Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2010, 10:14 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,038
Default Frequently used sounds

I'm working on a project which is a part 2 to something I did a few months ago. There are a few sounds I layered in the original session which I'd like to use again for continuity, is there any way I can copy and paste sounds between the sessions, or use Digibase Pro to achieve this?

I'd really rather not bounce parts of the audio or export session data as they're only small regions.

Cheers in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2010, 10:21 AM
pindebraende pindebraende is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 459
Default Re: Frequently used sounds

Cant you just "export as files" for each individual region, from the regions list menu?

Best wishes,

Mikkel
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2010, 11:11 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: Frequently used sounds

I could, but then it'd duplicate all the files I already have. Pyramix has a really ncie feature where you can select any audio regions you want, drag them in to the library which will group them all together in one file, then in any new sessions you just drag and drop that one file back and voila, all the original sounds are there.

Just wondered is there's any way Digibase Pro can do something similar.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2010, 11:26 AM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,807
Default Re: Frequently used sounds

I'd look at using Region Groups. You can export and import them. Drag and drop from Digibase Browser or Finder.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2010, 03:14 PM
jraabe jraabe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 43
Default Re: Frequently used sounds

Why not just copy/separate the sounds you want to use again onto some new tracks in your original session, then in your new session, "import session data" and grab those tracks?

If you're worried about duplicating the files, just link to the source on import...

If I remember correctly, region groups don't carry any volume automation with them... not sure if that's important to you or not.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-20-2010, 05:23 AM
JWalkerPostAudio JWalkerPostAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 439
Default Re: Frequently used sounds

I would also suggest copying to new tracks and using import session data. Another solution could be dragging the sounds to a new catalog in the digibrowser.

-Justin
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-20-2010, 08:56 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: Frequently used sounds

Thanks for that. Is it possible to drag sounds from the time line to a new catalog in digibase? Tried it but doesn't want to play ball.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-21-2010, 03:19 AM
JWalkerPostAudio JWalkerPostAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 439
Default Re: Frequently used sounds

No I don't think you can, but a workaround would be to do a "export region as files" (cmnd+shift+k on selected audio) to an easily accessible open folder in the digibase browser and then drag to a new catalog.

-Justin
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-21-2010, 05:42 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: Frequently used sounds

Quote:
Originally Posted by JWalkerPostAudio View Post
No I don't think you can, but a workaround would be to do a "export region as files" (cmnd+shift+k on selected audio) to an easily accessible open folder in the digibase browser and then drag to a new catalog.

-Justin

Nice one, thanks for the tip and the civil manner in which you gave it, unlike so many on here!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools 9 Crashing frequently Ezzycam macOS 0 04-10-2012 06:30 PM
Hitting the wall... all too frequently fman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 05-14-2011 07:31 PM
my new iMac crashes frequently lounis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-01-2008 01:41 PM
Anyone frequently move sessions between xp and osx? McGas Tips & Tricks 6 03-30-2008 09:03 AM
Mac OSX 10.3.4/ProTools LE 6.4 crashing frequently craigh 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-02-2004 11:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com