Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2007, 07:31 AM
guy.fi guy.fi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: milwaukee
Posts: 395
Default Is firmware backwards compatible?

I'm running 6.4cs9, my buddy is running 7.? on a Mac. He'd like to be able to bring his laptop to my studio and just plug in but when he did we got a pop-up "needs to update firmware". If I do this do I risk instability on my now very stable system? I'm not aware of any way to roll back firmware.
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe
Pentium Q9550 @ 3.4 ghz
Corsair 1066 RAM


www.guyfi.com
www.flystudiosmilwaukee.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2007, 08:52 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,549
Default Re: Is firmware backwards compatible?

There's no problem with this - if you take it back to your system and it needs to update or 'backdate' the firmware, Pro Tools will do so when you launch it.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are Firmware Updates backwards Compatible? teacherman Tips & Tricks 1 05-03-2010 09:49 AM
Backwards compatible nickster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-25-2006 09:09 AM
7.0 Backwards Compatible?? Nathanael 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-07-2005 01:06 PM
SCC BACKWARDS COMPATIBLE nathan jenkins Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 08-07-2001 05:19 PM
5.1.1 backwards compatible? AdamFrick Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-29-2001 09:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com