Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2000, 06:39 AM
georgia georgia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: NY,NY
Posts: 1,859
Default Dolby Plug-ins for Print Master - Question

Dear Digi

Are you working with Dolby to enable us to utilize the Dolby surround plug-in for final Mixes to Film? Also as Kind-of-Loud is working on new DOlby 5.1 plugins....

When will be we able to ACTAULLY use these plugins to create final mixes. Currently Doby has stated that it DOES NOT allow the use of software plug-is for encoding.

we can only use them for pre-mixing

Cheers


------------------
georgia hilton
World Wide Audio Inc
NY NY
646.336.1152 www.wwaudioinc.com

[This message has been edited by georgia (edited November 16, 2000).]
__________________
georgia hilton CAS MPSE MPE

Hilton Media Management

Film Doctors http://www.filmdoctors.com
Me... http://georgiahilton.webs.com/
Stage 32 http://www.stage32.com/profile/6569/georgia-hilton
My Production Company http://www.hiltonmm.com

CREDITS (partial) http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0385255/resume
MEMBER: IATSE LOCAL 700
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-16-2000, 09:10 AM
JKD99 JKD99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: Dolby Plug-ins for Print Master - Question

Hi Georgia, how ya been?
AS far as the Dolby thing, the Surround Encoder/Decoder Plugin duplicates the SEU-4 and SDU-4, so you hear the encode-decode process, and you CAN use it to create Lt-Rt Mixes for videos. And Dolby fully supports the plugin as an exact digital duplicate of the hardware boxes. BUT, what the plugin doesn't do is replace the Dolby DS-4 box that Dolby shows up with when you printmaster. You can't buy it, and ya gotta pay the Dolby license fee (for FILM prints, not movies finished on video) in order to get Dolby to show up with it. The DS-4 is the missing piece. So, until Dolby releases its stranglehold (and as long as the Dolby Stereo Optical track remains the "24 Track" of film sound formats; no matter what, virtually EVERY theater in the world can screen at the very least the Dolby Steero Lt-Rt) I doubt if we'll ever be able to do an Lt-Rt without their involvement. And even if the Kind-of-Loud plugins can do a Dolby Digital or a DTS mix, the delivery requirements for every film distributor always contain "a Dolby Stereo, Matrix-Encoded, LCRS, Lt-Rt". So they STILL got us! It's a drag, especially for indie filmmakers who aren't making 3,000 prints of "Charlie's Angels", but just need to make ONE precious print to screen it at a film festival on the slim chance that they might get distribution. Anyway, that's the deal with the Dolby plug-in.

Cheers!

------------------
Joe Milner
Puget Sound
Los Angeles
__________________
Joe Milner
Puget Sound, Inc.
Los Angeles

IMDB

Puget Sound on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2000, 07:30 AM
georgia georgia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: NY,NY
Posts: 1,859
Default Re: Dolby Plug-ins for Print Master - Question

hey! how goes the Left Coast! we moved to our new studio 600 sq ft mix room.. I can finally get a good theater mix going!

anyway... I understand the part about the DS-4 it's the same with the DTS tower.

What i'm annoyed about is that I can't use the plugins to to formally mix to.

I have to purchase the SEU-4 and SDU-4 according to dolby... So why did I purchase the plug-ins to begin with..


arrg. ( just blowing off steam)

we're etting up the new room for DOlby micx certification and its a pain in the butt.

We're completely ready and have mixed a number of pictures in Stereo. We've mixed a few in Dolby Surround and now we have a client who wants to do dolby digital.

On the other hand we are oked for DTS and we'll be bringing in a DTS tower shortly.

As to prints... Dolby wants $12,000 for a production lic and $4000 for festables...

My client wnats 1 print and dolby will not give us a single print license at a realstic price so i'm speaking with DTS about a deal since DTS is working to get more prints and footprint into the festable circuit.

oh well.... back to coffee and Mutant Aliens!


cheers
BTW: give me a call!



------------------
georgia hilton
World Wide Audio Inc
NY NY
646.336.1152
www.wwaudioinc.com
__________________
georgia hilton CAS MPSE MPE

Hilton Media Management

Film Doctors http://www.filmdoctors.com
Me... http://georgiahilton.webs.com/
Stage 32 http://www.stage32.com/profile/6569/georgia-hilton
My Production Company http://www.hiltonmm.com

CREDITS (partial) http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0385255/resume
MEMBER: IATSE LOCAL 700
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2000, 04:15 PM
Arno Peeters's Avatar
Arno Peeters Arno Peeters is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 1,090
Default Re: Dolby Plug-ins for Print Master - Question

So does that mean that whenever you want to use the Dolby Certified logo on a commercial product, you fall into this licensing pit ? Is this just with picture ?

How about the hose of new products coming up ? DVD Author by Apple, Kind of Loud's SmartCode etc. If I would do say a company's presentation DVD in 5.1...

Sorry if I com across as stupid.... but I am



------------------
Arno Peeters
Tape TV Productions
__________________
Arno Peeters
Tape TV Productions
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2000, 06:52 AM
Greg Malcangi Greg Malcangi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: UK
Posts: 491
Default Re: Dolby Plug-ins for Print Master - Question

Hi Arno,

<< So does that mean that whenever you want to use the Dolby Certified logo on a commercial product, you fall into this licensing pit ? >>

Yes, regardless of whether it's with picture.

The DVD-Audio specification allows for PCM 5.1. As I understand it, this means that you won't have to encode it using Dolby or DTS and therefore don't have to pay the licensing fees.

Greg
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-22-2000, 09:50 PM
Bill Rigby Bill Rigby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sydney,NSW,Australia
Posts: 189
Default Re: Dolby Plug-ins for Print Master - Question

O.K..........
So If you want to use `Dolby`s` Logo you will have to pay the licensing fees and get certified, F#$%$@#$##^k
Dolby and Sony (as well as others) and corporate global market dominance really ****s me to tears.
I am a realist but I would also like to see an underground movement away from these companies (Yeah yeah, peace love and mung beans)....
But; If a large number of people are buying their proprietry software then the fees charged for this should come with a license.
I understand that there must be quality control and mixing standards adhered to but as there are so many different bloody standards and now, types of surround, I feel that this should apply.
It would be naive of me to discount the distribution networking between the multi-national companies and the larger media networks that air digital tv as well as the merging of large film production companies and other media networks.(Mmmm,...budgets)
Maybe you could write a credit note like ....
If you have a Dolby frequency masking crappy style of decoder and you do not like to use the DTS that is also provided on this DVD, then it will work as well.
Oh well just inferring towards a more open playing field; but just remember,at one time there was no internet.......
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Surround on 35 mm print - but not Dolby? mgoorevich Post - Surround - Video 38 03-14-2006 04:40 AM
Dolby Digital print master to AC3 for DVD John McDaniel Post - Surround - Video 1 08-04-2004 01:59 PM
Mono or stereo for a non-dolby release print? tomcat Post - Surround - Video 4 12-16-2003 06:32 PM
Question about plug-in order on master fader. bob Ancona 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 07-25-2003 02:23 PM
PT sessions or DA88 for Dolby Digital Print Masters? RicardoEscallon Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 06-28-2002 12:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com