Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2018, 05:47 PM
bryanlewis73 bryanlewis73 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida
Posts: 8
Default PTs, Apollo 8, and Apple TV

I have an i7/16g MacBook Pro (15-inch, Mid 2012) and Apollo 8 running on Pro Tools 2018.4. I have only (1) thunderbolt port in my MBP, which left me without external display capability (UA Apollo 8 requires thunderbolt). I tried to use a USB 3.0 to HDMI adapter, but it caused problems. Question: Is it possible to mirror my MBP onto Apple TV and have no issues with PTs? Anyone else doing this? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2018, 03:02 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,446
Default Re: PTs, Apollo 8, and Apple TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by bryanlewis73 View Post
I have an i7/16g MacBook Pro (15-inch, Mid 2012) and Apollo 8 running on Pro Tools 2018.4. I have only (1) thunderbolt port in my MBP, which left me without external display capability (UA Apollo 8 requires thunderbolt). I tried to use a USB 3.0 to HDMI adapter, but it caused problems. Question: Is it possible to mirror my MBP onto Apple TV and have no issues with PTs? Anyone else doing this? Thanks.
TB is a buss. You can loop through the interface to a display.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2018, 05:42 AM
bryanlewis73 bryanlewis73 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida
Posts: 8
Default Re: PTs, Apollo 8, and Apple TV

Drew,

Thanks. I was initially told that this will not work. However, I tried and it does! However, an issue will arise when I need to daisy chain my Apollo Twin. At that point, I guess I will need to purchase a TB docking station.

Again, thanks for the response.

Bryan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2018, 10:55 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,446
Default Re: PTs, Apollo 8, and Apple TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by bryanlewis73 View Post
Drew,

Thanks. I was initially told that this will not work. However, I tried and it does! However, an issue will arise when I need to daisy chain my Apollo Twin. At that point, I guess I will need to purchase a TB docking station.

Again, thanks for the response.

Bryan
Just put the Twin last in the chain.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apollo 8Pre or Apollo 8 QUAD? Kerochan Third Party Interfaces 1 11-27-2017 11:08 AM
Apollo 8 and Apollo Twin Rosco1969 Third Party Interfaces 6 05-22-2015 07:53 AM
apple-m "mute region" clash with finder apple-m "minimize" wez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-12-2007 05:19 AM
any wabsite for apple accessories (international)& not apple.com sandman General Discussion 0 04-21-2001 06:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com