Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2006, 10:57 AM
polaredit polaredit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 26
Default Tempo from analog drum machine doesn\'t equal click

Any help or replies appreciated,

Im setting up a click track at 95.
Setting up snap to measure.

Record analog drum machine (Boss Jamstation JS-5) at same tempo 95

PROBLEM: I check measure 4/1/00 Im dead on, Check measure 97, I'm off.

somethings up, is it the drum machine or do I have a setting wrong?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2006, 02:57 PM
Jeff Ulmer Jeff Ulmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Canada
Posts: 602
Default Re: Tempo from analog drum machine doesn\'t equal click

Unfortunately you have discovered what happens when you don't use a common clock signal - things don't sync up due to minute (or not so minute) variances in the clock.

If your drum machine can receive Midi Time Code, you should be able to sync it to ProTools - set the MIDI timing to remote (assuming you have a MIDI interface).

If you have recordings in the drum machine (from analog sources, not just MIDI or internal sounds being played back) you could record a drum machine generated click track back into ProTools and use the Identify Beat function (not sure if this is available in LE) to figure out the correct tempo, but you would need to transfer all the parts in the machine at the same time, since the timing could shift.
__________________
Recording artist/Engineer/Producer
Waves beta tester
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boom Drum Machine as click - how do i? Johnrg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-10-2009 02:26 PM
Timing Problem with PT Click and Drum Machine paul Neathery 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 05-28-2007 02:23 PM
Sync drum machine to click track espada3 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 08-09-2005 09:58 AM
Newbie query on tempo, midi & drum machine James Young 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-29-2004 05:48 AM
Matching drum machine and PT tempo/beats Jay_Mora 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-30-2001 03:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com