Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2017, 09:32 AM
Michaelnacho Michaelnacho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Pendleton, SC
Posts: 3
Default How do I open older Pro Tools Sessions on newer Pro Tools systems?

How do I open older Pro Tools Sessions on newer Pro Tools system?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2017, 02:35 PM
Wizzoboy's Avatar
Wizzoboy Wizzoboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 601
Default Re: How do I open older Pro Tools Sessions on newer Pro Tools systems?

More information such as what version to what version would help. I have opened PT8 sessions in 12 with no problem. Just be aware that PT11 and up use AAX plug-ins, so any RTAS plug-ins in your older sessions will not work.
__________________
Dell Precision 490 Workstation, dual 4 core 5355 Xeon, 16gb Samsung DDR2 ECC Ram - Windows 7 Ultimate - Nvidia GTX 650 - 3 x Internal WD Blacks - PT 2018.3 - Digi 002R - Original Mackie HUI - JBL Monitoring.
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 - 24gb RAM - Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB - 2 x Internal WD Blacks + MSATA card - Davinci Resolve 16.0b4 - Canon HF G40
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2017, 02:58 PM
Michaelnacho Michaelnacho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Pendleton, SC
Posts: 3
Default Re: How do I open older Pro Tools Sessions on newer Pro Tools systems?

I am currently using ProTools 11.3 and I recorded the old session on a ProTools 10. I have been trying to open up that session for so long now, but every time I do so, it would say that
"The document could not be opened because it was created with an older version of Pro Tools."

Help me to please open up this old session that I recorded on ProTools 10. I want it to open up on my new version, which is ProTools 11.3.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2017, 02:59 PM
Michaelnacho Michaelnacho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Pendleton, SC
Posts: 3
Default Re: How do I open older Pro Tools Sessions on newer Pro Tools systems?

I am currently using ProTools 11.3 and I recorded the old session on a ProTools 10. I have been trying to open up that session for so long now, but every time I do so, it would say that
"The document could not be opened because it was created with an older version of Pro Tools."

Help me to please open up this old session that I recorded on ProTools 10. I want it to open up on my new version, which is ProTools 11.3.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2017, 04:24 AM
Wizzoboy's Avatar
Wizzoboy Wizzoboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 601
Default Re: How do I open older Pro Tools Sessions on newer Pro Tools systems?

Are you trying to open the session and PT by clicking on the session icon, or from the open session command under the file drop down menu in PT? Also check that there are no illegal characters in the session name such as / & ) etc. Illegal characters will stop the session from opening.
__________________
Dell Precision 490 Workstation, dual 4 core 5355 Xeon, 16gb Samsung DDR2 ECC Ram - Windows 7 Ultimate - Nvidia GTX 650 - 3 x Internal WD Blacks - PT 2018.3 - Digi 002R - Original Mackie HUI - JBL Monitoring.
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 - 24gb RAM - Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB - 2 x Internal WD Blacks + MSATA card - Davinci Resolve 16.0b4 - Canon HF G40
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-10-2017, 08:24 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,630
Default Re: How do I open older Pro Tools Sessions on newer Pro Tools systems?

One other trick that may help; hold down the SHIFT key while opening an old session. That will make all plugins inactive. If it opens that way, you just need to figure out which plugin is causing the problem(and I HOPE that's all it is). PT10 and up all use the same session file format so it is SUPPOSED to work
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opening older Pro Tools sessions in Pro Tools 12 frankrmorrison Pro Tools 12 3 12-21-2016 11:17 AM
Recover Session File (Cannot Open/Created In Newer/Older Version Of Pro Tools ibanman555 Pro Tools 11 5 04-27-2016 05:10 AM
Pro Tools 10 won't open session file (Created on a newer version) sjafarzadeh Pro Tools 10 5 07-16-2014 12:03 PM
Importing Newer sessions into older versions dannydog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-12-2012 05:33 AM
Older pro tools systems? mixerboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-04-2005 08:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com