Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Old 06-13-2011, 08:32 AM

Default Yet ANOTHER Mbox 3 Mini "Unable to Locate Hardware"

OK I'm running out of ideas here. I have searched through the forum and read lots of threads (most are either Mbox Pro or windows related) on the whole "Unable to locate hardware" issue. I have been using my Mbox Mini on my iMac i3 for almost 2 months now and so far it has worked great. Now all of a sudden it cannot locate the hardware. I have uninstalled/reinstalled PT LE 8.0.4, downloaded the new drivers...still nothing.

Last night I tried reinstalling PT again, and upon restart I plugged the Mbox hardware in like the instructions say. Then when the computer powered all the way up to desktop, the LEDs were flickering, flashing different colors and going crazy! Then normal blue light on, but still no hardware connection. I can even select the Mbox Mini in my sound preferences, but as soon as I close the dialog box, it goes back to internal speakers! I'm going to call Tech support tonight but figured maybe someone has an idea? Kind of wishing I would have gone with the Apogee Duet now
Old 06-13-2011, 08:42 AM

Default Re: Yet ANOTHER Mbox 3 Mini "Unable to Locate Hardware"

maybe, the extra driver is the problem, it belongs to PT 9, so right now, you've got two different drivers installed for the same device, that might be reason enough for it to go bananas.

Try to erase that extra driver, also get the latest PT update and see, what happens. good luck
Old 06-13-2011, 08:44 AM

Oh, and are you running anything else in the background ? PT doesn't recognize hardware, which is captured by another application.
Old 06-13-2011, 09:14 AM

Quote: