Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > The Drum Room

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-01-2011, 11:15 PM
Dirt_ Dirt_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Winnipeg,MB,Canada
Posts: 186
Default Re: Assuring your drum mics are in phase?

Oh wow I just noticed what the OP said about checking your cables. I spent a whole bight doing that once... And another entire evening FIXING cables I found wired wrong???!!! Seriously... How can a factory worker screw that up?

THERE'S ONLY THREE WIRES AND THE CONNECTORS ARE CLEARLY LABELLED???!!!
__________________
-Mac mini i7 Quad 2.3, 4g ram, OSX 10.10.2, PT11.2.1, iLok 2.
-Apogee Quartet, 2 Profire 2626's.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-28-2012, 11:08 PM
n8white n8white is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 35
Default

Can you solo each drum mic and position it at the best sounding spot, track the kit, then time align after recording?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-13-2012, 02:23 AM
phatbeatstudio phatbeatstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 566
Default Re: Assuring your drum mics are in phase?

The quick easy way to tell if its in phase is.
toggle the polarity, if one way sounds fuller and deeper thats in phase.
Out of phase usually sounds thinner than in phase.
But if you do huge tracks .
Only nudge them in relation to the overheads. All other tracks but overheads or rooms should be gated or edited so there is no need to align tom 1 with tom 2 unless you have drastically diffent mic positioning affecting the times of the sound waves in relation to each other.
I think it is common practice to not align every drum to every drum if not completely impossible as I think albee was implying
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-13-2012, 07:09 AM
BobbyDazzler's Avatar
BobbyDazzler BobbyDazzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,000
Default Re: Assuring your drum mics are in phase?

Strictly speaking you can only be in or out of phase when 2 signals are exactly time aligned. When you're phase flipping direct mics against overheads, you really are just checking complimentary comb filtering.
__________________
5,1 Mac Pro Dual Hex Westermere 3.6Ghz, 24gig Ram, Pro Tools HD Native 2018.4, Sierra, Blackmagic Decklink HD Extreme 3D.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phase issues with multiple lav mics Nemosonic Post - Surround - Video 11 07-31-2011 01:28 PM
drum mics Drunk Punk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 21 11-11-2005 09:02 AM
two mics on kick drum phase solution? thenewnoise Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 11-01-2004 06:52 AM
How to make sure top and bottom mics are in phase? MaKoRancid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 07-04-2004 06:48 PM
Need more help with Drum Mics Please..... Big Tyme 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 12-10-2002 12:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com