Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2018, 05:59 PM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 627
Default Pro Tools 11.3.1 and Windows 10

Good evening,
I've got a Lenovo laptop, 16 gig RAM running Windows 10 that gets used for general computer stuff a family would do. I had another computer admittedly antiquated with 4 gig of RAM that I used with my PT rig, 11.3.1. Well the old computer, 2008 version, decide it was time to retire, so, my question is, will a laptop running Windows 10 be compatible with Pro Tools 11.3.1? Thanks, RichrdC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-06-2018, 03:42 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,613
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3.1 and Windows 10

Compatibility Info
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-06-2018, 10:32 AM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 627
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3.1 and Windows 10

Thank you Ben. I thought I'd check that site, but I guess not, since it does list Windows 10 on your link.. Thanks again, RichrdC
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-2018, 10:39 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,613
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3.1 and Windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichrdC View Post
Thank you Ben. I thought I'd check that site, but I guess not, since it does list Windows 10 on your link.. Thanks again, RichrdC
???
PT 11.3 is NOT supported on Win 10, as far as I can see…

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-06-2018, 11:10 AM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 627
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3.1 and Windows 10

The chart was what I first saw,and it looks like Windows 10 is a no go.. I wonder where I saw the Windows 10 listed?? Thanks again..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-06-2018, 05:15 PM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 627
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3.1 and Windows 10

Looks like Windows 10 is here now: ... http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/t...ndows-10-Guide

It seems W10 can be used for earlier versions as well...
https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...ols-our-advice

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...ro-audio-users


Has anyone out there tried Windows 10??

Last edited by RichrdC; 01-06-2018 at 05:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2018, 05:17 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,292
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3.1 and Windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichrdC View Post
Looks like Windows 10 is here now: ... http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/t...ndows-10-Guide

It seems W10 can be used for earlier versions as well...
https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...ols-our-advice

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...ro-audio-users


Has anyone out there tried Windows 10??
None of those inks mention anything about PT11; PT12 is mentioned though.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-07-2018, 09:45 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,560
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3.1 and Windows 10

Image or clone your OS drive, re and re Pro Tools to 11.3.1 and see if it works. Yes, carry on. No, restore the image or clone and - carry on.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-23-2020, 09:03 AM
smj smj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 9
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3.1 and Windows 10

New machine coming with Windows 10. I know it’s not officially supported by PT... but has anyone got it to work properly on Win 10 Home or Pro?

Sean Meredith-Jones
www.seanmeredithjones.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-12-2020, 01:44 PM
kevindubois kevindubois is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: New York City
Posts: 8
Default Re: Pro Tools 11.3.1 and Windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by smj View Post
New machine coming with Windows 10. I know it’s not officially supported by PT... but has anyone got it to work properly on Win 10 Home or Pro?

Sean Meredith-Jones
www.seanmeredithjones.com
Hey Sean, I have had PT11 running with Windows 10 without any problems for years, although I did run into a problem while installing it on my new computer recently, but got it resolved. If you're running into problems perhaps this thread can help you:
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=411117
__________________
Prostar laptop w/ Intel i7 10875h 2.30GHz 8-core
Windows 10 build 19041.330 (version 2004)
Pro Tools 11.3.1
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (1st gen, USB 2.0)
32GB RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 on Windows 7 or Windows 8? ianbee Windows 6 08-15-2013 04:04 PM
Upgrade From Pro Tools LE (Windows XP) to 10 (Windows 7) miek07 Windows 3 07-26-2012 07:49 PM
Updating Pro Tools and Mbox from Windows XP to Windows 7 ryanjantz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-29-2011 04:22 PM
Opening a pro-tools HD session on a windows Pro-Tools LE M-powered system rhodamorgan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-21-2010 05:31 PM
Pro Tools LE vs. Pro Tools M-Audio - Any difference? Windows 7 gbross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-21-2009 08:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com