Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-25-2011, 03:53 AM
Firechild Firechild is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 801
Default Re: PCIx or PCIe to HDX excahnge?

I guess the old Process cards second hand price will go up now...
I mean HD3 is HD3 with two Process cards too...
__________________
HD3 PCIe, HD I/O , HD10.3.10, Mac Pro 6 core , 24 GB RAM , GTX285 , 10.8.5 , UAD-2 Quad Satellite , ATC SCM25A Pro with ADAM Sub 12.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-25-2011, 03:59 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,352
Default Re: PCIx or PCIe to HDX excahnge?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Fang View Post
Thx for all ur opinions.

Donno if there're other users who just upgrade to PCIe after June?
Maybe we should let Avid know how unfair it is.
I cross-graded to PCIe 2 weeks ago.



At least I got PT10HD for "free". Would cost me 2000$ alone now.

BTW: The PT9HD upgrades were sold out 1 DAY (!!!) after the AES presentation, so the price for getting from 7.4HD to 10HD went up from around 1000€ (7.4 to 9 to 10) to 2000€ (7.4 to 10)!!!

crazy.
While this is going on all the competitors that work for half price in their bed rooms upgrade their PT9+CPTK for 400$ and have more power than an ex-premium-rig. Great stuff. "Oh, you got HD2. Nah, sorry. We´re booking the student next door. Half the cost and more tracks..."

The times they are changing.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-25-2011, 08:48 AM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,368
Default Re: PCIx or PCIe to HDX excahnge?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firechild View Post
I guess the old Process cards second hand price will go up now...
I mean HD3 is HD3 with two Process cards too...
I am an early adopter of HD system and I have the only and one real HD3. It's HD core with 2 Process cards. About a year later Digi came out with HD3 Accel, with the same price, but that didn't sound as good.

That said, it makes me think I want to be an early adopter this time and do the hardware exchange to HDX very quickly. Chances are that Avid will come out with Pro Tools 11 and HDX Accel cards next year...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-25-2011, 09:27 AM
ryan de topanga ryan de topanga is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Topanga California USA
Posts: 223
Default Re: PCIx or PCIe to HDX excahnge?

Quote:
Originally Posted by drumster View Post
Hi Paul,

Welcome to the DUC. The prices for the exchange program from HD Accel to HDX are exactly the same regardless of whether you are a PCIx user or a PCIe user. Thus, if you have an HD3 PCIx system the price to upgrade to HDX is $5999.

Hope this helps!
So you send in 3 PCIe/x Accel cards and get 3 HDX cards (which give you 15X more dsp than the Accel cards) for $5999?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-25-2011, 09:30 AM
drumster drumster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 463
Default Re: PCIx or PCIe to HDX excahnge?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan de topanga View Post
So you send in 3 PCIe/x Accel cards and get 3 HDX cards (which give you 15X more dsp than the Accel cards) for $5999?
No, you send in 3 PCIe/x Accel cards and get 1 HDX card for $5999.
__________________
Lynx Hilo Thunderbolt
2013 Retina Macbook Pro 2.7 16 GB of RAM
PTHD 11.3.1 OSX 10.10.1
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-25-2011, 10:01 AM
ryan de topanga ryan de topanga is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Topanga California USA
Posts: 223
Default Re: PCIx or PCIe to HDX excahnge?

Quote:
Originally Posted by drumster View Post
No, you send in 3 PCIe/x Accel cards and get 1 HDX card for $5999.
Okay. Let's do the math. An AAX card has 5X the dsp of an Accel card. So having 1 AAX card is like having a HD5 system. To upgrade from a HD3 to a HD5 you'd need to buy 2 more Accel cards and an expansion chassis. If that's the case, then 6K is not that unreasonable a price to charge for the upgrade to AAX.

Upgrading plug ins and interfaces, and possibly a computer are also costs to consider, of course.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-25-2011, 12:43 PM
Paul Fang Paul Fang is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Taipei/Taiwan
Posts: 4
Default Re: PCIx or PCIe to HDX excahnge?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan de topanga View Post
Okay. Let's do the math. An AAX card has 5X the dsp of an Accel card. So having 1 AAX card is like having a HD5 system. To upgrade from a HD3 to a HD5 you'd need to buy 2 more Accel cards and an expansion chassis. If that's the case, then 6K is not that unreasonable a price to charge for the upgrade to AAX.

Upgrading plug ins and interfaces, and possibly a computer are also costs to consider, of course.
hey Ryan, upgrade cost make sense.
but I think newly PCIe user who just upgrade from PCIx should have a grace period or special discount if they upgrade to HDX.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-25-2011, 12:48 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,520
Default Re: PCIx or PCIe to HDX excahnge?

Exactly. Say if you cross graded in the past 3-6 months, you'll get another thousand off or something.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-25-2011, 04:05 PM
ryan de topanga ryan de topanga is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Topanga California USA
Posts: 223
Default Re: PCIx or PCIe to HDX excahnge?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmazurek View Post
Exactly. Say if you cross graded in the past 3-6 months, you'll get another thousand off or something.
I agree w/ that. I got my PCIe's years ago, but if I just got them a few months ago, i'd want a better break too.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-26-2011, 12:07 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,352
Default Re: PCIx or PCIe to HDX excahnge?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan de topanga View Post
Okay. Let's do the math. An AAX card has 5X the dsp of an Accel card. So having 1 AAX card is like having a HD5 system. To upgrade from a HD3 to a HD5 you'd need to buy 2 more Accel cards and an expansion chassis. If that's the case, then 6K is not that unreasonable a price to charge for the upgrade to AAX.

Upgrading plug ins and interfaces, and possibly a computer are also costs to consider, of course.
the real question is not how HDX relates to HD in terms of power. More relevant is how much more dsp power does HDX1 have against a native system on a fast mac. HD is dead in the water soon and the relevant question is wether to go native or HDX1. Both of them out-power HD2 and HD3 already in some szenarios.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCIX or PCIE jerberson12 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 06-02-2010 09:59 AM
PCIe or PCIx tim carter Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 12-03-2009 04:09 AM
HD2 PCIx to HD1 PCIe propower Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 02-10-2009 10:50 AM
PCIx to PCIe K.I. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-18-2008 06:25 AM
What would you do? (PCIe or PCIx) KimSira Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-23-2005 12:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com