Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Pro Tools Express on Mac OS X

Old 11-01-2014, 05:35 PM

Default PT Express - No Sound

Hello everyone.
I'm still new to all this but I bought the Avid Fast Track Solo that included Pro Tools Express and I have my headphones plugged into the jack but I can't hear any sounds. Will someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong? This whole situation has been very discouraging.
Old 11-01-2014, 05:50 PM

Default Re: PT Express - No Sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fly72 View Post
Hello everyone.
I'm still new to all this but I bought the Avid Fast Track Solo that included Pro Tools Express and I have my headphones plugged into the jack but I can't hear any sounds. Will someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong? This whole situation has been very discouraging.
What you are most likely doing wrong is not reading/following the documentation. THAT WAS EASY!

You cannot random-walk you way though this easily, you need to read/understand the documentation. Make sure you have followed all install and systems optimization instructions (almost none of those are obvious to a new user) Follow the documentation and basic beginner examples your documentation provides, especially if that includes tutorials or sample sessions, they are a great way to get started.

A good starting point besides those examples and sample sessions is to create a new Pro Tools session, create a **stereo** **audio** (not instrument, not MIDI, etc.) track (Track>New) and then drag and drop your favorite MP3 or similar audio file onto that track. Get basic play-back working before trying anything more complex like recording audio or playing with virtual instruments.

There are also many great beginner videos on You Tube.