Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-17-2001, 08:56 AM
ae5 ae5 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: hudson, nh
Posts: 5
Default information for a newbie

i currently have a g4 400mhz (agp) with a gig of ram, a 10 gig apple drive and 30 gig glyph drive, and a motu 2408 core system running digital performer 3

i'm interested in upgrading to pro tools somewhere down the line but i'm still semi-fuzzy about what you need to run it and what it will allow you to do.

i am in a band that records multitrack audio so i need to be able to record 8-16 tracks simultaneously, and i also produce drum n bass dance music so i need midi capabilities as well.

i am not filthy rich and can't spend $30,000 on a setup but definately want more than the digi001 pro tools le setup (otherwise what's the point of upgrading from my motu setup?)

i need to know what i need to get up and running and how much everything costs and if anybody can tell me differences between a motu setup and a pro tools setup?

any information would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
http://ae5.org
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-2001, 09:36 AM
Armando Armando is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 926
Default Re: information for a newbie

I think all you need is a modem to serial converter(GeeThree or Griffen, $50.00) for midi use, a PT Mix Plus system which gives you an extra proccessing card for more DSP(I believe you get a free bundle of plug-ins with the purchase (you should shop for your best price) and although I go with an external SCSI drive, I know you can get away with the second internal ATA HD for your audio, which in your case, you already have. The Digi I/O is one that you must decide on. I use the Adat Bridge which offers 16 channel I/O via Adat Lightpipe and AES stereo I/O. I'm also interfacing it with a Mackie D8B via lightpipe, so....
I don't think I need to tell you about the 888's, I'm sure you already know.....

Plug-ins are a seperate cost based upon what you need. Everyone swears by the Waves TDM Gold Bundle(me included!) but this set will set you back $$.

The entire McDSP line is fantastic. Their MC2000 and Analog Channel are a must!!
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2001, 10:03 AM
ae5 ae5 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: hudson, nh
Posts: 5
Default Re: information for a newbie

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Armando:
I think all you need is a modem to serial converter(GeeThree or Griffen, $50.00) for midi use, a PT Mix Plus system which gives you an extra proccessing card for more DSP(I believe you get a free bundle of plug-ins with the purchase (you should shop for your best price) and although I go with an external SCSI drive, I know you can get away with the second internal ATA HD for your audio, which in your case, you already have. The Digi I/O is one that you must decide on. I use the Adat Bridge which offers 16 channel I/O via Adat Lightpipe and AES stereo I/O. I'm also interfacing it with a Mackie D8B via lightpipe, so....
I don't think I need to tell you about the 888's, I'm sure you already know.....

Plug-ins are a seperate cost based upon what you need. Everyone swears by the Waves TDM Gold Bundle(me included!) but this set will set you back $$.

The entire McDSP line is fantastic. Their MC2000 and Analog Channel are a must!!
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


the only place i know that sells pro tools stuff is sweetwater, who are pretty expensive, can you point me to any other places that have it, specificly any cheap places?

also i've seen the 888 in a catalog and know it's an audio interface but that's all i know about it.

so all i'd need is the pro tools|24 card and an audio interface? does the software come bundled with this stuff?
__________________
http://ae5.org
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2001, 06:50 PM
EthanMorse EthanMorse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 102
Default Re: information for a newbie

You're gonna need at least a good $20,000 to do what you want. Also, get on the Digidesign Website and use the dealer locator, You will only be able to buy ProTools gear(not including the Digi 001) from the authorized dealer in your region, Digi's pretty strict about this and dealers outside of your area will not even discuss prices with you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Information Available timcorder VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 10-22-2009 03:46 PM
Mac OS X 10.5.5 Information Avid Technical Alerts 0 09-17-2008 11:37 AM
General Information on plugins for a newbie? kiniki General Discussion 2 02-24-2005 10:32 AM
Midie Newbie with newbie questions. cydonia MIDI 5 08-11-2002 02:24 AM
Mis-information on the DUC AvidCS General Announcements 0 06-14-2001 05:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com