Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-08-2015, 01:35 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,520
Default Re: HD I/O 16X16 Analog W/Logic X?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Johns View Post
I do understand that as a moderator, Drew and others have to tow the Avid line, but the rest of us are not naive.
I'm not toeing anything, other than trying to help a user get what they paid for. They may not understand that for that price, an iLok asset and proper ownership of a system might be justified.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-08-2015, 01:40 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,520
Default Re: HD I/O 16X16 Analog W/Logic X?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Drew, first the buyer did seem aware of what was being sold, and Avid's policies have no affect on what two people agree to in a sales contract.
Couldn't care less about Avid in this case, they're a big boy and can take care of themselves. Just looking out for the user.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-08-2015, 01:57 PM
triton92 triton92 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Madera, California
Posts: 13
Default Re: HD I/O 16X16 Analog W/Logic X?

Hey guys thanks so much for looking out for us the users, i really appreciate that specially myself that iam very ignorant to these sort of things, i mean i really had no clue about the ownership rights and that you had to transfer the licensing etc... If i could go back in time i would of definately went ahead and saved up for the symphony io instead. So basically if i understood u guys correctly then i should be able to use hd io with logic x and use all of the 16 io? The other question is if i went ahead and purchased a copy of pro tools HD which runs around $1500.00 will i be able to connect my hardware to it? If not what can i do about that? Somebody said something about a hardware asset id or something like that, would that be a hassle for the owner? Thx😃
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-08-2015, 02:25 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,630
Default Re: HD I/O 16X16 Analog W/Logic X?

Quote:
Originally Posted by triton92 View Post
Hey guys thanks so much for looking out for us the users, i really appreciate that specially myself that iam very ignorant to these sort of things, i mean i really had no clue about the ownership rights and that you had to transfer the licensing etc... If i could go back in time i would of definately went ahead and saved up for the symphony io instead. So basically if i understood u guys correctly then i should be able to use hd io with logic x and use all of the 16 io? The other question is if i went ahead and purchased a copy of pro tools HD which runs around $1500.00 will i be able to connect my hardware to it? If not what can i do about that? Somebody said something about a hardware asset id or something like that, would that be a hassle for the owner? Thx😃
There are 2 things to consider here. Re the hardware, if you don't do a transfer of ownership, you can't register the hardware in your name. That means no warranty repairs(within the warranty period) and no future discounts that are tied to hardware(like trading in TDM cards for discount on HDX cards).

Re the software, being the registered owner is as important, or even more so. Registered owners of software will have access to downloads of that software(and firmware) version and any/all free updates related to it(IOW, you own unregistered 11HD software and you now cannot get 11.3 to update your system). Either get a Transfer of ownership for the hardware or software you buy second hand, or buy unregistered hardware or software so that you can register as the original buyer

My last 2 cents; I love my HDN system, BUT, if I were NOT running Pro Tools, I would not have bought any Avid hardware as there are simply too many options at similar or lower prices
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-08-2015, 02:31 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,058
Default Re: HD I/O 16X16 Analog W/Logic X?

Quote:
Originally Posted by triton92 View Post
Hey guys thanks so much for looking out for us the users, i really appreciate that specially myself that iam very ignorant to these sort of things, i mean i really had no clue about the ownership rights and that you had to transfer the licensing etc... If i could go back in time i would of definately went ahead and saved up for the symphony io instead. So basically if i understood u guys correctly then i should be able to use hd io with logic x and use all of the 16 io? The other question is if i went ahead and purchased a copy of pro tools HD which runs around $1500.00 will i be able to connect my hardware to it? If not what can i do about that? Somebody said something about a hardware asset id or something like that, would that be a hassle for the owner? Thx��
You did not agree to purchase Pro Tools software from your seller, right? You are not owed a Pro Tools license by anybody, and you don't have to register your hardware with Avid, there is absolutely no benefit to you for doing so.

You can only purchase a copy of Pro Tools HD from Avid or an official dealer in a bundle with say HDN or HDX and an interface. Yes it's that stupid. Pro Tools HD also cannot be transferred electronically, the seller of a user license need to sell it to you on an iLok and it will need to stay on that iLok forever (unless they also sign over their iLok.com account to you)... which could get nasty if that iLok ever has problems or is lost or stolen. If you buy an unbundled Pro Tools HD license from a seller, that seller is violating the Avid EULA that prohibits unbundling the hardware and software. In practice that may means little to the purchaser *except* you they won't have software updates etc. deposited in your Avid account for download. You would have to rely on the seller or somebody else to keep doing that for you (or obviously in cases where people already have a valid identical licenses, then they those products are already deposited in their accounts). Worse case in future Avid makes it hard for you to upgrade to the next version of Pro Tools.

I would not worry about moving off Logic Pro unless you had a strong business reason to need to. I'll bet more Pro Tools HD users are interested in going the other way and getting off Pro Tool HD.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-08-2015, 02:54 PM
triton92 triton92 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Madera, California
Posts: 13
Default Re: HD I/O 16X16 Analog W/Logic X?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
hey Darryl, thx so much for your great helpman, i give thx to God for people like you that go out of their way to help someone out. God bless bud!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-10-2015, 03:36 PM
Table Syrup Records's Avatar
Table Syrup Records Table Syrup Records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,485
Default Re: HD I/O 16X16 Analog W/Logic X?

Works just fine with Logic Pro X

I have HD Native, PCIe, with an HD I/O and a 192, and primarily use PT HD11, but also use Logic Pro X... works just fine in logic...
__________________
Shorty: Table Syrup Records

Mac Pro 5,1 3.33 GHz Hex, 32GB
EFI Flashed - 5 GT/s Modded 7950, Dual Apple 23"
OSX Sierra
Pro Tools HD 11.2.2
Waves IOS, IOX, STG2412
Extreme Server (x2)
Logic Pro X, DSP Quattro, Final Cut Pro X
Waves Mercury+SSL+AbbeyRoads
Trident S65 with embedded US-2400

Live:
2012 Mac Mini, Dual SSD, i7 2.4, 16GB
Win 10, OSX Sierra
LV1, MRSG
Hardware from above (same gear)
Dual Dell P2418HT Touch Screens
Waves Icon X (x2), M, with Screens
Custom enclosure
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-11-2015, 10:09 PM
triton92 triton92 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Madera, California
Posts: 13
Default Re: HD I/O 16X16 Analog W/Logic X?

thx for your help too Table Syrup Records, i also wanted to let u guys know that me and the seller came to an agreement, he said he would do a transfer of ownership that way i can buy an original copy of pro tools HD software and use it with my hardware. Hes a great guy and thank him a lot for doing this. thx again everybody for your awsome help!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-11-2015, 10:20 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,058
Default Re: HD I/O 16X16 Analog W/Logic X?

Quote:
Originally Posted by triton92 View Post
thx for your help too Table Syrup Records, i also wanted to let u guys know that me and the seller came to an agreement, he said he would do a transfer of ownership that way i can buy an original copy of pro tools HD software and use it with my hardware. Hes a great guy and thank him a lot for doing this. thx again everybody for your awsome help!!!!!!
Huh? The seller can sell you his copy of Pro Tools HD software/agree to retroactively include it in the sale etc. (and he likely still needs to provide you with his physical iLok) but AFAIK there is nothing he can do by transferring ownership that lets you purchase or receive a license for Pro Tools HD from Avid. You could or course purchase a license for Pro Tools HD (on a physical iLok) from any other seller.

I expect all doing the transfer of ownership would get you, if Avid is nice, is deposits of Pro Tools HD software downloads in your Avid account. It won't get you a Pro Tools HD license, or rights to purchase one from Avid. But if Avid did that I expect the seller would lose access to those downloads in his Avid.com account.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid HD I/O 16x16 analog twdwyer Buy & Sell 0 12-05-2014 12:19 PM
HD I/O 16x16 Analog Revision A and B SoundReplay Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 07-04-2014 05:52 AM
Avid HD I/O 16x16 Analog bleen Buy & Sell 0 05-12-2014 09:11 AM
Avid HD I/O 16x16 Analog Jantzen Buy & Sell 0 10-03-2013 10:11 AM
HD I/O 16x16 Analog maxx.monopoli macOS 5 02-17-2012 10:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com