Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2018, 05:22 PM
abt abt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 212
Default VU meter set to -14dbfs

TLDR: Why is the default VU meter 0 set to -14ddfs and not -18dbfs?


I was playing around with different track meters. I normally use the digital meter but I like the idea of using the VU meter, it seems easier to read and makes more sense to be aiming for 0db.

I switch over to VU then all manor of confusion started. The more I played with it the more confused I got. I ended up running some test tones through it and found that -0db VU was -14dbfs.

Eventually I found the default meter setting in the preferences for the vu meter 0 is set to -14dbfs. I set it to -18dbfs and everything made sense.

So, why is the default -14dbfs? I always thought that 0vu should be -18dbfs? Should I be using -14dbfs?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2018, 05:46 PM
studiostuff studiostuff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 238
Default Re: VU meter set to -14dbfs

-14 LUFS is sort of a recommended target level for audio going to You Tube and etc. That may have something to do with your question.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2018, 07:07 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,717
Default VU meter set to -14dbfs

LUFS are not the same as dB RMS.

Interesting question. I wonder if the AVID interfaces are calibrated to -14. That might explain why.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2018, 11:00 AM
studiostuff studiostuff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 238
Default Re: VU meter set to -14dbfs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
LUFS are not the same as dB RMS.
We were talking about dBFS.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why are the 882 converters calibrated to -14dbFS? HSLand Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-05-2015 09:10 PM
why external vu meter/ plug-in vu meter differ? sjtae macOS 8 06-06-2012 06:50 PM
Inserts affecting send meter but not channel meter? Kbrinson85 Windows 1 05-01-2012 08:00 AM
PTHD8 cpu meter vs task manager cpu meter MEAT Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 5 01-02-2009 06:17 AM
where is the CPU meter MrMike 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-24-2002 09:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com