi All

I'm a long time PT user and know it well but have only just really started using VIs in anger. I've always experienced latency when monitoring VIs but worked around it by playing notes in hearing my keyboards own sound and recording the midi, then playing back the midi to the required Vi and getting what I want. However now I am working with better artists and the work arounds won't wash anymore. I have to be able to have good VI live playback while recording with sub 10ms latency at the fingers.

What is very annoying is that I recently installed Logic and had a dabble and I don't seem to have any delay issues when using VIs in there. I've not tested it on a big session, but it seems so much quicker. I LOVE PT and would be very reluctant to do projects in Logic just so I can reduce latency - there must be a way - please help.

I think I have a really strong setup in terms of hardware, yet I can't seem to configure things to solve this problem. My typical scenario is that I work on a session with an artist - tracking say drums (8 mics) , guitar bass, and may end up with 20 or so tracks all using various plugins. THEN they say oh lets add some cool keys/synth so out come the VIs at which point I can't really run the session at buffers=32 as I'll get too much crackle due to the load of existing tracks and plugs. I can maybe get away with buffers= 64 or 128, but at these setting I get too much latency on the keys before hearing the instrument.

I happen to use UAD interface hardware and use lots of their plugs as well as host based ones, I'd have thought because their plugs run in their external DSP that this would help me but I still have the issue.

I could just always track keys first - but life and creativity isnt always like that! How do you guys get around this issue... and don't say use Logic!

Some of my instruments are pretty heavy on CPU but even the light ones are too slow. Help.

Setup:
Mac Pro - 12 core 2.7Ghz
System disk 1 TB PCIE SSD with OS and PT installed
Projects disk 1 TB external Thunderbolt SSD
RAM 32GB
Interface: 2 x UAD Apollo 8p
Keyboard Controller: Akai Professional 49 (USB midi)

PT Payback Engine settings
H/W Buffer: 32-128 as described above
Host Engine: Ignore Errors during playback TICKED
Minimize additional latency TICKED
Dynamic Plug in Processing TICKED
Disk Playback Cache size: 10GB

In Options menu
Delay compensation is TICKED
Low latency monitoring NOT ticked
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2017, 05:20 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,237
Default Re: PT 12.8.2 Virtual Instrument latency

We also use several Apollo interfaces and lots of VI and have never had this issue and all three of us here are 20+ years piano players so we would notice if we had the problem you have.

So tell us what VI you have issues with and go from there.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2017, 06:21 AM
Ed@bersey.com Ed@bersey.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Shaftesbury, UK
Posts: 9
Default Re: PT 12.8.2 Virtual Instrument latency

Hi Christopher

Thanks for replying - and you have given me hope...

VSTIs I have and want to use are:

Spectrasonics - Keyscape
Spectrasonics - Omnisphere
Hybrid
Vienna Instruments Pro
Plus the stock stuff...
Xpand2!
Mini Grand
DB33
Vacum etc

I realise Keyscape and Omnisphere are pretty CPU heavy.
If I deselect delay compensation in the options menu I get no latency.. but the tracks of course goes out of synch on playback.

My UAD config is:
Limit DSP Load to: 100%
DSP Loadlock - TICKED
Extra Buffering TICKED
Release all UAD DSP resources on AU bypad NOT ticked
Force use of logic pros live mode on tracks containing UAD plugs: NOT ticked
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2017, 02:29 AM
Tobias Eichelberg Tobias Eichelberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: in front of my computer
Posts: 325
Default Re: PT 12.8.2 Virtual Instrument latency

Have you tried rolling back to Pro Tools 12.7.1? I have experienced serious performance problems with PT 12.8.x on my MacPro, PT 12.7.1 is considerably better with software instruments and perforance.

In my opinion PT 12.8.x is a total mess and a big waste of time.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-06-2017, 10:52 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,984
Default Re: PT 12.8.2 Virtual Instrument latency

Running 12.8.2 here and have no latency issues playing VI's from a midi keyboard(Motif es8). I'd start looking at other sources of latency(granted, I don't run UA Apollo and never track with UA plugins).

Re Keyscape being a hog, I totally agree, but it doesn't have latency here, it simply causes cpu spikes(and will stop playback). My solution is to record midi with MiniGrand or Lounge Lizard(Wurly or rhodes sounds) and once the midi performance is good, swap the VI plugin to Keyscape and use Track Commit
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-06-2017, 02:50 PM
Ed@bersey.com Ed@bersey.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Shaftesbury, UK
Posts: 9
Default Re: PT 12.8.2 Virtual Instrument latency

Thanks Dave

I've been through 3 UAD interfaces plus firewire -> thunderbolt so I suspect that journey and legacy of drivers hasn't helped my issue.

This is beginning to feel like a full reinstall ....joy!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-06-2017, 08:59 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,984
Default Re: PT 12.8.2 Virtual Instrument latency

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed@bersey.com View Post
Thanks Dave

I've been through 3 UAD interfaces plus firewire -> thunderbolt so I suspect that journey and legacy of drivers hasn't helped my issue.

This is beginning to feel like a full reinstall ....joy!
Ugh! I feel your pain. To lessen the torture in the future, grab a big external drive and save drive images at several stages. I did the following:
image 1-just the OS installed and tweaked according to Avid's recommendations
image 2-after Pro Tools and all AVID software is installed
image 3-after drivers and 3rd party plugins
image 4-save this one after everything has been solid for 3-4 months.
This way, in the future, if something hoses your rig, restore from the relevant image(its waaaaay easier than starting from scratch again)
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boom Virtual Instrument was "Unauthorized" during virtual instruments download Singer1212 General Discussion 1 12-29-2014 12:10 PM
Virtual instrument latency -- not! DAWgEAR Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 2 06-14-2013 10:48 AM
Virtual instrument latency problems!!!!! ScottFB Virtual Instruments 6 07-23-2007 09:22 AM
Low latency monitoring with virtual instrument... gitan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-03-2005 08:43 PM
virtual instrument latency joelsimone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-18-2002 08:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com