Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2010, 02:48 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,248
Default Anyone use Destructive Punch?

I'm finding it to be a proper timesaver when doing stems, and the punch in is usually pretty flawless, but I've found when punching out sometimes there is a little "gremlin" that pops up - a rogue bit of audio at the punch out point. Anyone else experience this? Is this a "bug" or a "feature"? Is destructive punch good for punching in only?

I've tried "DP", but I always seem to end up with a file about a million hours long, even when I set a specific length. Great for post I'm sure, but no good for pop music.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2010, 03:47 AM
PierrevC PierrevC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 56
Default Re: Anyone use Destructive Punch?

Same thing happens in destructive record when you just hit stop.
By now I've created the habit of selecting a small section over the position I stopped and record again with pre- and postroll enabled all is fine.
Maybe it helps in DP too.

Pierre
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-14-2010, 04:29 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,248
Default Re: Anyone use Destructive Punch?

Ooh thanks Pierre will try this. Yes I meant "stop" rather than punch-out, apologies.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2011, 08:36 AM
houser houser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 657
Default Re: Anyone use Destructive Punch?

Using and loving it in PT 10.
Pre and post roll seems to make it safer.
Wish it could also append destructively so that you could also rerecord destructively as you go along, spending to existing stems.
Can't seem to do this, only punch in and out of existing file.
But that is probably intended functionality unless i am missing something.
best
j
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2011, 08:45 AM
TLarvenz TLarvenz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: San Diego, CA USA
Posts: 362
Default Re: Anyone use Destructive Punch?

When laying down stems, I create memory locations for all my punches to go back and double check at the end. Even with pre/post roll I've still found glitches from time to time. Better safe than sorry. Usually things are fine but that one time in 100 makes it worth doing.
__________________
Tracey
www.melodiousthunk.net
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-02-2011, 11:14 AM
James Drake James Drake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 592
Default Re: Anyone use Destructive Punch?

i have always recorded normally and then gone to each drop in/out point to listen and tweak.

i always record for longer than i needed to, then drag the edit points 'inwards'.

then select the whole thing after and do alt-apple-3.

i have never tried destructive punch because of little glitches that are always there, and to let things like reverb 'ramp up' and 'ramp down'.

stupidly never thought about pre/post roll, maybe i should.

thing is that if you destructive record, and there's a glitch, how do you fix it?

if you do normal style record then you just drag the region edge a bit to a point where it won't glitch then flatten the file after.

i would like to use destructive record and not have to spend basically double the time again checking the edges, but is it possible to trust?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-02-2011, 11:34 AM
TLarvenz TLarvenz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: San Diego, CA USA
Posts: 362
Default Re: Anyone use Destructive Punch?

Quote:
Originally Posted by James Drake View Post

thing is that if you destructive record, and there's a glitch, how do you fix it?

if you do normal style record then you just drag the region edge a bit to a point where it won't glitch then flatten the file after.

i would like to use destructive record and not have to spend basically double the time again checking the edges, but is it possible to trust?
I only use it for recording stems for tv and features, so it's not a big deal to hit record again, as the original source material is unaffected. It's usually a good idea to use pre-roll anyway to get any effects (reverb, etc.) or compression into the same state it was before the punch in point.

Is it possible to trust? No. I always go back. It's almost always perfect when I listen back. Almost.

It's my name on the final product so I make sure I'm not sending out anything that will come back because I didn't want to take an additional 5-10 (much less if there aren't many punches) minutes at the end of an hour layoff to double check my punches.
__________________
Tracey
www.melodiousthunk.net
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
difference Destructive punch Rec and Destructive Rec asef@me.com Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 06-19-2013 03:47 PM
PTX & Destructive punch Cryos macOS 8 03-11-2012 05:47 AM
Using destructive punch? Brent_Sydney Post - Surround - Video 3 04-12-2011 09:58 AM
PT 8.01 cs1 destructive Punch bug wolfgang B. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-02-2009 05:35 AM
Destructive Punch too destructive! Stylin' Audio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 06-22-2009 07:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com