Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2017, 08:00 PM
djendeavour77 djendeavour77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 11
Default Focusrite Clarett 8 pre issues

I am having problems with PT recognizing my focusrite clarett 8pre interface. I have PT vs 10.3.10. I have recently rebuilt my entire system. I have a new Dell with a Xeon E3-1535 processor 2.9GHz with 32 gigs of RAM running windows 10 64 bit. PT is only recognizing my audio card in the laptop and will not recognize the focusrite. I tried starting PT holding down the N key and that didn't work. My laptop has Thunderboldt 3 and I bought the dongle to convert down to thunderboldt 2 that is on my focusrite. Any help would be great as my computer genius son is back off to college.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2017, 08:39 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,782
Default Re: Focusrite Clarett 8 pre issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by djendeavour77 View Post
I am having problems with PT recognizing my focusrite clarett 8pre interface. I have PT vs 10.3.10. I have recently rebuilt my entire system. I have a new Dell with a Xeon E3-1535 processor 2.9GHz with 32 gigs of RAM running windows 10 64 bit. PT is only recognizing my audio card in the laptop and will not recognize the focusrite. I tried starting PT holding down the N key and that didn't work. My laptop has Thunderboldt 3 and I bought the dongle to convert down to thunderboldt 2 that is on my focusrite. Any help would be great as my computer genius son is back off to college.
Did you install the Focusrite driver??
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-27-2017, 09:08 PM
djendeavour77 djendeavour77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 11
Default Re: Focusrite Clarett 8 pre issues

Yes. I get this error message: The selected ASIO audio device could not be initialized. Please choose another audio device. It shows the focusrite as either a thunderboldt or USB interface I have tried both options and it still gives me the error message above.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2017, 12:28 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,013
Default Re: Focusrite Clarett 8 pre issues

Hey Buddy

Look at this thread here as JC had the similar issues you have and the beta driver seem to have solved his problem with connection aswell as the TB3-TB2 you mention.

Link to thread here:
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=395935

Link beta driver:
http://beta.focusrite.com/

Let us know how you get on. Best Wishes / Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2017, 08:09 PM
djendeavour77 djendeavour77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 11
Default Re: Focusrite Clarett 8 pre issues

I tried that as well and I'm still getting that ASIO error message. However, if I select the eleven rack and arm a mic on that channel I get a signal going through the focusrite clarett but i can only here it on my laptop speakers. PT apparently wants to only recognize my sound card in my laptop. Is there anyway to override this to see if it will then recognize my focusrite?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-28-2017, 08:15 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,782
Default Re: Focusrite Clarett 8 pre issues

You have to go into the Control Panel and be sure the interface for Pro Tools you need is NOT selected as the default playback device. Then in Pro Tools under setup > Playback Engine, select the Focusrite.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Focusrite Clarett Windows Running Well :-) junkgear Third Party Interfaces 7 03-19-2018 08:23 AM
Focusrite Clarett 8PreX Pad TrentWilliams Third Party Interfaces 5 07-16-2017 11:22 AM
Focusrite Clarett 2Pre/Clarett Octopre w/PT11 shultzee13 Pro Tools 11 0 03-24-2017 09:08 PM
FS: Focusrite Clarett 8Pre $625 Shipped joepopp Buy & Sell 0 01-20-2017 07:45 PM
Focusrite Clarett 8 Pre X Cowboy Bob Third Party Interfaces 31 03-12-2016 05:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com