Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2018, 10:41 AM
Millennial Falcon Millennial Falcon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Default How to Move Sample Libraries to an External Drive

I have six or seven sample libraries that are 10 GB or so each, and I'd like to save space on my iMac's hard drive by moving them to an external drive. I have a Glyph SSD external drive.

A lot of the suggestions I've come across have suggested using the plugin provider's own software to relocate the sample folders, but Sonivox doesn't offer any software like that.

I've tried using alias files and symbolic links, but I must be using them wrong. Can anyone walk me through the process with exact steps? Thanks in advance!

L
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-2018, 11:00 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: How to Move Sample Libraries to an External Drive

Move it to you External; rename the original folder (for now)

Create a shortcut from the new location, & place it in the original location; make sure to delete "alias" or "shortcut" from the name.

You may not even need the shortcuts, as most software will just say "it can't locate,,,,,,,,," & then you just point to the new location...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2018, 04:27 PM
Millennial Falcon Millennial Falcon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Default Re: How to Move Sample Libraries to an External Drive

Thanks for your reply!

After placing the alias folder in the original location and opening Pro Tools, it does give me the "Samples are missing" dialogue box. I clicked on "locate" and then went to the new location, but instead of letting me select the entire samples folder as the new location, it wants me to select an individual .wav file for a single note.

If I choose any file from the folder in it's new location, will PT automatically search in that folder for all the rest of the samples?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-2018, 05:29 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,066
Default Re: How to Move Sample Libraries to an External Drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Millennial Falcon View Post
Thanks for your reply!

After placing the alias folder in the original location and opening Pro Tools, it does give me the "Samples are missing" dialogue box. I clicked on "locate" and then went to the new location, but instead of letting me select the entire samples folder as the new location, it wants me to select an individual .wav file for a single note.

If I choose any file from the folder in it's new location, will PT automatically search in that folder for all the rest of the samples?
Delete the alias folder and just have the samples in the new location. And as Mr. Beeetsss says just point the vi to the new location. Most vi's will allow that to happen and you need to do that within the preferences of the vi in question. You may need to reboot the computer for everything to be seen in the new location.

And to Key:
Missed you around here. There's been a couple of threads asking about 'on eim' and Tamara and hobos. Would have thought you'd chime in on those. The poster starting those threads is a bit of a troll if you ask me.

edit for additional:
I see you chimed in one the one thread. Mightyduck (who used to be here as masterduk and other screen names) is the instigator I was referring to.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!

Last edited by musicman691; 08-02-2018 at 05:32 PM. Reason: additional info
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-02-2018, 07:16 PM
Millennial Falcon Millennial Falcon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Default Re: How to Move Sample Libraries to an External Drive

Update:

I moved each of the libraries over to the external drive and pointed the VI's to them in an empty Pro Tools session, and they worked great. Loaded much faster than they had on my computer, and all the sounds were there.

BUT, after exiting the session, Pro Tools crashes every time it tries to load any session that has used those plugins.

Do you know how to correct that?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-02-2018, 08:55 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: How to Move Sample Libraries to an External Drive

I'm not sure why that'd happen myself. Try a new session, & import the data & see what happens with that...

& yeah @musicman, I remember him well! He hadn't changed any I see
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sample Libraries external hdd advice enigma2024 macOS 10 07-12-2014 10:58 PM
How do you move virtual instrument libraries to an external HD? smurfdaddydog Virtual Instruments 2 12-04-2013 02:58 PM
FW Oxford 911/912 as a sample libraries drive?? amoretam Pro Tools 9 20 07-19-2012 07:31 PM
Best place to install instrument sample libraries, system or external HD? DeyBwah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 02-21-2010 05:13 PM
sample libraries on external drive? stevesound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-07-2006 02:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com