Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-14-2011, 05:08 PM
guitarzzan guitarzzan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 98
Default Question about new Avid i/o and core card

I have an original Digi HD pci core card and pci process cards. Will the new Avid 8x8 i/o units work with the old core cards or do they require pci-e etc?

This may be a stupid question, but I just wanted to make sure before buying one.

thanks,
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-14-2011, 05:27 PM
manichouse manichouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 352
Default Re: Question about new Avid i/o and core card

Works just fine... I'm running an HD Omni with the older PCI HD cards.
__________________
Martin Trum
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-14-2011, 05:46 PM
guitarzzan guitarzzan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 98
Default Re: Question about new Avid i/o and core card

How do you like the Omni? Do you know if the analog paths and a/d/a components are the same as the 8x8's?

thanks,
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-14-2011, 10:47 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,778
Default Re: Question about new Avid i/o and core card

The Omni is exactly the same type design and quality as the HD IO. It's not like before where the 96io was significantly lower quality than the 192.

The only technical difference is a slightly smaller power supply in the Omni because of space limitations. Supposedly this can very slightly affect the sound but most people would never hear it.

Also, be aware that the Omni is a total of 8 simultaneous ins and 8 outs, regardless of all those connections on it. And of the 8 ins, there are only 4 analog ins, and the other 4 would be with the digital inputs.

Many people have been confused by that.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2011, 01:54 PM
guitarzzan guitarzzan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 98
Default Re: Question about new Avid i/o and core card

Thanks for the info. Does the Omni use a fan and if so...is it pretty quiet? I currently have a 192 i/o and it's fan is pretty loud.

thanks,
Steve
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid hd native core card used $1200 Killbert Buy & Sell 3 01-14-2014 07:16 PM
AVID HD NATIVE PCIe CORE CARD CHEAP!!! Killbert Buy & Sell 0 01-09-2014 07:44 AM
Please Help: New Avid PCIe Card added to old Core and Accell cards not working! sterlingw Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 24 12-05-2012 07:49 AM
how to contact avid with core card serial pro tools 9 upgrade Raoul23 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 04-29-2011 04:15 PM
CORE CARD QUESTION degs7 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-10-2005 04:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com