Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-03-2004, 02:59 PM
gregory dean gregory dean is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: san ho
Posts: 21
Default Using recorded kick to trigger samples....help!

Hello there,
Just wondering if anyone out there can answer this question. I want to layer another kick drum into an already existing recorded piece. Should I used the recorded kick to trigger a sample from my drum machine? How is that done? Or is there a better way to do this? I'm not using a sampler, just a boss drum machine(dr770). Thanks much.

greg dean
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2004, 03:23 PM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: Using recorded kick to trigger samples....help!

The easiest way (and probably the only feesible way due to time and equipment constraints) is to sample the sounds you want to use into PT and then use digidesign's soundreplacer plugin.
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2004, 11:15 PM
Calvin Calvin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lincoln Nebraska
Posts: 1,471
Default Re: Using recorded kick to trigger samples....help!

Well, what part of the kick sound do you want to modify. If you are just wanting to add a deeper low sound to it you can record a 50-60 hz sine wave over the entire length of the song, then use the digi gate Audio Suite pluggin to gate the sine wave, but use the original kick sound as the side chain for it. It's pretty easy to do and you can really add some low tones to the kick sound, depending on how quickly you have the gate acting you can even get a little bit of snap in there too.
__________________
Calvin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-04-2004, 04:18 AM
kalle74 kalle74 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 259
Default Re: Using recorded kick to trigger samples....help!

Quote:
Hello there,
Should I used the recorded kick to trigger a sample from my drum machine? How is that done? Or is there a better way to do this? I'm not using a sampler, just a boss drum machine(dr770). Thanks much.

greg dean
If your drum machine has trigger inputs, route the signal from the recorded kick to it via an analog output ( recorded kick should be gated well to avoid miss-triggering ), and record the triggered sample on another track. After recording, align the transients and check the phases. I do this all the time with a Alesis DM5. Soundreplacer is also nice...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I trigger a kick in Transfuser from a MIDI file in PT? baslotto Virtual Instruments 1 11-11-2013 04:40 PM
Kick Drum Trigger rorygirl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 19 03-21-2011 09:16 PM
Kick Track to Trigger TEMPO TAP teacherman Tips & Tricks 11 07-12-2010 12:53 PM
How to trigger samples? Gwyn ap Harri 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 23 11-29-2004 09:25 AM
OT:Patching a MIDI trigger on a drum kick j20056 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-06-2003 04:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com