Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-14-2008, 11:20 PM
maxdamien maxdamien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 18
Default Import Session Data Question

Have been importing session data for a multiple song drum session to keep the setup consistent, but I have a question: Is there a way to have the New audio that is recorded not have the last take numbers from the previous session. I am deselecting the first two options when importing data, yet when I start to record, even though the labeling says just Kick, it shows Kick_04 etc. all through all of the tracks. The kicker is because I added new mics later in the session I am importing from it shows them as Hat_02, this gets confusing when doing multiple takes with playlists and I don't want to have to relabel each time after the first take in the new session. Is there a quick fix for this that I am missing? Thanks. Dual 2.5 G5 PPC, 4.5 gig ram, PT7.3cs5 HD3 Accel PCIx,(1)192.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-15-2008, 12:42 AM
tj_davies tj_davies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,219
Default Re: Import Session Data Question

I am not in front of our Pro Tools system, so I can't check whether our system behaves the same. Could it be that you use the same audio folder for all sessions? That way, Pro Tools would be forced to chose different names.

Timothy
__________________
G5 10.8.5
PT 10.3.9 HD2
www.pearls-music.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-15-2008, 08:13 AM
Hardin Hardin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 85
Default Re: Import Session Data Question

Not really. Pro Tools needs the numbers to distinguish takes from each other.

But you could select your new recorded takes in the Region List and use Auto Rename to relabel or renumber them however you see fit all at once before you begin comping. That should solve your predicament and not waste much time. (This will not rename the disk file, only the region name, but it's something)
__________________
Gadgets can make the music better, but the pursuit of gadgets is killing music.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-15-2008, 03:38 PM
zakco zakco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 547
Default Re: Import Session Data Question

After importing the session data, I've been making a point of quickly renaming the tracks BEFORE I record the 1st pass. To be honest it's a slight annoyance, but PT handles this process well and you get pretty quick at it...

Open the track name editor of the 1st track and then:

1. Right arrow (takes you to the end of the text window
2. backspace 3 times to remove the number
3. <cmd>+right arrow to go to the next track.

You get into a rhythm and I can rename 12 drum tracks in about 30 seconds max.

-Z-
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-17-2008, 11:10 AM
wolfdavis wolfdavis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 106
Default Re: Import Session Data Question

If your doing this, you may as well use the new playlist function for all the tracks.
Just option click on the first track and choose new playlist that way you don't have to type all those names, protools will just increment the track name via playlist number. Plus you can always flip back and forth in each playlist with out having to spot edit all those takes. (If they are working to a click.)

wolfdavis
__________________
Justin Davis
Rocky Mountain Recorders
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Import Session Data issue/question budster Post - Surround - Video 8 08-05-2012 10:20 PM
Import Session Data with out Audio import disinfor Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 7 11-14-2010 11:44 AM
import session data without audio data rgalpin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 08-06-2010 01:49 PM
Import track color in import session data deardaddy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 06-11-2007 06:35 PM
Import Session Data Question Torchlight Tips & Tricks 9 04-23-2007 08:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com