Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2019, 08:10 PM
miul68 miul68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Thailand
Posts: 36
Default Questions about comping in PT

Can anybody explain me the difference between a target playlist and a main one or suggest a good explanation in regards?
I've already read the manual but it is still cloudy to me.

Anyway, I found the comping in pro Tools very clunky. Coming from S1, I have to make 3 steps against 1 and even more. I might be using a wrong approach to a different system.
I would really like to know, even better see, the way you guys hard comp (meaning taking one word/note from a layer and maybe the next from another).
I haven't found anything satisfactory on the web so far.

The thing that bothers me the most is that PT has got this super cool star system but, unless you cut the clip you cannot really use it as it would disappear. Also, when something gets copied to a target playlist, there is no way to know where this section is coming from as the it is not underlined.

Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2019, 09:29 PM
its2loud its2loud is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 388
Default Re: Questions about comping in PT

This might help.

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...pro-tools-2018
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2019, 09:39 PM
miul68 miul68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Thailand
Posts: 36
Default Re: Questions about comping in PT

Thank you very much.

I had actually already seen it. I gave it a second chance because of your suggestion but the more I see it and more the impression is that I am actually not even sure he understood himself.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2019, 09:58 PM
orvillej orvillej is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 95
Default Re: Questions about comping in PT

Not sure if I totally understand your question but I'll offer this.

All you do to comp is have the playlist you want to send to open on top, open all the other playlists which will be in a stack below your "target" playlist, select the bit you want from, say, playlist .05. That will light up the little arrow on the left side of the playlist, click on it, and the selected bit jumps to your top (target) playlist. It does carry a label with it and is color coded so you can easily identify which playlist the bits came from as you comp your track. you can do this with the mouse or with key commands.

There are many tutorials available on this. Hope this was helpful.

PS by the way, I looked at that tutorial and I've never comped using any of those practices. My way is pretty simple, I think. I'm not usually comping many multiple tracks at the same time except for drum kits and then I just group the drums and all the tracks move together.
__________________
using PT 2018.7, 21.5' iMac i5 2.7 gHz 8GB RAM,Sierra 10.13.6, Apollo Twin interface, PacificProAudio Oxford 911 drives

Last edited by orvillej; 02-01-2019 at 10:06 PM. Reason: more to say
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-01-2019, 10:35 PM
miul68 miul68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Thailand
Posts: 36
Default Re: Questions about comping in PT

I think here there is a bit of confusion with the comp made of waveform view and the target and main playlist. As far as I understand they are two completely different issues.

I don't see many video at all on the topic, but please, if you bump into any, paste them here. I would appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2019, 05:18 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,630
Default Re: Questions about comping in PT

Designating a TARGET playlist is simply a way to not have your MAIN playlist be at the top. Comping to the top(or main) playlist might be considered the "normal" way to comp, but in the land of digital, "normal" isn't for a lot of users
Example of why you might use this:
Say you already did 5 takes of a vocal and built your comp track with it at the top(the old MAIN playlist). The singer decides he wants to recut a few bits. You might just punch-in on the MAIN playlist. OR; you might add a new playlist and cut to that. Now your MAIN playlist is not at the top. But if you designate it as the TARGET playlist, you can promote clips from your new playlist to your MAIN playlist, even though its not on top anymore
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-02-2019, 05:42 AM
miul68 miul68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Thailand
Posts: 36
Default Re: Questions about comping in PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Designating a TARGET playlist is simply a way to not have your MAIN playlist be at the top. Comping to the top(or main) playlist might be considered the "normal" way to comp, but in the land of digital, "normal" isn't for a lot of users
Example of why you might use this:
Say you already did 5 takes of a vocal and built your comp track with it at the top(the old MAIN playlist). The singer decides he wants to recut a few bits. You might just punch-in on the MAIN playlist. OR; you might add a new playlist and cut to that. Now your MAIN playlist is not at the top. But if you designate it as the TARGET playlist, you can promote clips from your new playlist to your MAIN playlist, even though its not on top anymore


I think this is getting clearer. What about this, you recorded a lot on 1 chorus and after created the main playlist, you can create a target playlist, sort of alternate version, that you can move to the second chorus as a main? Would you say I’m getting it?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-02-2019, 06:16 AM
miul68 miul68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Thailand
Posts: 36
Default Re: Questions about comping in PT

Actually...I just cannot figure it out. I’m trying hard...I don’t see the point...at the end, what is on top stay on top whatever you select...target...main...who stay on top takes the lead....than what???


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-02-2019, 09:17 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: Questions about comping in PT

it's actually pretty great; if you're recording a bunch of takes of a group/singer/orch/whatever, and you're using playlists to embed take numbers, you designate a "main" playlist as your target at the outset, then, as you continue recording you can dump keeper sections into the target without having to switch playlists, so at the end of working through a piece you've got all your playlists correctly designating takes and a comped version of the song/cue on the main playlist without having to ever switch to it - saves piles of keystrokes.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-02-2019, 10:32 AM
miul68 miul68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Thailand
Posts: 36
Default Re: Questions about comping in PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
it's actually pretty great; if you're recording a bunch of takes of a group/singer/orch/whatever, and you're using playlists to embed take numbers, you designate a "main" playlist as your target at the outset, then, as you continue recording you can dump keeper sections into the target without having to switch playlists, so at the end of working through a piece you've got all your playlists correctly designating takes and a comped version of the song/cue on the main playlist without having to ever switch to it - saves piles of keystrokes.
I would be really interested in seeing it working as for me comping is a big deal (although i rarely do multi mics). I did my first comping on PT today, I found a suitable way, but I have to say that definitely there were too many keystrokes involved. It must also be because I tried to emulate the daw where I'm coming from, with S1 having the best comping in my opinion.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comping Tracks in PT-9 troxelj Pro Tools 9 4 04-05-2011 11:37 AM
comping in Pro tools LE - help requested! Plus great pro tools hd comping tip! mr xy Tips & Tricks 10 10-10-2009 03:12 PM
Vocal comping tamasdragon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 09-18-2007 06:18 AM
comping therecordinghouse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-23-2006 06:16 AM
Comping Guitar? Glenn75 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 09-08-2005 07:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com