Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2022, 01:41 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,666
Default Pro Tools and Presonus Faderport

I'm picking up a used Faderport 16 tomorrow, to replace my ancient Command|8. I've enjoyed learning to use a control surface with PT the last couple of years, and together with SSL UC1 it's helped me mix better with less use of screen and mouse, more like we used to do 20+ years ago.

I'm hoping it will work as well as or better than commmand8. With more faders, maybe it will help with controlling plugins when I can see 16 parameters at once, and more info/characters on its LCD.

I've done my research, and I think I have it covered, that it will take the place of C8 pretty easily. Just posting this in case anyone has info or tips about anything I should be aware of. HUI still OK?
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (Reinstatement on hold for M3 macs and AS native PT)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.

Last edited by Ben Jenssen; 05-22-2022 at 02:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-22-2022, 02:02 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,826
Default Re: Pro Tools and Presonus Faderport

ever check out V-Control by Neyrinck ?
https://neyrinck.com/v-control-pro/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-22-2022, 02:34 PM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,213
Default Re: Pro Tools and Presonus Faderport

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
I'm picking up a used Faderport 16 tomorrow, to replace my ancient Command|8. I've enjoyed learning to use a control surface with PT the last couple of years, and together with SSL UC1 it's helped me mix better with less use of screen and mouse, more like we used to 20+ years ago.

I'm hoping it will work as well as or better than commmand8. With more faders, maybe it will help with controlling plugins when I can see 16 parameters at once, and more info/characters on its LCD.

I've done my research, and I think I have it covered, that it will take the place of C8 pretty easily. Just posting this in case anyone has info or tips about anything I should be aware of. HUI still OK?
I have a Faderport 8 and original Faderport that I use with PT and Studio One. It works fine under HUI. Took me a while to getting used to the big knob to navigate around. Like anything eventually you develop a flow.
__________________
Pro Tools, Studio One Pro
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max 64GB-1TB NVME
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Presonus Quantum
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
2020 Macbook Pro 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2022, 02:35 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,666
Default Re: Pro Tools and Presonus Faderport

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweakhead View Post
ever check out V-Control by Neyrinck ?
https://neyrinck.com/v-control-pro/
No. But thanks for the suggestion.
After a quick look it doesn't seem like what I need. An application that lets me control some things from ipad or iphone? Even if it seems to be a kind of extention for my command8, the whole screen thing is not for me. I have trouble with motoric ability and small touch screens are the worst. I tried Avid Control, no go.

I need knobs and faders.
But thanks.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (Reinstatement on hold for M3 macs and AS native PT)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-22-2022, 02:37 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,666
Default Re: Pro Tools and Presonus Faderport

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradch00 View Post
I have a Faderport 8 and original Faderport that I use with PT and Studio One. It works fine under HUI. Took me a while to getting used to the big knob to navigate around. Like anything eventually you develop a flow.
Thank you.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (Reinstatement on hold for M3 macs and AS native PT)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-22-2022, 04:37 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,295
Default Re: Pro Tools and Presonus Faderport

Re neyrinck software, the single selling point for me is the bit where whatever function your mouse is hovering over, the faderport knob will control That's the only reason I am retiring my original faderport for the V2 model(though I am still miffed that they removed the buttons for selecting MIX/EDIT windows)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-22-2022, 05:09 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,666
Default Re: Pro Tools and Presonus Faderport

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Re neyrinck software, the single selling point for me is the bit where whatever function your mouse is hovering over, the faderport knob will control)
It's still staring at a screen, though, and one half of your hands occupied with controlling the mouse, the other on the knob. You might as well adjust with the mouse and have the other hand free. Less mouse and screen, more buttons and faders, that's what I seek, and have already found to a degree, with command8 and UC1.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (Reinstatement on hold for M3 macs and AS native PT)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-22-2022, 06:07 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,826
Default Re: Pro Tools and Presonus Faderport

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
I need knobs and faders.
I should have written V-Control Pro. (not the freebie for iPad)

That's what it does. Hardware control. That's why they have a picture of a Command 8, Pro Control, and Control 24 on the front page.
This software allowed me to get my Pro Control running with the latest version of Pro Tools. Fader, Mutes, Solos, Transport etc.
You only get a 4-character scribble strip in Pro Tools, but they have managed to get Logic working with an 8-character scribble strip.
Demo Video showing it with Studio One (you can use just about any DAW you can think of Cubase, Nuendo, Studio One, DP, etc):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g8gQ4y9p6Vs


Pro Tools Expert Review:
https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/pro...o-v26-released


They have a demo right there on the Neyrinck website. Enter your iLok ID and they will send you a code. Try it and see if it does what you want.

Last edited by Tweakhead; 05-22-2022 at 06:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-22-2022, 07:40 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,826
Default Re: Pro Tools and Presonus Faderport

I cannot edit my post above (I get a DUC error), so here's another correction :
I should written "V-Control Pro Bundle Full License". That's the one I got for $199 on sale, and I can use it with just about any DAW.
Neyrinck's website appears to be down right now according to downforeveryoneorjustme.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-22-2022, 08:26 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 942
Default Re: Pro Tools and Presonus Faderport

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweakhead View Post
I should have written V-Control Pro. (not the freebie for iPad)

That's what it does. Hardware control. That's why they have a picture of a Command 8, Pro Control, and Control 24 on the front page.
This software allowed me to get my Pro Control running with the latest version of Pro Tools. Fader, Mutes, Solos, Transport etc.
Well the Command 8 is still supported by PT unlike the Pro Control. So V-Control doesn't apply here.

Ben the Command 8 is much more integrated and functional than HUI. And much greater fader resolution. But HUI can still get the job done. You should still be able to do a custom plugin map. It's still as functional as it ever was just with the same restrictions. Just like with C8 if you use Eucon you'll lose metering.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help w/Presonus Faderport Please!! Vlad Drac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-31-2012 02:37 AM
Presonus Faderport Installation in Pro Tools 9 ericlawrence macOS 3 12-25-2011 11:36 PM
Presonus FaderPort with Pro Tools. isaac12002cn Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 13 07-17-2011 11:34 AM
Help needed- Problem with Presonus Faderport and Pro Tools 8 Cal D Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 05-14-2011 07:00 PM
OT: presonus faderport jlcnyc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-16-2006 08:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com