Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > The Drum Room

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2010, 04:36 PM
starburst starburst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 176
Default EZdrummer or Abbey Road drums?

So I was pretty decided on ezdrummer. Love the drag and drop midi and the add on kits seem great but the other day I heard NI's Abbey Road 70's drums. Man that was quite something.

As someone new to drum software/sample and keen to jump on board what should I do?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2010, 06:36 PM
JMDNYC JMDNYC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 221
Default Re: EZdrummer or Abbey Road drums?

Buy the Abbey Road 70's, set the mapping to EZ Drummer mapping, then just buy the midi packs from Toontrack. Best of both worlds.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2010, 08:14 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: EZdrummer or Abbey Road drums?

I have EZDrummer with the DFH expansion. I am not terribly impressed with the features. I got it on sale for 74 bucks so it beat out BFD 2. Abbey Road looks cool. I find the drums in ezdrummer all have too much "POP". It takes me a lot of creative eq and comp. to get them the way i like them, and it's still a stretch. That's my opinion. ezdrummer is also has no tuneing feature and a lack of HH (2 came with it and only one with DFH.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2010, 09:35 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,635
Default Re: EZdrummer or Abbey Road drums?

Quote:
Originally Posted by necjamc View Post
I have EZDrummer with the DFH expansion. I am not terribly impressed with the features. I got it on sale for 74 bucks so it beat out BFD 2. Abbey Road looks cool. I find the drums in ezdrummer all have too much "POP". It takes me a lot of creative eq and comp. to get them the way i like them, and it's still a stretch. That's my opinion. ezdrummer is also has no tuneing feature and a lack of HH (2 came with it and only one with DFH.
While this is accurate, if you cross-grade to SD2, it will work with all the EZX kits AND allow for tuning and swapping parts from different kits. That;s handy since the Nashville Black Beauty smokes the Avatar snare(just an opinion there) while the SD toms are less ringy.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2010, 09:45 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: EZdrummer or Abbey Road drums?

ohh. Thanks. I was wondering if the cross grade was worth the money. I have the entire toontrack installer library installers on disk already, so I just need to buy the code. But I wasn't sure if I would be happy. I think I may look into this.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2010, 10:37 PM
GregJ GregJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 254
Default Re: EZdrummer or Abbey Road drums?

I have most Toontrack products and Abbey Road 60's Drums.
The Abby Road 60's drums sound very nice. Waaaayyy better than the stock kit that comes wit EZ Drummer (which, like all the EZD expansion packs is 16 bit by the way...)

I just finished creating Templates in PTLE tonight for each of the AR kits. The Early 60's Gretsch kit with the Kick mic and Mono OH mic sounds really, really nice.

I may use some Toontrack SD2 kits in the future, but since I acquired AR drums, I won't be going back to EZ drummer any time soon.

One more thing, I also use Toontrack's EZ player utility with AR drums. I couldn't live without this wonderful little program. Until the Kontakt Player update comes out with the EZ Drummer mapping (it's included with 70's drums but not yet with 60's drums), I am using the General Midi mapping in EZ player with AR 60's drums. It isn't perfect, but it works well enough.

My .02

GregJ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-27-2010, 03:46 AM
starburst starburst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 176
Default Re: EZdrummer or Abbey Road drums?

Guys, I'm a bit confused.
Can you tell me how exactly AR drums integrates with EZ drummer?

Also, if you have just AR drums, how do you play the kit?
I don't really want to play in drum parts on the keyboard. I would rather drag and drop midi drum parts played by a real drummer and have a large selection of organised midi drum parts like EZdrummer has to I can use willy nilly.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-28-2010, 08:44 AM
GregJ GregJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 254
Default Re: EZdrummer or Abbey Road drums?

AR Drums and EZ Drummer don't work 'together.' But....

AR Drums will work with EZ Player Pro from Toontrack. This is a plugin that will let you drag and drop midi loops to your PT session or you can arrange midi loops in the EZ Player workspace.

Here's what you can do to get started:
Create 2 instrument tracks - one mono one stereo.
Insert EZ Player on the mono instrument track.
Click on "Map Wrap" and choose General Midi.
Insert AR Drums (Kontakt Player plugin) on the stereo track.
Then, set the input of 2nd track (in the midi seciton of the channel in Mix View) to EZ Player.
Arm AR Drums track to record.

Next, open the EZ Player plugin and audition midi loops contained therein. If you find something you like, drag it to the Edit window track containing AR Drums plugin, or drag the midi loop down to the arranger window in the plugin.

Additionally, if you like, you can create individual drum tracks for each fader in AR Drums and route them accordingly.

Hope this helps.

GregJ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-29-2010, 09:48 AM
starburst starburst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 176
Default Re: EZdrummer or Abbey Road drums?

Thanks GregJ

I think I'm going to go down this road. Abbey road drums with EZplayer. Seems the best of both worlds and not much difference in price.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-27-2010, 11:45 AM
BlakeBeard BlakeBeard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 77
Default Re: EZdrummer or Abbey Road drums?

I would def. recommend the Abbey Roads 70s kit even over Superior... Granted you get 2 kits when SD you get more variety but overall I think the 2 kits you get from NI are sampled far better than the kits in SD. Not to mention with Abbey Roads you get a specific sound you are looking for, if you're not really into the Vistalite or the Premier kit than the plug isn't worth it. If you're attracted to that style though it's perfect. I had superior for a long time and am happy with it on a level, but recently I purchased the 70's package and I replaced almost EVERY SD drum sounds with the Abbey Roads. The thing I will say is if you download AR off NI's website make sure you have a Dual Layer Burner or a back up hard drive that's not a fat 32. I didn't and I had to copy paste stuff over the network to get back ups of the file (6.7+ gigs).
__________________
-Windows 7 64-Ultimate 3ghz, EVGA GTX 280, Asus Mother Board
-Macbook 2ghz 2gig ram
-Mbox 2 Pro, Mbox 2 Micro, and Frontier: Alpha Track
-Purchased Plugs: Tracks S3 Deluxe, Motu Symphonic Instrument, Abbey Roads Drums 70s, and Eleven LE
-PT LE 8.04 CS 2 (Mac) and PT LE 8.04 (Win 7)
Myspace undergoing *Beta Testing* Thrush Records
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Abbey Road Plugins guatamas AAX Plug-ins 2 04-11-2013 06:59 AM
Recorded MIDI drums (Abbey Road) - file is still there when re-opened but won't play cio-cio san MIDI 0 07-10-2011 03:54 PM
Can You Send Strike Data to Abbey Road Drums or other Module? noah330 The Drum Room 5 03-03-2011 05:31 AM
Abbey Road 70's Drums routing in PT soundboy35 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 28 02-25-2011 10:22 PM
Abbey Road drums in PT soundboy35 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-27-2011 12:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com