Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2008, 04:30 PM
zuma zuma is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 24
Default Would you have bought M-Powered instead?

Given the larger selection of hardware options available with the M-Audio gear, would any of the Mbox 2 users have gone the M-Powered way instead. If not, I'd be interested in your reasons.

I am buying my first Pro Tools setup and have been looking at the Mbox 2 mini as I will use a separate mixer for input. ( I do realize the 2 input limit even with the mixer when using the mini )

Looking at the upgrade path though it seems as though I may be making a mistake with the mini as there seems to be several upgrade options available at different price points with M-powered. With the Digi stuff you pretty much go from the Mbox 2 options to the Digi 003 and that's it.

The mini is bottom line the cheapest way for me to get into pro tools, but the M-Powered version would get me into a firewire 96khz interface cheaper than the Digi options.

Any input would be appreciated as I am starting to feel bogged down with options.

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2008, 04:54 PM
erthquake erthquake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 372
Default Re: Would you have bought M-Powered instead?

I'd recommend getting a used 002 Rack, then when you can afford it, send it in to Black Lion to get it modded. I just got my 002 console modded by them, and it's awesome. I only wish I had the rack version so I could've gotten the HD mod. And today I just got an email from them announcing a new "Signature" mod for the 002...rack version only
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CAN ANYONE HELP? :( I bought M Powered 8 and can't even install off the disk! bezley Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 7 07-31-2010 11:59 PM
Avid! I bought LE, an M-Audio interface, I ain't buying M-Powered as well! Upgrade? RhysC General Discussion 9 07-23-2010 03:56 AM
Just bought M-Powered Pro Tools 8, but..... franzbri Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 9 05-06-2010 01:20 PM
If we bought M-Powered 7.4 at a certain time, do we get a free upgrade? theaero Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 01-26-2009 10:50 AM
any Australians bought M Powered yet? hiphopsupamix Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 06-03-2005 08:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com