Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2018, 08:54 PM
jeffmr4 jeffmr4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa / U.S.
Posts: 3
Default Issues with Pro Tools 10.13.4

I've read that there are some issues with Pro Tools 2018/12 and the latest version of macOS. 'Serious cpu issues' are mentioned. Just curious what those issues might be. Cpu maxing out, not processing quickly enough, etc.

I haven't found anywhere that explains how to downgrade and I don't want to install from scratch.

I've been using Pro Tools First on it without issue.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2018, 10:01 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Issues with Pro Tools 10.13.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmr4 View Post
I've read that there are some issues with Pro Tools 2018/12 and the latest version of macOS. 'Serious cpu issues' are mentioned. Just curious what those issues might be. Cpu maxing out, not processing quickly enough, etc.

I haven't found anywhere that explains how to downgrade and I don't want to install from scratch.

I've been using Pro Tools First on it without issue.
Just curious, what buffer do you run first at?

As far as I understand it, there are cpu spikes/dropout issues with 10.13.4 and higher, and buffers *under* 128 at 44/48K, or under 256 at 88/96K, or 512 at 192K
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2018, 12:29 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,794
Default Re: Issues with Pro Tools 10.13.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmr4 View Post
I've read that there are some issues with Pro Tools 2018/12 and the latest version of macOS. 'Serious cpu issues' are mentioned. Just curious what those issues might be. Cpu maxing out, not processing quickly enough, etc.

I haven't found anywhere that explains how to downgrade and I don't want to install from scratch.

I've been using Pro Tools First on it without issue.
It is still only July 2018. Protools 2018/12 isn't expected to ship for another 5 months or so.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.13.6 running Protools 2018.7.0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-28-2018, 09:49 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 136
Default Re: Issues with Pro Tools 10.13.4

just finished installing PT2018.4 on my new MBP (listed in my signature) basically now I'm running the latest mOS High Sierra 10.13.6 plus the latest sup update as of three days ago. I have finished installing as mentioned PT2018.4 plus all the add-ons and plugins that you get with PT. I then installed the "Additional Value Content included with your software" which is I understand the only part of the 10/11/12 bundle that is not covered by the perpetual lic. seem to be around $40 per year for what you get seem pretty reasonable.

issues I came across..... install went easy and without fuss, I did all the required optimisation and shortcut disabling as per installation instructions. I downloaded the demo to test it with. ran the demo once and then got the 6011? error about buffer size, changed buffer from 256 to 512 haven't seen that error since. apart from that have an interesting glitch which I would possibly say but can't confirm, is equipment specific. it seems the 4 thunderbolt ports on my MBP are paired to 2 controllers (maybe called something else) and the iLok dongle and my UR44 don't like to sit together on the same pair, PT won't recognise or see the iLok and the MBP won't see the UR44 (status light keeps flashing, solid = connected) plugging either on seperate pairs of thunderbolt ports fixed the issue. not sure if that is a bug or just physics.


all in all apart from the minor issues mentioned above PT2018.4 on MBP 2018 running mOS High Sierra 10.13.6 + latest sup seems thus far rock solid. Over the last day or so I have managed to do more testing and recording mostly laying down guitar and keys and such all without issue. I like the over all look of PT on a Mac too.
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 +sup1 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’d to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2018.7, Steinberg UR44, add Wishlist here....
——————————————————————————————————————-—————
Toshiba Notebook, intel(R) Core(TM) i5 M430 @ 2.27GHz, 4Gb RAM (yup chug chug)
Win 7 64bit SP1, Pro Tools 10

Last edited by xrekcor; 07-28-2018 at 10:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-28-2018, 10:51 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,082
Default Re: Issues with Pro Tools 10.13.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrekcor View Post
just finished installing PT2018.7
What are you going on about?

There is no Pro Tools 2018.7 released.
Are you taking about the Application Manager? That has a 2018.7 but has little to nothing to do with Pro Tools itself.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.7, HDX 3, MTRX, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-28-2018, 10:53 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 136
Default Re: Issues with Pro Tools 10.13.4

ok I thought it was an update sorry.... ok I see....silly me haha
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 +sup1 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’d to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2018.7, Steinberg UR44, add Wishlist here....
——————————————————————————————————————-—————
Toshiba Notebook, intel(R) Core(TM) i5 M430 @ 2.27GHz, 4Gb RAM (yup chug chug)
Win 7 64bit SP1, Pro Tools 10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-28-2018, 10:55 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,082
Default Re: Issues with Pro Tools 10.13.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrekcor View Post
I then installed the "Additional Value Content included with your software" which is I understand the only part of the 10/11/12 bundle that is not covered by the perpetual lic. seem to be around $40 per year for what you get seem pretty reasonable.
Some of the Additional Value Content is not perpetual and part of the subscription. Not all. The First Air and Xpand2 are perpetual.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.7, HDX 3, MTRX, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-28-2018, 10:59 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 136
Default Re: Issues with Pro Tools 10.13.4

When I spoke with the avid support guy he told me that the additional, as I said earlier is the only part not covered by the perpetual lic. Not sure what your products page looks like but on mine The First Air and Xpand2 isn’t in the additional section.
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 +sup1 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’d to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2018.7, Steinberg UR44, add Wishlist here....
——————————————————————————————————————-—————
Toshiba Notebook, intel(R) Core(TM) i5 M430 @ 2.27GHz, 4Gb RAM (yup chug chug)
Win 7 64bit SP1, Pro Tools 10

Last edited by xrekcor; 07-29-2018 at 03:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools and Hi Rez Issues jphoenix44 Pro Tools 12 1 08-09-2018 08:41 PM
Issues with Pro Tools LE 8.0.1 Jayge 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-12-2010 08:28 PM
Pro Tools LE 8.0.3 + OS 10.6.2 issues NGL 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-01-2010 03:07 PM
Pro Tools 8.0 Issues stephenat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 09-04-2009 02:07 PM
Pro tools & BFD issues.... playwar187 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-22-2006 01:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com